GAZEBO 002 : Reviving Overused Architectural Forms as Public Art

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Gazebo002_thumbnail.jpg

Gazebo 002 is part of an ongoing series in which I reimagine various commonplace architectural forms as sculptural public art installations.
To see related posts, follow the links at the bottom of the page

Gazebo Reimagined


We've been selling the gazebo short for decades. As an architectural concept, the gazebo has the potential for greatness – a small open-air structure on public land to provide a covered place to sit, to read, to have a picnic. A meeting place for neighbors. I would venture to say this world could use more of all of those things, and the gazebo is one of the only architectural forms that feels truly at home sitting in the middle of a park surrounded by trees.

standardgazebo.jpg

The standard gazebo form (Source 1)(Source 2)

After years of seeing the exact same shape in every park, both park-goers and designers have forgotten the gazebo for its original purpose. It has faded into the background and has ceased to inspire the community gathering and relaxation that is intended by its form. For this reason, I've set out to redesign and revive the gazebo in a series of public art installations. By transforming the standard form into something completely new, I'm hoping to tear the gazebo out of the background of our parks and bring it back to the forefront of our outdoor experiences. My goal is to provide a place for spontaneous happenings in the public space by inspiring conversation between strangers and encouraging creative interaction with the sculptural object I place before you. Thus, I present to you, Gazebo 002:

Gazebo002.jpg

GAZEBO 002

Design Parameters


Last week I explained my process of design by getting into the baseline version of my gazebo more fully. Gazebo 002 is just one of many future designs I plan to create, so I felt it was important to first create a baseline form from which all of my future gazebos designs can be shaped and modified:

00_180118_Gazebo_BASELINE3.jpg

Baseline version of the Gazebo

The baseline design was purposefully created as an enclosed form, that way the modifications for each gazebo design are centered around the act of creating an opening. Or, more appropriately, the act of taking an enclosed form and opening it to the public. In the case of Gazebo 002, I created the opening by splitting the dome in half and gradually fanning the arches away from each other.

Gazebo002_sketch.jpg

My initial sketch that inspired this design

I try not to limit myself too much in the design development stages, but by acknowledging and understanding the parameters that restrict certain aspects of construction, I believe the resulting designs can be improved not impeded by those restrictions. As of now, I've been thinking these gazebos would be constructed from square aluminum tubing, and one important fact that significantly effected my design process is that bending an aluminum tube in two dimensions is A LOT easier and less expensive than bending it in three dimensions.

2dvs3dbending.jpg

With that in mind, all the tweaks I made to the baseline design were restricted to two-dimensional bends. If I want to increase the chances of these designs actually being built in the real world, I figured it was important to design them in a way that made them actually feasible for construction (though admittedly, it would still be very expensive to construct). Instead of letting this diminish the design, I tried to use it as a strength.

Final Design


Gazebo002_360.gif

^ 360 view of Gazebo 002 digital model ^

180201_Gazebo_Fan_v3_renderlayers.jpg

^ Original rendering before modifying it in Photoshop ^

171121_Gazebo_Fan_v3_detail_small.jpg

^ Detail rendering ^

Gazebo002_Drawings-02.png

^ Front Elevation ^

Gazebo002_Drawings-03.png

^ Side Elevation ^

Gazebo002_Drawings-01.png

^ Above View ^

My greatest ambition with this public artwork is to design something that creates a sense of wonder in the onlooker. For now the designs will remain in the digital world as speculative concepts, but the hope is to one day be able to construct them in real life. I would hope that if you stumbled upon this structure in your neighborhood park you would feel the urge to approach it and take a step inside.


Related posts from this series:
Gazebo 001 | Gazebo Baseline
Monkey Bars 001 | Monkey Bars 002


Thanks for reading!
Please let me know what you think of this project in the comments below!


follow-erb.gif

Sort:  

I thought those were used for avoid sun, can you simulate a sun movement over it. Also entrance.. =\
[x] artistic
[_] usable

Thanks for the constructive criticism @oups! I disagree, respectively - I would say protection from the sun is just one of many purposes for a gazebo. I would put its function as a gathering place at the same level of importance, which I think this design still accomplishes. Also a gazebo already stands at a midpoint between public and private, so I think there's something to be gained from opening up the structure even more, even if more sun comes in as a result. But yeah, if you want to avoid the sun, you'd need to set up under one of the two sides. Unless it's noon, then get ready for some sun. ;)

I did wrestle with the idea of making the entrance bigger but decided I liked the idea of people having to maneuver through the middle slot, so the structure is more interactive. It's more than wide enough for people to fit through without much of a squeeze. Here's an older version I made with a wider entrance, what do you think? I didn't like it as much because it lost its symmetry.

Screen Shot 2018-02-02 at 5.08.27 PM.png

Both looks beautiful actually, I forget to mention that I'm not an architect, obviously :) I'm the one who crosses the street looking at gazebo and thinks that way..
*the old man trying to fix everything like it's broken. but it's not, it's beautiful.

Haha well I genuinely appreciate that kind of constructive feedback, so thanks!

not much words needed! astonishing work @erb!

.
.
s o g o o d !

Thanks @mintvilla!! I appreciate the support!

Ooh I definitely like no.2 better! It's more open and the resulting form of the bent arches is interesting and inviting. (You are a magician with these colours! That first render is such a treat to the eye) I actually like that I would have to slightly jump to get inside. I think that's an element of fun and I would definitely enjoy it!

Thanks so much @manouche! I'm glad this new one feels more inviting to you. Thanks for the feedback about the entrance (or lack thereof) too, I was curious what people would think of that detail.

I think this would be lovely in wooded/tropical areas where there is a natural canopy for very hot places. I did wonder about it out in the open in full sun in hot places, since gazebos have also functioned for shelter in rain or extreme sun. I recently read a sci-fi book where these open gazebo structures were part of a society's school system. There the sky was always white without direct sun. Love the lines of this for sure!

Thanks @thegalavantgirl! That sounds like an interesting book - I'm happy to hear the gazebo is having its return to importance in other works as well. And yeah I agree - it would probably fit best in a wooded area. I decided it was worth sacrificing the convenience of the shaded cover in order to create the sculptural form, but direct sun would be an issue in certain locations.

Another interesting Gazebo. I like how the project shifts the of the Gazebo shifts from a mundane shelter to an architectural monument.

Thanks @critday! That's definitely my goal :)

Nice post.I respect you very much because you contribute to steemit.I will do activities like you.I would like to extend the steemit.

Could you be more specific?? Is this a robot??

Nice work of art by you. I pray your dream of linking your work to humans (the interactions)
comes to reality

can we find it on Google sketchup? ^^

Ha maybe someday! I built it using Rhino so it might not open in SketchUp very well. ;)

Beautiful design and incredible detail! I just posted a new painting on my blog, feel free to check it out and tell me what you think :) https://steemit.com/art/@jennashermanart/original-oil-painting-bloom-by-jenna-sherman

Thanks @jennashermanart! Your work is really beautiful - I love your color palette.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57646.26
ETH 3029.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26