Ulog 21: How to Draw a Mandala

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Elizabeth Lawrence(2).jpg

I've been drawing mandalas today, and then I thought hey, this might be something my friends on Steemit might like to play with- so I photographed the making of one of them, and am going to break it down into steps so that you can have a play with drawing your own. Sound like fun? Of course it is!

Tools

You will need:

  1. A black pen
  2. A pencil
  3. An eraser
  4. A compass (or lots of round things to draw around!)
  5. A protractor (or a very good eye for dividing things up evenly!)
  6. A ruler
  7. A piece of paper
  8. Lots of patience and a sense of humour.

Right let's get started!

Divide Up You Paper

I've discovered that this is easier to do before you draw your circle. Start by finding the middle of the paper. Then divide it up into quarters with a horizontal line and then a vertical line running straight through the centre. Then, using your protractor - divide these sections again at the 45 degree angles.

Add some basic concentric circles as a guide- a small, a couple of medium and a large as the outer edge of your mandala. Remember, you can add in extra guide circles whenever you need them.

Add the Middle of Your Design

Petals, leaf shapes, geomoetric... whatever floats your boat, start adding your recurring patterns using the circular edges and cross points as guidelines. If you're not sure, add things in in pencil first and then ink them when you're happy.

Remember to keep all your pencil marks very light, as you'll be rubbing them out later!

Build Your Layers

Working from the centre of your design outwards, build in your layers, remebering to keep your line weight nice and even. Add small details as well as larger shapes. You can always go back in and add extra detail later if you decide you've left too much white space.

20180729_125636.jpg

20180729_130528.jpg

The fun of this is that you can just keep going until you've decided that you're done!

20180729_134702.jpg

20180729_135223.jpg

You'd know when it's ready - your eyes will relax when they look at it, rather than trying to work out what is missing!

Now it's time to gently erase those pencil marks.

20180729_140243.jpg

And you're done!

20180729_140944.jpg

Top Tips

  1. Make sure you measure your guide marks properly - it's the geometry which makes these designs come together!
  2. Don't be afraid to add as many pencil guides as you need as you go along
  3. If you're not sure of a pattern and whether it'll work, add it in in pencil first
  4. Be sure to give your ink time to dry - these pens will smudge! (especially if you use your eraser too soon!)
  5. Have fun, concentrate, and be patient!

Process Gif

Webp.net-gifmaker (1).gif


Hope you enjoyed this - let me see your versions in the comments ;)
Have a fab evening,
Eveningart x


EVENINGART.gif


Sources: all photos by yours truly

Sort:  

this is so beautiful!!!! I have watched people do these before and it always amazes me how they just know the next step! LOL i end up doing the same thing over and over again ... and it just ends up looking annoying hahahahaha

yours is beautiful! Just like you :)

Thank you my lovely! When I first started doing them, I did this long google search looking for different shapes and lines as inspiration so that I could incorporate lots of different bits and pieces... funny how we always revert back to habits and favourites... mine would end up all leaves and petals if I didn't watch out ;)

E xxx

you are so talented miss @eveningart!!!! I admire it so badly.. I have bought an adult coloring book with designs like yours! hahaha I dont have the time to sketch one but I do want to try one.. i love watching your GIF over and over again.. how i wish i had the time.

please continue to keep us inpired with your arts!!

Thank you so much - so glad you enjoyed the post (and the gif - goodness, I had issues making that work, lol!) They do take a little while to draw- but you can do it one bit at a time. But that's why colouring is so great isn't it, you can dip in and out of it around the kiddies.

E x

Oh yes.. i love watching how it was formed. It takes some love and patience.. by the way how many days did it took you to finish it?

And the gif i could just imagine haha but you did well!

Posted using Partiko Android

This took about an hour to draw... maybe 1.5 hours (I lose track of time!) E x

Wow! Only an hour?! You are really good at it.. i'll try to unleash back my artistic side haha it had been kept and put on hold! 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! I've seen some that are absolutely beautiful and I'm still learning them so mine are very basic- but so much fun! Yay- break out that artistic side!! E x

Oh really? But its already good! Im am in awe of your works..

Just yesterday I played with my pen because I got bord hahaha 🤣😂

Thank you, that's really lovely of you!
I loved your Ulog doodle- really nice style you have - and boredom is the best reason to pick up your pens! E x

howdy this fine Sunday @eveningart! well...I think it's going to be awhile before I attempt one of these, can't I just hire you to do it? lol. Seriously did you just do that off the top of your head? I mean, and I'm truly not blowing smoke here, but my god girl! that's beautiful! I'd buy it. lol.
super interesting post!

Hi Sir- yes very well thanks :)
It's easier than it looks, and a lot of fun - makes you take a deep breath and relax !
That's really kind of you - yes, the patterns are off the top of my head, but you do need the lined framework to get going on it.
Glad you like it!
E x

I loved that thing! I think you could easily sell those too!
another income stream until your first book comes out! lol.
God bless both you authors!

One day I might give this a go :) thanks for showing me how :D

Hiya, @andysantics48!!! ;)

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Thanks Andy - do give it a go, it's a lot of fun, and very addictive!
Let me know how you get on.
E x

Hi @eveningart, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EDT or 7PM EDT in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord. If I use the post, you earn a portion of the rewards.

Pimp Your Post Thursday is a live curation show where you get to know others and they you. You can promote your post or the post of someone you think needs more notice.

Thank you so much - such an honour to be included. I've had a blast this evening visiting the other posts you included- such a brilliant way to discover new content and creators to follow- thank you!

Hello @eveningart, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much, your support is very much appreciated- looking forward to hopping over and checking out the other work you support.

E x

This is wonderful! I love mandalas, and you did such a good job on this one! Thanks for showing us a step-by-step of how you construct them! 💛

Thanks very much - I so glad you liked it! I always admired them from afar, so was quite surprised by how simple they are to put together... though my pen work still needs a lot of work ;)

E x

Beautifully designed mandala, @eveningart. And excellent tutorial.

I agree with @janton. I hope you're selling these on Etsy, Amazon and your own membership site. The coloring market for adults is HUGE. Coloring every day is one of the things I suggest for my stressed out clients. ;)

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Thank you very much, I'm so glad you like it!
I don't sell these anywhere, just do them for some fun- but maybe I should think about designing some colouring mandalas for download :) - I have a couple of others on my Etsy shop, but oddly, I hadn't considered these!

Thanks so much for the feedback,
E x

Wonderful and you're very Welcome, @eveningart. Peeps are selling these every day on Etsy and I personally know a few who run membership sites getting paid every month to provide coloring sheets every week. I was to start one but haven't because of a few other projects I need to get going first.

Expanding your sales to a wider audience will be a huge Blessing for those who avail themselves of your coloring mandalas. I'll be cheering you on!!! ;)

Thank you - I'll definitely look into this further when things calm down for me a bit in the autumn. I had considered starting a colouring club subscription type thing on Patreon, as well as other art tutorials, so may revisit the idea then too.

Thank you for your cheering- very much appreciated ;)
E x

I enjoyed seeing how it all came together @eveningart... I agree colouring and, if I may add, also embroidery enthusiasts will enjoy designs like this :D

Thanks so much! Ooh I'd love to see it in the hands of an embroidery enthusiast!!
E x

I think I should ask my students to make a mandala.

Oh yes- definitely- and then do a post with all of the finished pieces ;)

I hope so. Thanks for this blog. We can be guided with this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68297.87
ETH 3746.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67