Olivia Voldaren from Magic: The Gathering

in #art7 years ago

How was everyone's weekend?

We actually had a weekend with no plans, which is always a nice surprise! We always find plenty of things to do, so there's no worries of being bored, but there's also no stress over messing up anyone's schedule. (Mid-day naps, while glorious, can also be a real PITA.) It's just us, and whatever whim we take and run with. Planless weekends are also usually very family-focused, unplugged, and just a time to recharge. Fortunately, I was able to steal a few quiet moments away with my little sketchbook, and managed to bang out the first drawing I wanted to do for this week's Trial by Comics. (Click here to see last week's winner/mentions, the rules for submission, etc.) Olivia Voldaren: vampire.

olivia

This week's theme is Magic: The Gathering. Now, I actually used to play this game "back in the day", but I've been out of the loop for quite some time. So, I'm excited to have a fantasy theme to work with (my favorite), but also feeling a little unschooled. Thank goodness for Google. haha A little poking around, and I found plenty of inspiration to work with! I'm hoping to get a chance to sketch up at least one or two more characters, one of which I have something totally different in mind for, but who knows if I'll actually find the time to do it! fingers crossed

So, here's my little sketch, straight up HB pencil:
sketch

The line work, inked with Micron pens:
ink

A detail shot, complete with push pin to show the scale (colored with Prismacolor pencils):
sotiny

AAAAAND proof she's mine:
ohhi

Hope you like her!

Do/did any of you play MTG? Who are your favorite characters?

What geeky stuff did you love as a teenager? (My list is pretty long. haha)

Thanks for stopping by!

Megan

Sort:  

so pretty and the drawing is so sexy, the red really makes it pop. I wish I was a better artist this looks awesome. I like your entry check out mine. https://steemit.com/trialbycomics/@isteemithard/thassa-god-of-the-sea-magic-the-gathering-drawing-challenge-by-kommienezuspadt-art-by-isteemithard

Thanks very much! Once I saw her black armor, pale skin, bright red hair, I knew I had to draw her. lol
Yours looks great!

Great drawing again. Can't believe how much detail you put in it, considering the size. Plus, its hard to tell, which one of the ladies in the last picture is better looking 😍

Thank you! lol I've gotten into the habit of drawing really small pictures, for some reason... I think maybe from all my doodling in the corners of my high school work books. haha

Haha! Well, thanks.

Geeky teenage stuff...I collected comic books and superhero cards! Plenty of X-Men series and other super powers stuff. ^.^

Also, a Blue/Black MTG Wizard here. I played until the Urza Saga but check on MTG once in a while.
In my spare time I play a online card game that became #1 in Japan, I made a post about it here. You might want to check it out. :]

Awesome! I loved X-Men! Still do, actually... lol

Shadowverse looks really cool! I like all the backstories you added in your post. Plus the artwork is really beautiful.

I'm glad you liked it, looking forward to your next geeky posts :P

Gorgeous

Like you :)

Thanks man! That means a lot!

Congratulations @offbeatbroad! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I really liked your drawing.

You are a wizard in many mediums and you've got a new follower.

I never played MTG. I was an enthusiastic 1st ed. AD&D player back in the 80s. It encouraged so much imagination and creativity - it was like living through a novel. After that, MTG just felt like Poker. But to be fair card games just aren't my thing.

Thank you!

lol I never actually played D&D, but hubby did. I played MTG for a couple years, but didn't get heavy into it... I also did a bit of RPG in a chat forum (similar to D&D) for a while, which was a lot of fun - totally like living through a novel! MTG kind of combines that with a card game, so if you like card games, it's a lot of fun, but if you aren't into cards/board games, then definitely not. haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63001.43
ETH 3365.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45