Pitcher Plants: My Entry for the Weekly Doodle Contest Week #1 | Flowers & Plants

in #art6 years ago

Pitcher plants were completely new to me when I moved to Atlanta, Georgia a little over 10 years ago. I love plants and gardens, so one of our first activities when we arrived was to visit the Atlanta Botanical Gardens. They have an entire marshland full of different kinds of pitcher plants - which, by the way, are carnivorous plants! They look sweet and unassuming, but they can digest mice, bats, insects…anything that has the misfortune of climbing inside their attractive liquid filled pitcher.

enter image description here
Final Doodle - This was so much fun!

Thank you to @coloringiship for organizing this great contest and for introducing me to doodling as an art form and not just as something people do in boring meetings ;-) I found this exercise to be relaxing, meditative, and highly satisfying.

I may not have done all the steps like in the tutorial our contest leader provided, but I figured out a way that worked for me.

enter image description here
Photo credit: Pamela Seeley Sorrels
Heliamphora, Marsh Pitcher, Venezuelan Pitcher Plant

This is the photo I used as a model for my drawing. I can copy, but I couldn’t have pulled this image out of my head. You can see I mostly followed it, but made a few shape adjustments to fit my personal aesthetic with more curviness.

enter image description here
Getting started is the hardest part! Where to begin? Where’s my eraser? I used Canson Mixed Media paper and a regular old pencil.

enter image description here
Coming along rather nicely! I was wracking my brain to come up with seven different doodle patterns. Whose idea was it to draw seven plants?!?

enter image description here
Now for the tracing. I could never in a million years have pulled this off freehand with a pen! I used a Micron 05 Pigma pen for tracing. Then I went back and erased all the pencil markings. I should probably find a lighter writing pencil - those exist, right? In the doodles I did after this, I only sketched the outlines with a pencil and it was a lot easier to freehand the pattern inside. That seems promising :-)

enter image description here
BONUS: My 5yo son drew this and I thought it had potential as a doodle. He’s a born artist! I love having a hobby we can do together that doesn’t involve me running!

Some other drawings I have tried my hand at:
Critters I Drew: Cute & Cuddly or Creepy?
“You Remind Me of the Babe” - ART CONTEST # 9. I LOVE THE 80’S
Art is like a pile of turtles - Beginner seeking advice :-)

All drawings and photos, except where otherwise noted, belong to me: Orangina. You may not use them without my permission.

Written with StackEdit.

SMbannersmall.png

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Upcommentresteemthankyou.png

Sort:  

Thank you! and thanks for having a look :-)

Oh you and your son are such great artists!!

Thank you :-) We are a dynamic duo! The other day I helped him make a Captain America sheild and a sword and belt, etc... Then it was so cute today when he said that I helped him with this and that (telling me the story like I wasn't there - silly goose.) At least he has some gratitude for now :-)

I love pitcher plants. We have plenty of them here. I am glad that you find doodling is relaxing. It really is! As for the pencil, you can use an H pencil because the lead is harder and lighter :)

I love that you included your son's doodle in this post. Cute!

I really appreciate that you participated in my little contest. Thank you so much for your support :)

I only discovered that pitcher plants live elsewhere too when I was looking for pictures - there are some really wild ones out there and I'm kind of obsessed with drawing them as doodles now! They're so interesting!
Thanks for the pencil advice! I looked at a bunch of art supplies, but I have no idea what I'm looking at!
Cheers :-)

Two for the price of one! Deserves a resteem.

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed :-)

Très belle réalisation @orangina. J'aime beaucoup ta manière de représenter cette Pitcher plante, c'est très réussie et cela me donne envie de dessiner aussi.

Merci beaucoup :-) J'ai eu envie de me mettre à l'art quand j'ai vu tout ce que faisaient les gens ici - et j'adore! Je fais comme je peux, mais je m'amuse et ça me déstresse. Je recommande!

That looks great! I think the best thing to remember about tracing is that you don't have to be perfectly following the lines you make - sometimes doing that can make your line art look jagged. Oh and move your whole arm not just the wrist ... those two things saved my life :P And yes I agree sometimes it's easier to just do the details with just the pen :D Your design is great and your son's cat is AMAZING lol I wish I was that good at 5 years old! Super cute! I joined in the challenge too, good luck to you!

Thank you! I will have to pay attention next time if I'm moving my arm or just my wrist...and yes, I often don't follow the pencil lines exactly, I just like to have them as a guide I guess. I love the nice dark curves of the pen when it's just right. Very satisfying. I also wish I had been half the artist my son is at his age!

Well that's exactly what a final sketch should be is a guide so you're doing well ... that cat is amazing though lol I also wish I had his talent at that age I'd be much better off now :P

Love your curvaceous looking pitcher plants and all your patterns flow so well together. I entered the contest as well, best of luck to you! 😊

Thank you! I saw your tomatoes - they are so cute! and very intricate. I was impressed by your process. I have no idea what I'm doing. That's why I didn't color mine - I was afraid I'd ruin it!

I was just following the step-by-step in the tutorial. Just felt like painting mine since I hadn't done it for a very long time. No worries @orangina, you can always colour yours in the next contest, am sure it'll look fantastic! 😊

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone to get a valuable upvote on your quality post!

I AM following @artzone! I see you did not upvote my post though...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57440.82
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42