3D Art - postapocaliptic game assets inspired by STALKER game Part1

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

Today I would like to show you my work I did for Unity Asset store some time ago that I never published. It was heavily inspired by a game by GSC game studio S.T.A.L.K.E.R - Call of Pripiat.

(click for enlarge the picture)
Postapocaliptic_assets.jpg
Concre_Fence.PNG

Rendered inside 3ds max viewport with Xoulil Shader 2.0

Below are some screens that I took in order to "replicate" the looks that was captured in that game so you can see the similarities one with another:

Barrels.png

Beczki (1).jpgBeczki (4).jpgCrates.png
xrEngine 2013-04-03 18-27-12-64.jpgxrEngine 2013-04-03 18-41-28-24.jpgxrEngine 2013-04-03 18-41-41-21.jpg

As you can see here, there are more similarities like for example greenish texture or form and geometry.
I wanted to improve my work so I took what I saw and tried to replicate as best as I could.

fences.png
xrEngine 2013-04-04 13-00-07-22.jpg
xrEngine 2013-04-04 14-30-16-08.jpg
xrEngine 2013-04-05 16-17-23-88.jpg
geo.png

Looking back at those I think most of it was optimised, some pieces could be done better at optimization - like bench or concrete wall, those numbers are a bit high in triangles. One of the mistakes here is that I used build in 3ds max optimization plugin - "ProOptimize" instead of manually retopologizing and if I would redone it would be much more optimised now.

Here are wireframes for those who are interested:

wireframe.png

Ok, I would like to keep it nice and simple and not to take more of your time but don't worry, we will meet again next time! :)

texturees.png

Previous post - Mustang mental ray render

Sort:  

The textures have done nice job, and there is a lot details in them. For the geometry you can try retopo with instant meshes :). Aldo all of the assets look great, and they are not centre piece of the scene. But you can make them better at least for your own satisfaction.

yeah, although this is old texture and presentaiton, its still holds up.

Maybe I will do the substance painter tutorial and use those props to make them shine again :)

You just received a 16.78% upvote from @honestbot, courtesy of @martin-p!
WaveSmall.gif

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 2.09% upvote!
I was summoned by @martin-p. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59163.23
ETH 2524.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51