Freedom - My entry for the #dailysketch - Desert Window GATE

in #art7 years ago (edited)

My tribute to the 20 minutes sketch challenge brought to you by @tonyr - link:

https://steemit.com/dailysketch/@tonyr/dailysketch-todays-theme-freedom-plus-winner-of-yesterdays-challenge

Today's theme is "FREEDOM"

Good day everybody!!

...Freedom!...How can you express freedom?.. Something so allusive, yet so real!..How can you possibly express it in a drawing?..Feeling...it's all about feeling..if you feel that you are free..then nobody can tell you that you aren't... so is freedom subjective or universal?

.. for me?... well I thought of a scene in "The English Patient" by Anthony Minghella where I just "feel" that connection of freedom. I love that movie, I think it is a cinematographic artwork.. an absolute masterpiece in my humble opinion, :)


thumbb.jpg

The scene is about an airplane flying over a sea of sand..


freedom2.jpg


This is the cover book that inspired making the movie and this post... I love it!

(so simple yet so powerful)

I knew right away I was going to sketch it but then I saw the same picture from slightly different angle..


86282376.jpg


the spaces on the sides of the book created a beautiful contrast .. It opened up a window for me ..like a window gate to freedom it literally sucks you in..can you feel it?


window.jpg


And now I could "define" freedom"... by "framing" it inside a window..!


elements.png


... with fluid or hollow elements such as the - light curtains by the lateral sides floating in the air, the - open sky above representing no limits/boundaries in contrast with the opposite solid/rigid element at the base of the window represented by the glass and bottle or even "You" (the eye of the observer) now you can define freedom ...on your own, uninfluenced, just take a sip of your favorite sparkling drink and tell me what you see/feel..


IMG_20170830_082027_Fotor.jpg


I must admit that in the beginning I thought of "Prince of Persia - the Sands of Times" reflecting the freedom of the prince in the gameplay wether running on walls or turning back the hands of time but then I thought I wouldn't be able to render a decent representation in 20 minutes so I turned the..

/// "sands.. in time!"\\

...this time...
;)

lol

hope you enjoyed this as I did making it and that you will have a drink at my window and enjoy your freedom..


@kingyus

Sort:  

This post recieved a vote from @minnowpond. For more information click https://steemit.com/steemit/@minnowpond/boost-your-rewards-with-minnowpond

You Are An Excellent Steemian. This post has received a 3.57 % upvote from @steemthat Return the favor and SteemThat Person Back: @binkley. SteemThatBotMoreIGrow .


Please Upvote This Comment To Help Me Grow!

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @kingyus. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @kingyus to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Excellent work yet again mate. Great explanation of your interpretation also. :)

Thanks @tonyr, I spent more time on writing the post explaining than drawing, it was fun though :))

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.
Check out the other content resteemed by @resteembot.
Some of it is really cool!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post has received a 4.00 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @kingyus. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

@kingyus got you a $1.25 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@kingyus got you a $1.25 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52