Cryptopia - Page #001 pencils!

in #art7 years ago

Good day, friends! Remember that crypto-dystopian comic book inspired by Steemit I mentioned? If not, have a look at the script of the first issue and a bunch of character design in my previous post "Full script of issue #001 of Cryptopia, my Steemit inspired comic!". Well, I just finished the pencils for page one!

The last few weeks for me have been awash with turmoil and seemingly endless photography work [...not complaining about that]. I hit my saturation point, and when that happens, all I want to do is draw. It's my therapy, and I was long overdue by the start of this week.

Here's a look at the first page of Cryptopia - Issue #001. Here we see Detectives Howe and Arendse arriving on the scene of a particularly heinous murder just uncovered amongst a construction site in West Brompton, London. Some poor soul has been buried alive in a tomb, supplied with bottles of water and air ventilation pipes. The inch deep claw marks on the casket interior suggest the deceased was alive for day, maybe weeks.

Finishing this first page was a great way to reignite my passion for Cryptopia. I'll be sharing the pages that follow shortly. All draw using Procreate on the iPad Pro with Apple Pencil.

Thanks for reading! Follow my blog @Kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  


That is mindblowing Art... I'll be following you.

HA! Great GIF. Thank you @pitterpatter

Excellent drawings. I know West Brompton well.

Thanks @gportman! After quite a bit of research I learned West Brompton is a pretty expensive neighborhood, but in this world, the physical wealth has collapsed and previously "ritzy" areas have become high crime ghettos.

It seems pretty authentic, as there are a lot of building sites in West Brompton at the moment. Look forward to seeing further instalments.

I'm in love with this already!
Now following...I hope to see more of this. Great Work Cryptopia

beautiful
you are pro in this @kommienezuspadt

It's always nice to have a different creative outlet. This is cool.

This page has instant appeal.

I am a comic artist new on Steemit and I think is cool what you've done so far with the designs and script work. On this page, I love your use simplified shapes for background elements and figures (something I should do more). Let me know if you are open to critiques because I do have couple of questions / potential improvements for flow and things that jump out at me. I am not a fan of critiques when the artist isn't looking for them. Either way great job!! Following you for sure, Steemit comic guys got to stick together.

Constructive criticism is most definitely welcomed @catapanoart! I just checked out your work! Incredible. Followed immediately.

Ok, I'll break down what I see, and maybe it will help. You have a great "Z" shaped read on the page overall which is awesome and you obviously did that purposefully. To help with that, you could do a couple of things.

  1. Maybe moving the right guy in the foreground lower in the panel to further help the eye flow would be helpful.
  2. Adding a foreground element in the bottom right like a rope fence or a wire or what ever to direct the eye toward the text bubble would help too.
  3. The perspective in the first panel is a little flat, especially with the main building. Bringing the right vanishing point closer to the panel will give you a less flat look. It almost looks like the building is super far a way like it was shot with a telephoto lens. That new perspective will also help add to your already sick composition.
  4. Lastly, you may want to add some shadows or render lines the coffin to, again, make it abundantly clear to the subconscious reader where the eye should go.

Didn't think my explanation was good enough so I did this paint over.

cryptoPaintOverSend.jpg

These are all things that might help, but at the same time maybe you have reasons for it to be as is. Either way, awesome job, hope to see more pages soon.

Operation - @berniesanders - Negative Rep. Account


Dear Users,
I came back live because the abuse listed below is immoral. I will make something clear to all. I am not a bot, I use no auto codes, I do all manually, and I'm very good at everything I do, and put my hands on. You all sit around entertaining and supporting this evil person @berniesanders . You see how he does accounts in negative and treats them less than human. You see the way he bashes and abuses this blockchain and others. Those who support this immoral user who is a legend in his own mind and has won nothing, are now subject to the same tactics used before, with some new added since we want to go to another level of treating people unequal. I will come and fuck up every post painting it with truth and turning viewers and potential payers away, including new users. After all, I too am an artist. I see good people being misled, and clueless following as well. Post like this only aggravate situations, they never help. It's never good to go talking like that about others. So if you're as evil as he is, I'm coming for you. Now I made a promise to a friend to lay these accounts down for the benefit of a lot of things, and a lot of people. So, I now will show the world who is responsible for my quick return. @berniesanders is an immoral, evil, simple minded, heartless with his ways, human being. You want to fix a real life or blockchain problem, Take his ass out, and let the blockchain flourish. Take out the real trash. My flags and spam messages trying to have an equal voice never made me less than any of you. And we all well know, we see my messages as I go 1 by 1. So my friends, since this tyrannical person wants to continue to abuse others, I will remain on the server with all accounts live until @berniesanders is in the -negative reputation. I want him to know what it is like to be attacked into silence. We will see how he spams then to be heard. That is now the only cure for this virus created by abuse on humanity. Have a good day, keep smart ~ This Is A Call To Take Out The Real Trash ~ @berniesanders
Source:


https://steemit.com/abuse/@iloveupvotes/berniesanders-abuse-snapshot-s-compilation-loading

To those that disagree, flag away at me. It does not matter. Even at -100 I will have a voice.
These accounts used to fight are expendable and disposable. Only Fix Listed Above.
Sincerely, @iLoveUpvotes ~


Webwide (a.k.a.) EatinCrayons ~

These Messages & Flags Will Cease In Entirety When @berniesanders Account Is In The -Negative Reputation. Let Him Now Reap What He Has Sowed.


A Long the way I talk some shit yeah. Don't attack people if you don't want a bad reaction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05