Steemit inspired "Cryptopia" comic; the Graves campaign for top witness sketch!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Good evening, Steemit! I’m burning the midnight oil. My post earlier today touched on the impact Steemit has been having on my life for the better. Turning art in to money relieves quite a bit of pressure for the kind of work I “have” to do and opens my schedule to some thing I “want” to do. The illustration I’m sharing tonight is proof of that. It’s been a while since I’ve shared any comic book stuff, and since my last illustration post I’ve gained a lot of new followers. With that in mind, let me take a quick moment to explain what this is all about. 

During my time here on Steemit and throughout my experience learning about cryptocurrency, I became inspired. I imagined this world where the threshold for use of crypto in the US and UK surpasses the use of fiat currencies. Companies like Amazon begin accepting STEEM, which causes more and more people to stay home blogging, buying what they need and turning away from the dollar and sterling. Eventually, there’s an inevitable crash that is felt around the world.

This story, which has been titled “Cryptopia”, takes place in the near future. Governments like the UK and US put as many laws and restrictions up to slow the falling price of the national notes. Millionaires and billionaires find themselves penniless; punks, anarchists and developers become the new wealth of the world almost over night, and neither is able to cope with the changes to their fortunes.

Also in this world […and tying in tonight’s artwork], three characters, Allan Graves, his fiancé Marie Devilreux and oldest friend, York, are running for top witness. After the fiat currencies crash, there is more money and power in being witness than there ever was in traditional politics. Running for top witness surpasses the most expensive Presidential or Chancellor campaigns. Allan and Marie live in London post-Brexit and directly felt the pains of that exiting of the UK. They campaign on platform of anarchy and have a massive appeal to the new wealth of London.

This sketch is just a chance for me to develop all three characters together and think about their relationships to one another. Also, to get an idea of how they’d look campaigning or standing on a stage together. The entire drawing was done in Procreate using the new [STEEM purchased] iPad Pro and Apple Pencil! Have a look at the speed drawing if you’re curious about my process.

If you aren’t familiar with the work I’ve already done on Cryptopia, please follow a few of the links below to other characters. The full script for the first issue is even posted in it’s entirety. If I can continue to make roughly what a professional comic book artist makes for their page rate, I can certainly dedicate enough time to Cryptopia to get an issue out every month or two. That would be a dream come true. I love photographing beautiful women in lingerie, but truth be told, my heart is and will always be in doing comics and graphic novels.

"Cryptopia - Page #001 pencils!"

"Detectives Howe and Arendse character design for Crytopia comic!"

"Full script of issue #001 of Cryptopia, my Steemit inspired comic!"

"Allan Graves character design for my upcoming crypto-comic!"

"New character design for my crpyto-comic!"

"Another crypto-comic character design!"

"First page of my Steemit inspired comic!"

Thanks so much for reading! For more illustration and comics, photography, art and thoughts, please follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

Some seriously amazing stuff here! I love the look and style of all three. I found you through your post about cafetto in Minneapolis as I am also from the area. You have something serious going on here with your comics, they are top notch and I already want to read the story and honestly I'm not the biggest comic fan. What you said about being able to do what you want and gain value from it is what it's all about. I think crypto will bring so, so much to the art space. Also, props for being one of the starting few on Steemit from MN. I think we will have to organize a steemit meet up sometime! Would love to chat and share info.

Oh, man @elderfinancial! We're shooting a video of Minnesotan Steemians this Friday at Caffetto from 11:00a.m. - 2:00p.m.! If you're able, you should definitely come and we'll include you. @timcliff is hosting a big Steemit meetup on July 15th. Thanks for all your kind words and encouragement about the comic. Ugh! My life would be complete if I could just do comics and make a living. That's been the career I've wanted since I was five. Following you now!

I have a feeling that soon you will be realizing that dream. Fingers crossed! That would be so great to be a part of the video. Two things I love, Minnesota and Steemit! I will definitely try and make that on Friday. Thanks for the info, looking forward to reading more of your comic story.

I like how you put this, 'turning art in to money relieves quite a bit of pressure for the kind of work I “have” to do and opens my schedule to some thing I “want” to do'. You had me at hello. You got a new follower. Cheers @kommienezuspadt

It's true @runrudy! Even this drawing wouldn't have been possible if I wasn't able to mow down some bills with the money I've been making on Steemit. I can't believe how good this post is doing! If this continues, I'll be able to transition in to doing the Cryptopia comic full time.

I enjoy comics and manga so I will follow along with your new project with interest. Hey, since the hardfork my full vote is worth $2. Not much but enough to buy you a sketching pencil : ) ever few days. You get enough people like me to support your creative passion. That is how steemit can change lives. Be well @kommienezuspadt

You're a hyper creative animal-machine hybrid of some sort? Regardless, I'll help fuel you.

Unbelievable talent you have. I don't know the last time I hand drawn something - I use the mouse and digital software now to create things. I love that you took the time to create story for your artwork too - glad that you're in the SteemIt platform.

Thanks @kontora! Comics and graphic novels was my first love. I just hope I can make rewards like this with every illustration/comics post! I could definitely do it full time if that was the case!

i always enjoy watching someones artistic process. looking forward to more content

Awww, great @drawingablank! I'm glad those videos actually get some views. Following you now. Can't have enough illustration in my feed!

Great post, loved your video. I think you have a great point about the future of cryptocurrencies, it's a much fairer way of banking and I think it has the power to redistribute wealth and allow the little guy to make a living from his or her passion.

Thanks @samuel-earp-art! It's certainly happening in my life as an unapologetic "little guy". It feels good.

Man, you are really gifted! I ike these characters!

Thanks @hebro! This post is doing well enough I may be able to transition in to doing the comic full time. That would be amazing!

Good luck!

It's just awesome. Great one.

Thanks @angelshare! I appreciate it! :)

I am pretty sure the chick is Peggy from married with children correct ? And the guy is a new age version of Al Bundy.... Al lets have sex

HAHA! I didn't realize that but there is a striking resemblance @fuckmylife.

I wish I was as talented as you
Great Job

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75