Design a Character Colour Challenge. The Emotional Alien

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Here's my entry to the design a character contest colour challenge.
Also check out the video of my process below using just the palette provided by @w0olf the host of the contest

the emotional alien.jpg


This is my straight ahead method, i.e paintbrush straight to canvas no initial pencil sketch. Great for creative refinement of your conceptual ideas.
Painted, captured and edited on my Nvidia shield tablet using Layerpaint hd and power director.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I'm going with... Elvis, the emotional alien. I think it's awesome, and I love the video. Well done dude! :D

Thanks @skippza :) yeah my aliens always look like Elvis :D no joke....

This clearly just proves that Elvis was an alien... obviously. ;D

More proof...My other Alien Elvis :)

My other Alien Elvis

Lol I never even thought of Elvis until I read the comments. He's come to earth to sing the alien blues uh huh. He's a pretty sweet looking alien very nice! I like the time lapse too : )

I was just about to say that it looks like sad Elvis but @skippyza was faster :)

OMg @niko3d! The video is amazing! I am typing while I watch! So freaking epic! Love your style, you are a two layer kinda guy, literally painted it it how you would on real canvas! So sick, love the video dude! Did you shoot it in one sitting?

Hey @nicknightshade thanks glad you like it :)
Yeah I painted it in one sitting, recording was 76mins long so about 80mins total as I forgot to hit record for the first few marks. Classic :D
I just use what ever layering makes sense at the time. The other alien above for example had about 8 to 10 layers but there's reasons for that :) Will write up a post on that one day. I taught myself how to paint on canvas as a young teenager so guessing it's now kinda instinctual :)

Yea there are some key skills that you are implementing there that I could totally learn from :)

You got a 3.51% upvote from @upmyvote courtesy of @niko3d!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54096.18
ETH 2412.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.10