First page of my Steemit inspired comic!

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Like most of us, I’ve been thinking about Steemit a lot. My thoughts tend to perpetuate down various paths and possibilities of the site and it’s potential impact when it hits the mainstream; that and how that kind of growth would affect the STEEM currency.

I like to write and I like to draw comics, so I spent the last two days developing a world where Steemit explodes. The site catches like a wild fire, upending the mundane lives of millions. I imagine an internet where you can buy groceries and clothes off of Amazon, and pay with STEEM. As retailers begin accepting the cryptocurrency, it gains legitimacy, and a fervent cycle begins. More and more people work from home, earn rewards and buy and sell accordingly. Less “real” money being made and spent.

Going even further down this hypothetical rabbit hole, I see physical currencies diminishing in value. Talking with my friend @mada he suggested I focus this story on Great Britain, especially with The City Of London’s weird laws on governance within The UK. The prospect of playing with the imminent impact post Brexit just seemed perfect for a dramatic interpretation of an uncertain future.

This first page is more of a treatment, of sorts. If it’s well received, I’d love to continue this story. It could potentially become a 22 “page” monthly comic, similar comic books you’d get in a store, or potentially, a graphic novel. I have a few intriguing characters in mind, including an ambiguous whale who was rumored to be homeless before making millions posting blogs from a public library.

If it doesn’t go any further, this was a lot of fun. I’m really happy with how it turned out and I worked through some of my problem areas with comic book design […specifically, the London financial distract at the bottom third of the page; I hate drawing cities and architecture]. 

Please keep in mind, this is a complete work of fiction. It’s not at all politically or sociality motivated in an way. That said, I’d love constructive criticism and feedback. Big thank you to @mada who was an invaluable resource in developing this early story.

Here's a speed drawing of the entire page for those that are interested. Stay in touch and follow me @kommienezuspadt

Sort:  

Great work... reblogged!

Ah, man! Thank you @pollux.one! The reblogging is a great honor for me because I know it's a reflection of your feed. Thank you very much!

indeed a work of art!

Thanks @allmonitors! I appreciate that!

This came out great! Your timelapse drawing made a brilliant vid, and I can't wait to see where this goes.

Thanks @mada, for all your help. I really want to spent more time with this story. It's ripe for drama.

I like it! Reblogged and upvoted, all ready following, looking forward to more! ♨😉♨

Thanks very much @karenmckersie! I think you're my first reblog! I'm going to develop the story and some characters and keep going with it.

Thats awesome! Looking forward to it! And good luck! Thanks👍😉

Wow! There is talent! Very nice. Followed voted and going to repost as well. Thank you for this!

Thanks @whatsup! I'm transitioning from photography to doing comics full time and it's such a great experience. I did comics in the late 90's and have really missed it.

Really, nice work :-)

Just one small point, London voted overwhelmingly to stay ;-)

Cg

Did it @cryptogee? I'll have to do a little more research. I was referencing this article that said the opposite. http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/brexit-areas-backed-leave-eu-government-support-report-a7319261.html Like I mentioned in this post, this was more of a treatment just to create a page. It seems like there's some interest so I'll most likely do some preliminary sketches of characters and hammer out a plot. Mind if I resource you with UK questions here and there?

I was very deliberate to use reblogging only for special occasions, this is the one, great work!

Ah, man! Thank you @svamiva! Being reblogged is a huge honor for me. I'm the exact same way. Thanks so much!

Lovely work as always!

Have you read Space Mullet? It's one of my favourite web-comics!

Thanks @lukeofkondor! I haven't heard of that comic! Checking it out now. Thanks for sharing and the upvote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63580.05
ETH 3253.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91