Inktober Summary & Testing Out a New Scanner! (High Resolution)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

img004_compressed.jpg

What a wonderful day! Today I want to share with you guys some of my excitement: I finally bought a scanner for my art! No more waiting for sunny days and hours spent on editing photos.

After some research I got Epson Perfection V19. It's just a scanner without a printer, mostly because it has much higher scanning resolutions and I don't plan printing anytime soon.

For a bigger preview, right click on an image and open in a new tab.

IMG_7796.JPG

This is an example of the unedited photo taken on a cloudy day with artificial lighting. This is the exactly same photo that I used in the previous post.

img007_compressed.jpg

I forgot to test how it scans a regular pencil sketch, but you can quite clearly see the pencil under sketch if you zoom in these scans. I found a lot of old fun art that I'd love to share with you guys. Art skills are actually rarely just talent, it's a lot of work and practice ;)

img015_compressed.jpg

The scanner program has nice adjustment tools for brightness, saturation and much more. The only thing I did have to do after scanning is to compress and resize the images, because I used a bit insane quality settings... For this I used Caesium (a free program), it's so great, I don't see any real difference between the 20MB image and 5MB one. Admittedly the scanner might be a bit stronger than I need, but at least won't have to upgrade anytime soon.

img011_compressed.jpg

I plan to make a small review once I get to know more of the functions and test it on different artworks like watercolors or color pencils.

img012_compressed.jpg

If you'd like to read more: Part 1 ; Part 2 & Part 3

Thank you for reading!

follow.png

Sort:  

I couldn't wait to feature you in the Steemit Art Register so I've put you in today's edition! Thanks for joining and I hope to see more great art and get the recognition you deserve 😊😊

Thank you very much! <3

I like the Ouroboros (last one)! Here's an up-vote for you. :)

Thank you, really glad! :D

Awesome art

Thank you! :D

Wow I love your sketchbook! I have to go to work but I'm leaving this right here on screen so I can take a better look when I get home and upvote when my SP is back to 100%. I would really love to promote you in the new Steemit Art Register if you're interested? You absolutely deserve more views and followers on your art, so join us if you wish :) Keep up the great work!

Thank you! So excited right now, all the luck in one day! I joined the discord channel and your curation post is awesome, really good picks(followed them)! It's such a pleasure to meet more artists every day <3
Definitely support your initiative, and I would love to be a part of it. :D

Thanks so much @kristyglas. I see good things coming to everyone and I really enjoy helping people so to promote other artists is really a blessing. You've also inspired me to share more of my sketchbooks! :)

Looking forward to those :D Feel free to drop a few here too!

I liked the job of the scanner and u got nice photos there but the first photo is more then gorgeous i stared at it for minutes just because i felt like magic while looking at it. U got my vote and keep the perfect job @kristyglas👍🏼

Thank you so much <3
Yeah that scan turned out even better than I hoped for :D
That was probably the hardest drawing to finish, but worth it ^^

The artwork is rather cool, and having a high quality scanner to be able to share your artwork is really helpful!

Thank you :D
It definitely is, there are also quick scan options perfect for pencil sketches to be used in digital art.

Wow you are awesome in drawing :)

Thank you, glad you like ^^

Dear Artist ! FineArtNow is a new place for artists on Steemit ! Become our friend ! See you soon !

Thank you ^^ Checking it out.

awesome.. Hello @kristyglas, I hope you could visit my page https://steemit.com/@lmfao3124/ and give feedback so that I will have an idea where to improve.. thanks

Hey ^^ I like your drawing; however, I wrote some suggestions that might help you present your art better.

thank you so much @kristyglas, GOD BLESS...

Welcome ^^
Like I said, there will be even more tips a bit later :D
Edit: https://steemit.com/art/@kristyglas/improving-you-posts-and-getting-noticed-artists-edition Here you go! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64646.46
ETH 3357.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.44