Wish Upon - Progress

in #art6 years ago

Some times it is hard to see the progress we are making along our journey. Just like a physical journey, our progress with a give task, learning or further development, has its hills and valleys. When you reach the crest of the hill, a high point, you can see much further around, look back over where you have come from, and look further ahead.

But then you continue your journey down the hill towards the next you had in sight. You will lose sight of the greater view. The way down, through and then up and out of the valley might demand much effort and even be painful. Yet, you have to keep going. Otherwise you might give up and be stuck in the valley. Since I'm using landscape metaphors, "You can't see the forest for the trees" becomes appropriate also. We lose our overview, our perspective.

This is where memory of past successes, visions of the goal ahead, motivated by desire to reach it, and a passion for the journey itself, is what is required to succeed.

Another analogy I liked was, you're driving from city A to city B at night. Its dark. All you have are the lights of your car the illuminate the road ahead of you at some distance. You can't see your destination. Yet you continue on because you have your road map (or navi in today's age) and the road signs you encounter on the way. Eventually you arrive at your destination even though you could not see it for 99.9% of your journey.

Maybe you encounter heavy traffic along the way and the journey is slower than expected. Perhaps you have a flat tire, or some other issue that might stop you for a while, but, you find a solution, perhaps even ask for help and then continue on your way.

So it is with my artwork.

I have a vision of what I want to achieve. I'm not there yet. Sometimes I even feel I've even taken one step backwards. But I take a deep breath and continue, keeping faith that I will reach my goal. Along the way, I'll play my favourite music, wind down the windows and enjoy the scenery.

Happy travels to you all on your own personal journeys.


This article's image is a look behind the curtain into the steps behind this artwork, "Wish Upon A.."

"Wish Upon A..." Leo Plaw, 24 x 30cm, oil on canvas
Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

This is stunning. I really like getting to see her come to life. The progression of her eyes is simply amazing.

Thank you Malena! I paid extra special attention to the eyes, because that's where the whole painting leads. I had to get them right. There's a few tricks to that.

So good. The work on your website is awesome also. wow. Resteemed.

Thank you very much Jody!

You are quite diligent these days!

I have to be! I have my goals to reach a journey to adventure along and... limited time. I have to make the most of it. =)

Now thats what I call work ethic! Hope I can accompany you on that great way !

We all have reasons for "losing, defeating, crushing on the pen of life". Moreover, these reasons can attract a person who is freezing to sleep, as well as drug abuse. You stop fighting, fighting, fighting. Let yourself be in the darkness of your own excuses. You lose your fight with life in the beginning.I like to fight, I like warriors, I like those who are not afraid of being defeated. I like fighting, resistance, fighting. I like to create my own dreams and walk those dreams no matter what. Such men are not worthy of their dreams in my eyes; the dreams of some of them are very strange to me. but he has the courage to walk on the dream and he is interested in the persistent persistence under all circumstances. Those people succeed.I liked it very much when I first saw this picture!
Wonderful in summer. they say you are right. thanks for nice sharing

Thank you for sharing your thoughts Ceren!

It's the magic of art! In my case it fascinates me to see how a sheet of paper stops being a paper to turn into an image with dimensions, volumes, shadows, etc, which is what I am most passionate about in art.

That's the magic of art, tricking our brains into seeing something else in lines or colours applied to a surface. Hey, that also includes, words, books tell us a story, actors on stage or film have us believe they are another person, musicians make us feel emotions.

As someone who constantly struggles with perfectionism, and thus, a loss of motivation to even try... thank you for this. It is a journey, and I must keep moving forward no matter what obstacles I encounter. Thank you (and to @davidcheifetz) for inspiring me to paint this:

IMG_7005.JPG

Excellent @velveteendreem! So are you going to write a post about your new oil painting for Steemit? You should! =)
Yes, yes, keep it moving. @davidcheifetz rocks! Love his work.

I've posted about the eye, hahaha but look forward to exploring more. I want to do something more gory this time. Thank you so much! :D :D

Great! I'll pop over to your blog and check it out. =)

I'm starting to think I'm never going to hit a destination, but it doesn't help that I have very little idea where I'm going never mind how to get there XD The trip is kinda fun though ;D

My eldest walked in as I was admiring the art process pics up top and asked what I was looking at. I just said they were process pics and he then provided the explanation of: "Sketch. Some colours. Game realistic. Very realistic!" for each panel XD

goatsig

Well, its cool to have multiple destinations, as long as you stay on the path of the journey / adventure. I see it as a never ending adventure.

Ha ha! I like that explanation of the process pics. =)

Wow.....very nice painting, beautiful art, amazing post, thanks for sharing

Dear Artist @leoplaw ! This post has been resteemed from FineArtNow account ! See you soon !

Hi @leoplaw , congratulation for your painting, I like your works. I would like to invite you to join my drawing contest https://steemit.com/sanvalentineart/@steemotion/san-valentine-drawing-contest.
Have a nice day
Bye

Thank you @steemotion, I'll check it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66618.20
ETH 3498.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63