GAZEBO 001 : Reviving Overused Architectural Forms as Public Art

in #art7 years ago (edited)

180118_Gazebo_Unravel_v2_thumbnail_text.jpg

Gazebo Reimagined


We've been selling the gazebo short for decades. As an architectural concept, the gazebo has the potential for greatness – a small open-air structure on public land to provide a covered place to sit, to read, to have a picnic. A meeting place for neighbors. I would venture to say this world could use more of all of those things, and the gazebo is one of the only architectural forms that feels truly at home sitting in the middle of a park surrounded by trees.

Gazebos_373-A.jpg

The standard gazebo form (Source)

After a couple years of designing wacky public benches at Studio Jeppe Hein and seeing the power public art can have in bringing a community together, I've had the growing urge to design my own series of public structures. What I most connect with in Jeppe Hein's ideas is their lack of pretension – his artworks are easily accessible for people of all ages and backgrounds, and in that simplicity he has been able to reach an audience far beyond the incestuous bubble of the art world. He does this by taking a recognizable form, such as a public bench, and tweaking it just enough to make it more fun and interesting, while still leaving it functional for its intended purpose (somewhere to sit).

IMG_3407.jpg

One of the benches I designed at Studio Jeppe Hein
permanent installation in Copenhagen

I've been searching for ways to bring this inspiration into my own practice, reimagined and implemented through my own voice and style. I always had these public art aspirations even before working for Jeppe, but I was further inspired down this path after seeing the way the community responded to the benches and his other public projects.

I'm excited to share the first seeds of my ideas here on Steemit, in the form of a gazebo. I'm generally someone who hoards my projects until I feel they are fully resolved and completed, but in this case I'd like to share my ideas as they come to me, with the understanding that they may still require some further critique and refinement. Thus, I present to you, Gazebo 001:

180118_Gazebo_Unravel_v2_sig.jpg

GAZEBO 001

Design Parameters


Later this week I'll break down my process of design by presenting my baseline version of the gazebo more fully. Gazebo 001 is just one of many future designs I plan to create, so I felt it was important to first create a baseline form from which all of my future gazebos designs can be shaped and modified:

00_180118_Gazebo_BASELINE3.jpg

Baseline version of the Gazebo

The baseline design was purposefully created as an enclosed form, that way all the modifications for all my gazebo designs are centered around the act of creating an opening. Or, more appropriately, the act of taking an enclosed form and opening it to the public. In the case of Gazebo 001, I created the doorway by cutting the extrusions at a certain height and bending them away from each other, like peeling a banana.

I try not to limit myself too much in the design development stages, but by acknowledging and understanding the parameters that restrict certain aspects of construction, I believe the resulting designs can be improved not impeded by those restrictions. As of now, I've been thinking these gazebos would be constructed from square aluminum tubing, and one important fact that significantly effected my design process is that bending an aluminum tube in two dimensions is A LOT easier and less expensive than bending it in three dimensions.

2dvs3dbending.jpg

With that in mind, all the tweaks I made to the baseline design were restricted to two-dimensional bends. If I want to increase the chances of these designs actually being built in the real world, I figured it was important to design them in a way that made them actually feasible for construction (though admittedly, it would still be very expensive to construct). Instead of letting this diminish the design, I tried to use it as a strength.

Final Design


The design for Gazebo 001 plays with the act of peeling and unraveling. The entire enclosure appears to have been peeled open one aluminum extrusion at a time by a very determined individual.

Gazebo001_small.gif

360 view of Gazebo 001 digital model

180118_Gazebo_Unravel_v2_render2.jpg

Original rendering before modifying it in Photoshop

Drawings-03.jpg

Gazebo 001 Side Elevation

Drawings-02.jpg

Gazebo 001 Front Elevation

Drawings-01.jpg

Gazebo 001 Above View

My goal with this public artwork is to design something that creates a sense of wonder in the onlooker. I would hope that if you stumbled upon this structure in your neighborhood park you would feel the urge to approach it and take a step inside.


Thanks for reading!
Please let me know what you think of this project in the comments below!


follow-erb.gif

Sort:  

First, I love the process. The idea of taking a regular piece of public furniture and tweaking it a bit to make it an object that draws people to it. I also really like the idea of someone stripping the gazebo layer by layer.

I'm not so sure if I would step into it if I stumbled across it in my neighbourhood park. To me it feels a bit cagey. I know you said that the baseline was purposefully an eclosed structure but I'm not sure if the peeling and unraveling worked beyond a sculptural idea to invite me into it. I'm not sure how much I would like being inside of it.

It would catch my attention, that's for sure. Would I step in? I don't know.

Thanks so much for the response @manouche! This is exactly the type of constructive criticism I was hoping to receive by sharing my work on Steemit. I definitely know what you mean about the structure being a little cagey - I've been playing with the idea of spacing the pillars out more so more light can come in. I've also been thinking about adding the "peeling" effect to other areas on the structure so the whole gazebo can feel a little more open.

On the flipside, however, since this is just one in a series of designs, I think there could be something interesting about some of these designs being more closed-off and uncomfortable than others. The same question always came up with the bench designs - how wild should they get, and is it too wild if they are impossible to sit on? I think it would be a big problem if all of these gazebos made you and other onlookers feel too intimidated to enter, but maybe it's fun if a couple of these designs remain fairly closed off and uncomfortable. I'm sure some people would find more comfort in them being very open and some would find more comfort in them being more private and closed-off. Anyway, just throwing out ideas - thanks for reading through my post and for giving your feedback!

yes, it would be interesting to basically create these objects so people can experiment with their feelings and emotions when coming into contact with your works. That's the beginning of art...

Agreed @gulugu! Thanks for stopping by

Your photos and writeup were excellent

Nice new way of thinking this public furniture. Where I live, gazebo is another thing, a sort of white plastic tent in front of the house to protect car from the winter. Each house has this giant garbage bag... I hope a designer'll find a solution about it. Off topic... Great to follow your creative process.

Ha thanks @heroldius! I didn't know gazebo can have another meaning - that definitely sounds like something that also needs a redesign!

Yeah and it is urgent :-)

This is awesome. I like how the design draws you inside, and then offers enough privacy to make you feel like you're not completely exposed, but also not completely trapped. Very cool!

Thanks @jeffbernst! I'm glad the balance of open/closed feels right for you.

Wow, this is so cool, what tools do you use for this?

Thanks @alvinauh! I used a 3d modeling program called Rhino to build the gazebo and make the renderings, and then I brought the renderings into Photoshop to fix them up and make them prettier.

I recently tried out Rhino from @voronoi's BlockTown but only beginner mode. Totally love it.

I would 100% step in and/or climb it! More urban furniture, more urban playground.

Thank you @critday, glad to hear it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57112.10
ETH 2405.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28