"Spicestar" - Gallery: Motifs

in #art6 years ago

Hi everyone... So, I think I might finally be experiencing what I have heard so many already speak about: Steemit burnout. Well, actually, it feels like a more general sort of burnout. No matter what I am doing, my brain just feels kinda fried, so I'm not doing anything with my usual gusto. Even students have been asking me what the matter is...

So I've gone down a few gears the last few days. Not rushing back home to make sure I finish that post before having to attend whatever show on Discord. Lying in my hammock and not thinking about how I could be improving in this or doing something cool in that. Actually watching Netflix without feeling guilty because I'm not doing something productive.

And I've now begun thinking of how I can work some relax-time into my schedule while at the same time using that time for more than just relaxation. Recently, I've had it suggested that I could start streaming when I play No Man's Sky. I think that might be perfect. And I might expand that to streaming other games too, since I have a ton of them sitting in my Steam account that I haven't even looked at yet. My only doubt is whether anyone would watch me...

Anyway... That was all just a long way of telling you why I'm so late with this "Monday Mandala" post ;P ... Hope you like it! =)



Spicestar

~~
Gallery: Motifs
Max. Print Size: 28" x 28"



“The future remains uncertain and so it should, for it is the canvas upon which we paint our desires. Thus always the human condition faces a beautifully empty canvas. We possess only this moment in which to dedicate ourselves continuously to the sacred presence which we share and create.”

-- Frank Herbert, Children of Dune

“You don’t need to be the tide to rise and fall,
you don’t have to be a wave to touch the shore;
just be a little sand-grain and feel them all.”

-- Munia Khan

“If you need something to worship, then worship life - all life, every last crawling bit of it! We're all in this beauty together!”

-- Frank Herbert, Dune Messiah



Song of the Day : Dargaard - Thy Fleeing Time

Creating this was quite a different process from what I usually do... As I say above, I've recently been taking things a lot easier, with my brain feeling a little overheated, so I actually took days to get this mandala done, and also, I wasn't really fretting over showing the creative process like I usually do.

Plus, I had no theme in mind as I searched through shapes and colours for something I liked. So as I worked, many different ideas came to mind... Mostly generic fractal themes likes waves and seashells.

In the end though, the colours that grabbed me most were my usual favourites; Golds and browns. With that, at some point, I thought of desert sands, and imagined the mandala being a single grain of sand spliced through so that you could see the crystalline shapes within.

And then, deserts lead my mind to Dune, and the Spice Melange.

He who controls the Spice controls the Universe.


Anyway, as I said, I wasn't really mindful of documenting the creative process, so I did this GIF afterward, showing more or less how I discovered "Spicestar" ... I did actually zoom in a lot to find complex shapes before tweaking any parameters. The maths gets crazy at those deeper levels (and thus it took longer than usual to render it).

I used another NASA image for the diffuse colour map:

2018-10-11 18_56_29-Window.jpg

Oh, and look what I just found in my screenshots folder. It seems I did think about showing the creative process at least once. This was close to the end, where I was cutting out the edgy bits:

And now for the details, as always...
At full resolution, it can be printed up to 28 x 28 inches (about 70cm x 70cm) :

And that's it. I hope you're all having a better week/month than I am so far! They say that this passes so, I'll wait patiently for my brain to get back to normal... I kinda need it to do stuff. ;P

And everyone, if you want to buy this or any other design of mine, you can check out my site, Mandelsage.com, for details =) ... And I am open to doing commissions too! How about a mandala based on your personality? ;)




Thank you for your upvote 💖
~~
A few recent posts of mine:
No Man's Sky - 007 - New Multi-Tool or Bust! | ULOG: 007 - Floating | Andromedala - Gallery: Motifs
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
All Images, Copyright @Mandelsage - All rights reserved (unless otherwise specified).

Before using bidbots, consider that they are generally bad for the long-term health of the Steemit ecosystem, and that many manual curators will not consider posts using bidbots for curation. Instead, try joining communities, engaging authentically, and earning more and more organic votes over time =) ... The best post I've found explaining this controversial topic is by Luke Stokes - click here to go to his post.

Sort:  

Congratulations @mandelsage! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added
Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01