My first post when I invite you in my studio! How I turn natural pressed flowers into unique jewelry! Pouring the first coat of resin on different plants #1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

This is my first post when I'll invite you to step in my studio👣 until now, I only showed you my final pieces of work, but today I will show you "how it's made", more precisely the first step to turn a real pressed flower into a fine jewelery.

I had a seria of posts where I presented you my heart shaped jewelry collection, where I explained a little bit about the differences between working approach . Here are the links:

https://steemit.com/art/@nature.art/heart-attack-1
https://steemit.com/nature/@nature.art/heart-s-attack-2-steem-up-a-babysteem
https://steemit.com/art/@nature.art/the-last-heart-s-attack-3-steem-up-a-babysteem

Each plant requires a different treatment and based on it's shape and it's qualities I choose to put it in a bezel, in a mold of different shapes or I keep it's natural/original shape and I "dress" it in multiple coats of resin.

In this post I will show you my favorite and the hardest approach, born from my greatest appreciation to big flowers and different leaves that I didn't wanted to crop and reduce from they're natural beauty. It was also a big challenge because it was no instruction online regarding this process.

We're talking here about big, statement jewelry that are, in my opinion, a special category.

Collage 2017-09-05 11_06_48.jpg

The following pictures will show the first process, namely first stage of resin!

Collage 2017-09-05 11_01_09.jpg

Plants need to be set on a surface of silicone or baking paper so the resin doesn't stick.

Collage 2017-09-05 11_00_13.jpg

I considered a standard shape and format for statement jewelry to fit and nicely compliment a woman's outfit, and I put together pieces of little branches or petals.

Collage 2017-09-05 10_59_13.jpg

Doing many experiments, I've learned that resin can make miracles with the initial color of the plant I use, or otherwise can ruin it.

Collage 2017-09-05 10_54_52.jpg

This was an example when resin awaked all the possible colors in that petals! I couldn't get in one picture all the beauty hidden in that flower, and only after I finish it and let the light get through we may see it's color fest!

Collage 2017-09-05 10_53_13.jpg

I have to mention that a final product requires 3 to 6 stages of resin, one side to another, and practically each stage is a form of improvement of the preview one, ti'll the best version of it.

I hope you like my work and you are curious to see how it turns in a final piece of unique jewelry!

Follow my blog to see many other projects I develop.

Enjoy @nature.art🌼

Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond Please consider upvoting this comment as this project is supported only by your upvotes!

Thank you :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nature.art from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Simply amazing ! Thank you for sharing :) Looks like you had a long process learning how to create these magical pieces of jewlery. Steem on! I resteemed this :)

I will post later a little bit of my story... Playing with resin and flowers came into my life at the right moment, when I needed moral support and an activity to help blend in a new enviroment. And I found my peace in colors . Learning means experimenting, being curious and playful! It's a continuous and exciting process, that brings every time reasons of joy and appreciation for nature!

It's a nice activity that requires patience and passion for beauty. I like homemade jewelry, they are unique. You are a creative person and I hope your work is appreciated.

Thank you, my dear.

I'm happy you like @nature.art jewelry :)

I'm happy to share with you my passion and the colors I see in nature!

I love your creative designs. Well done. :)

Wow, these are amazing pieces. I showed my wife and she loved them too. Fall is coming soon and we'll be wishing we could preserve all the beautiful colors like this.
Have a great day!

Enjoy autumn and I'll take care to keep some of it's miracles.

I said once.. Nature did all the work, she created the jewelry, I only found it's way to you!

I loved the finished products also. Very cool jewelry. Thanks for helping nature find it's way to us. Cheers.

you are very welcomed, looking forward to hearing from you!!!

Keep up the good work:)

in this post are just some plants during procees of becoming jewelry, if you are curious for more, mostly to show your wife, here is an old post with some finished products:

https://steemit.com/art/@nature.art/heart-attack-1

And there are more in my dedicated posts.

Anyway, i'm plannig a giveway but I'll wait to grow a little big here, on steemit, so more people to see, joyn and enjoy :)

Beautiful Stuff

Awesome. I tried a similar technique a couple of years ago with my pressed flowers and crystal resin, but some were a little sticky after setting- i don't think i had the setting temperature correct.
Your colour combinations are really beautiful.

Just posted some pictures from my workshop. It's an abundance of plants and resin and tools and colors and everything I enjoy the most.

Maybe I'll awake in you the enthusiam and pleasure of working with resin..

I got that effect to, it was because I didn't mix well enough the two substances, resin and hardner.

Good luck to your projects, looking forward to hearing from you🌼

[email protected]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60813.09
ETH 3389.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52