Sky Blue Art Constellation

in #art6 years ago


Hove Plinth Opens


On a similar day to this one, last year, we wandered down to the promenade, only to discover that there was a full blown party going on.

As is often the case, we had no idea this event was happening but were happy to stumble upon the opening of Hove Plinth. We'd been watching this being constructed throughout the winter and finally it was ready.

It is a community project run by the Hove Civic Society to showcase the best in modern day sculpture. Each major work will remain on the plinth for up to 18 months.

Constellation.jpg


This first exhibit is called "Constellation" and is by Jonathan Wright.

Apparently many local residents were involved in choosing the icons that appear on the sculpture which represent Hove, past and present.

Click on these links to find out more about each icon.





They are:

Beach Hut with Seagull
Cine Camera
Batsman
The Hove Ship
Elm Tree
Queen Victoria
Hove Amber Cup
Skateboarder
West Blatchington Mill


I've enjoyed seeing the sculpture in all sorts of weather, over the past year, but it was only last weekend that I noticed that it also rotates. We had really high winds which apparently was enough to turn it.

I've often remarked, in the past, that it was a shame that it wasn't designed to move but it seems that, until last weekend, I had just never seen it on a sufficiently windy day. 😁
~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sort:  

I love seeing fun sculptures.

As I was visually studying the first photo, I thought, that would be neat if it moved. THEN.... your description with your second photo said it DOES !

Yep. That was my first thought too @jacey.boldart but it took me the best part of a year to see that it actually does move. 😂

Thank you gillianpearce! You've just received an upvote of 49% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts



Please come visit me to see my latest report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting. Also, come read my latest report to learn about SteemAX! There's now a video tutorial avaiable for you to learn how to use SteemAX to generate more upvotes and gain more followers! If you like @ArtTurtle then you'll LOVE this!

Congratulations @gillianpearce! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63050.55
ETH 2622.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71