Less is More

in #art7 years ago (edited)

There is something to be said for simplicity. Compare Steemit to Facebook. I believe for many, as it was for me, when I first came to Steemit, the stark minimalism of Steemit made it look somewhat underdeveloped, a work in progress. But I quickly found I had  space to breath, as there were far fewer distractions.

Just as a side note, Andreas M. Antonopoulos gave an interview just on this topic and comparing the path of growth Facebook took to where Steemit is now.

I used to work in web development. I saw the evolution of usability experts who focused on the user experience, who have often a complicated task of attempting guide and co-ordinate many different experts in their own field towards producing a website or application that suited the end user first and foremost above all else. As the saying goes, the customer is king. If end users find your product too complicated, not matter how good the underlying features are, they will simply go elsewhere.

Creative productions, whether art, music and performance are no different. While superficially say a painting might look complicated, it is the underlying simplicity that will harmonise the work. One of the fundamentals of painting is points of interest.

The most common formula of points of interest is a triangulation of points of interest of descending importance. There is the eye catcher, the thing you first zero in on, then the second thing that catches your eye, leading you to the third, by which time you glance back at the first to make sense of it all. This creates the dynamic of the work, and causes it to live and breath with an energy.

This theory can also be applied to colour. In the film industry, this is the basis of colour grading. Have you ever noticed that certain films have dominating colour themes? This is what helps set the mood of the film. There is some discussion that it has gone too far these days, and has become just formula. But then again, you could say that overall about most Hollywood films these days.

Wit this idea in mind, of working in limited constraints, I chose to work in one colour only with the above painting. Aha! But there is also white you might cry. In painting circles, white and black are technically not referred to as colour. So working with Burnt Sienna (and white) I set out to create as much expression as possible. I do mean mood, but I also mean colour expression.

There are other artists who achieve a far better level than what I currently do with a palette this limited. There are three ways to create new colours. The first we think of is to mix the Burnt Sienna and white together in varying proportions. The next two are where the illusion of painting works its magic.

You can scumble or dry brush, the darker colour over the lighter, which means to roughly brush it. The brush only has a small amount of paint on it and you scrub it over the surface. For this you need a harder brush to endure the abuse.

The other is then to glaze the lighter colour over the darker by combining it with a transparent medium.

How exactly all of this works, is another full article on its own, and would go into the properties of light and how our eyes and brain perceive light. Once you start looking into it, you quickly come to realise that what we think we see, is often not what we really are seeing. 

Our own minds love playing tricks on us. This fact, great artists are also aware of, and will use mercilessly to have you see a world, a story in rock dust, mixed in dried plant extract and smeared on canvas. 

That is the magic of good painting, or any other creative endeavour, is to provide the audience with just enough, that their own imagination steps in and fills the blanks and gaps.


More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

You are right, simplicity allows to better connect. Today's world is so fast and all the things are so complex mostly that we unconsciously are looking for a retreat to give our brain a rest. I love this painting, i do not much about painting itself but this burnt feel looks nice and symbolizes in a way that we should spare ourselves, give urourselves a break not to burnout.

I enjoy it when people talk about what art means to them. I like how it can mean something personal and unique to each, and when discussed with others, it becomes more of a shared vision. Well put @bescouted!

I believe this is one of the reasons, while art so unpractical and irrational has been with human kind since the dawn of civilizations. We certainly need a treat and different angle from time to time to clean that tangled brain. Quite sadly so that many talented artists have to literally starve sometimes while providing this service to people throughout the ages. Why is that i do not know:)

Music and film certainly can move people en mass towards a shared vision. Painting is pretty much well one person at a time as they stand in front of the work. But, of course that effect can be multiplied through print, film/video and now the internet. So here we are on Steemit.

@kidsysco, one of the things I enjoy most about creating artwork, is hearing of the thoughts and emotions it inspires.

Hi @bescouted! Art is one of those wonderful things that you can enjoy and appreciate without having to understand how it works. The fact that artwork "works" for you or not is enough in itself. It is created to inspire an experience in you. So I am very pleased to hear my painting works for you. =)

I used to work as a web developer. I was good at my job, and was paid very well for my work. But, the freedom and simplicity of paint is a stronger call to me. I'm not staring at a screen for hours on end looking for a bug in the code, all the while the clock is ticking, or trying to solve other people's problems. Mix the paint, apply to canvas, and you see the immediate result. Marketing and selling the artwork is just as much work as hunting for new internet projects or clients, but I derive more satisfaction from people enjoying something created with my own hands. I guess it is the same feeling a musician or a stage actor has when they receive applause.

You are right. It's a journey not a destination what matters at the end of the day. And i did quite the opposite actually. I abandoned major part of photography to build a website for talented people. Su bugs and stuff you were talking about. But when i help someone to be discovered i get the same sensation as you've mentioned :)

Yes, its all about how to best be of service to ourselves so we can be at our best to be at service to others. Different strokes for different folks. =)
I help people in a different way now. My artwork gets them thinking and talking about what moves within them. So you're now helping people like me to help others. ;-)

Exactly :) Everybody has a path in a life he did not choose but that those him :) Will be looking forward to more of yiu work @leoplaw

Thank you @bescouted. May the road rise with you.

Same to you my friend.

Fantastic post! Burnt Sienna was my favorite color in oils to work with, for some reason I always ran out. I agree with you about your take on simplicity and I find your words rather inspiring. Lastly, I also really enjoyed your discussion about interest points as I frequently look for such composition in art. This is a really good bit of writing for artists who are looking to attain that extra edge. Keep it up Leo, I look forward to more insight like this!

Thanks @kidsysco! When I started out Burnt Sienna was also a favourite, but I have since discovered a few other versatile colours, all earth colours. That is an article in itself. Writing regularly on Steemit is encouraging me to get my thoughts in a more or less organised fashion. I may even weave it all together in a more coherent way in the future.

I'm always on the search for sharpening my edge. I'm constantly reading, watching videos and studying the works of other artists. If things were different, I'd probably enrol in one of these classical atelier that are cropping up all over the place.

But, I've come this far with out direct tuition, so I'll probably continue this way. It makes the learning curve steeper, but I seem to thrive on the challenge. It was the same when I worked as a programmer, research, read and try it out.

Upvoted. I'll be resteeming this now :)

Wow, an amazing article - THANKS FOR SHARING.

Upvoted and I will resteem this now too!

Man you started talking about facebook to end up in painting and imagination. You certainly took a trip! Like the one I had looking into those eyes :)

I just resteemed your post at the Steemit Gallery of Art. A place to showcase and reward artists according to what the community likes the most. Find out more here, leave your feedback and support if you like the project :)

post card1.png

Hi @sgoa! Ah, well, I have much to tell, but do try to stick to one topic.

I think I have seen your project around on Steemit. I'll take a closer look.

Thank you very much for the resteem! Much appreciated. =)

It looks like you are off to a good start curating Steemit art. I really do hope you keep the quality up.

Myself and a number of other Steemit artist friends are starting to invite our networks here.

I noticed you haven't featured @gric yet.

Thanks a lot for your kind words! I had a fast look at @gric and I can already say he is definitely one to feature :) Keep it up with the good work and see you at #sgoa of course!


I finally included your artwork in the first exhibition of the SGoA. Come and have a look!

1st ex small.png


Hey @sgoa, thank you! I dropped in and upvoted.

Very interesting, Leo. I have heard of the concept with the points of interest before, but the way you describe all this, it makes really good sense :-)

Will have to pay more attention to that!

I've been digging into the theory and practice of painting as it is taught in the old school way. It is making a come back!

Yes, finally! Enjoy your input on it :-)

I like this post so much! I have discussed about simplicity my whole life!!
Upvoted and resteemed :)

Wow, what a post. Love it. It's all in the title, hey! Sometimes saying less really can be more!

I gave you a follow :) This was in the 'hot category by the way. Talk soon!

Thank you @enazwahsdarb! Even in older cultures, the value of less was appreciated over the superfluous. In the old Viking culture, there is a collection of sayings from Odin, the head of the Gods. "The fool says all, the wise man little."

So I hope I didn't waffle on too much in my article. ;-)

Really! I didn't know the article made it to the hot category. Thanks for heads up.

Great points. I like simplicity as well.

The painting delights me, it gives an interesting sense of supremacy. I wish I could have that picture on the wall of my house. :) And regarding steemit, it is very true that it is different from other social networks. But there is the interesting thing, because of the way it is structured allows you to concentrate on generating quality content and not simply making publications of anything that nobody is going to interest because it can be something very personal. In particular I see it as a tool of mutual learning. I learn from what I see, and try to teach what I know. Thanks @leoplaw for sharing this painting and this great content. Greetings. :)

The picture is already hanging on the wall of somebody else's house. ;-)
I do have prints on Redbubble.
Yes, Steemit has the potential to develop into a very interesting creative hub.
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. @rivendels. =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99