Weirdo, creepy, mutant, mousey upside down chin thing. Art breakdown.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hey folks, Now for something a little different. I entered a 20 minute speed drawing contest and decided to spend a couple of hours finishing my digital speed painting. This became on of those images that organically evolved as I drew.

Meet my wierdo, creepy, mutant, mousey upside down chin thing. Painted entirely on my android tablet :-)

finalweirdomouse-1_20180217075023500.jpg

For my initial speed painting I only had 20 minutes, I managed to get something down on canvas and had tons of fun doing so. Check out the contest at #cookiedrawing hosted by @cookiespooky.

I captured a video of those 20mins, watch the sped up versions below here in dtube and here's the YouTube link for those having issues watching dtube.


It was also great to see that my image had been picked as one of the 4 winners :-)

Ok so how did I take this further?
Here's a gif highlighting the stages.

mousethingy.gif

Here's the static image breakdowns with some notes for you lovely people to enjoy

speedpaint.jpg
This is the 20 Min speed painting and a great place for me to start iterating some design changes. I guess my goal here was to push things into the awkward zone, I wanted to get to something that pulls you into the character and say ... "I am totally unsure if I like this or not but I just can't stop staring at him". A wtf moment so to speak.

mouse2.jpg
I dropped the eyes down to the head, looks like some weird upside down chin monster. Thats ok.. my idea though is a mutant mouse, away from the initial monster design.

mouse4.jpg
I began getting the mousey features into the design, but also I changed the eye shape and began detailing the face. The image is still rather flat from dealing mostly with colour and highlights.

mouse6.jpg
I started to add depth to the lighting and began bringing in some soft shadows in a new multply layer.

mouse11.jpg
Time to rework the the arms and legs, I played with the idea of having three arms but I ended up dropping the unsymmetrical arm. Oh and of course mouse needed an epic slice of cheese to lean on.

And through to the final image
finalweirdomouse.png
I ended with cleaning up the image, adding reflections to the floor surface. Bring together let bits of polish to wrap things up.
I hope you "like" this strange little mutant mouse :)

If your interested check out my other work.
Webcomics funny pets entry

3d printer high quality results

Emotional Alien... Elvis painting

I also run a series of photography articles, check out my blog to have a look :)

Thanks for reading, take care everyone :) Check back soon for more posts.
Nick

Sort:  

hahaha... awesome sauce!

Some great decisions you made along the way - it starts good, but it just keeps looking better and better, up to the final image. And resulting in a weird but totally fascinating creature!

Thanks :) "resulting in a weird but totally fascinating creature" exactly my goal :)

lol
"My cheese! Mine! Nacho cheese! Mine!"

Brilliant, shame you didn't have it recorded all the way through to the final stage though!

My exact thoughts but alas one forgot to press the record button.

This is an instant favourite. This guy certainly inhabits the uncanny valley.

Nice! That detail is awesome! He's like a mouse, a pig, a hairless cat, and a life long smoker lol

Haha that should be in his bio, maybe we should make him a steemit bot where the mutant pig mouse steals your cheese and smokes your post..., the arch nemesis of cuddle kitten :-D

Thank you niko3d for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 5.60% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36