You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Less is More

in #art7 years ago

Fantastic post! Burnt Sienna was my favorite color in oils to work with, for some reason I always ran out. I agree with you about your take on simplicity and I find your words rather inspiring. Lastly, I also really enjoyed your discussion about interest points as I frequently look for such composition in art. This is a really good bit of writing for artists who are looking to attain that extra edge. Keep it up Leo, I look forward to more insight like this!

Sort:  

Thanks @kidsysco! When I started out Burnt Sienna was also a favourite, but I have since discovered a few other versatile colours, all earth colours. That is an article in itself. Writing regularly on Steemit is encouraging me to get my thoughts in a more or less organised fashion. I may even weave it all together in a more coherent way in the future.

I'm always on the search for sharpening my edge. I'm constantly reading, watching videos and studying the works of other artists. If things were different, I'd probably enrol in one of these classical atelier that are cropping up all over the place.

But, I've come this far with out direct tuition, so I'll probably continue this way. It makes the learning curve steeper, but I seem to thrive on the challenge. It was the same when I worked as a programmer, research, read and try it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66794.56
ETH 3501.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71