You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: GAZEBO 002 : Reviving Overused Architectural Forms as Public Art

in #art6 years ago

I thought those were used for avoid sun, can you simulate a sun movement over it. Also entrance.. =\
[x] artistic
[_] usable

Sort:  

Thanks for the constructive criticism @oups! I disagree, respectively - I would say protection from the sun is just one of many purposes for a gazebo. I would put its function as a gathering place at the same level of importance, which I think this design still accomplishes. Also a gazebo already stands at a midpoint between public and private, so I think there's something to be gained from opening up the structure even more, even if more sun comes in as a result. But yeah, if you want to avoid the sun, you'd need to set up under one of the two sides. Unless it's noon, then get ready for some sun. ;)

I did wrestle with the idea of making the entrance bigger but decided I liked the idea of people having to maneuver through the middle slot, so the structure is more interactive. It's more than wide enough for people to fit through without much of a squeeze. Here's an older version I made with a wider entrance, what do you think? I didn't like it as much because it lost its symmetry.

Screen Shot 2018-02-02 at 5.08.27 PM.png

Both looks beautiful actually, I forget to mention that I'm not an architect, obviously :) I'm the one who crosses the street looking at gazebo and thinks that way..
*the old man trying to fix everything like it's broken. but it's not, it's beautiful.

Haha well I genuinely appreciate that kind of constructive feedback, so thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66593.69
ETH 3319.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71