Original Oil Painting "Bloom" time lapse and process by Jenna Sherman

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Just because something good dies, doesn't mean something beautiful won't bloom. Many things in my young life have reached an end; love, relationships, friendships, opportunity, dreams. Though, through all of the disappointment and heartache, I keep my head held high and find the beauty in these moments because everything happens for a reason. This painting represents this for me. 

Below you can see my process and time lapse video. This piece took me a few months to complete, I used only oil paint and a pallet knife to spread on the paint, giving it a very thick texture. I am drawn towards very vibrant colors, and some say the skull resembles me and my blue hair :). I hope you'll enjoy, and please feel free to share your input and questions! 


Bloom, oil on canvas 36"x36", 2017

Time Lapse : 


Process: 

First, I start out with a rough sketch, I always like to paint the entire canvas before I draw because a blank canvas can be quite daunting. Also, getting the base color helps you create the right colors for the imagery and focal point of the painting. 


Next, I drew in the peonies. I did them in white so I didn't get the lines confused with the skull. I sometimes draw designs that I cover up by the end of the painting. Just exploring all of the possibilities and having fun with it. 


I got through a lot of the skull at this point, just layering and overlapping different shades of blue and green with a pallet knife. 


Lastly, I completed the flowers. This process seemed to be a little bit more tricky for me to get the right definition and contrast between the petals. But, after trial and error I soon figured out the right color pallet. 


Thank you for stopping by my blog, and I hope you enjoyed the process and explanation of one of my favorite paintings I've done, "Bloom". 


I have prints available of this piece on my website JennaShermanArt.com/shop , 12"x12" or 20"x20". 

xx,

Jenna


If you'd like to see more, follow my Instagram's and check out my website: 

JennaShermanArt.com

@JennaShermanArt

@cruxmyheart

Sort:  

Wow it is really good. Keep it up my friend.

It's beautiful your painting, I love to see so much talent on this platform :)

Oh, wow, you are kickass-great in your expression! 💜 I love the story, the idea, and definitely the execution! Start posting on Dtube, and you'll go far on these platforms!
Happy to meet you!
Kate

Also, currently my dream is to switch to oil paints (I just have to buy all the supplies A-Z). Maybe do an article on painting with oil? I'd love to hear your opinion, tips and tricks!

thank you! and great suggestions! I'd love to do a tutorial on painting with oil! I'll do that soon former :)

This is freaking stunning!! I generally love the combination of skulls and flowers but this takes it to a whole new level! And the time-lapse video reveals your magic and makes the artwork even more magnificent!! Can't wait to see more of your work!

Thanks so much!!

Wow, love that time lapse video, this painting is beautiful. The color combinations look great, the detail is awesome and the depth in the eye sockets is perfect. Super nice! And I also love your outfits in the speed paint!! You have killer style!

Thank you so much! <3 great feedback

This is fantastic, I have added you to my weekly curation post: Ocean of Art!

thank you! I gave it a resteem <3 xx

Dear Artist ! FineArtNow is a new place for artists on Steemit ! Become our friend ! See you soon !

Gave you a follow! Would love a resteem if you can :) xx

Wow! This is beautiful--so colorful and striking. I absolutely love that you have created a time-lapse for this and other projects. I’m brand-new here but I’ve been hearing a lot about d.tube and I feel like you should totally post your videos there and make extra money from them because they are truly amazing! :) Followed and can’t wait to see more.

Thank you! Definitely going to sign up on D-tube! I appreciate the suggestion.

Hey! Friendly circle around to say I loved this so much I featured you in this little write up I did today for part of a writing bootcamp I’m a part of. :) Best wishes for all your endeavors here!

Wow! How long does it take for such picture? I have never tried to paint with oil. In the same place it is necessary that one layer dries out, then the next one ... does it take long?

This piece took me probably a total of 50 hours or more. It took me a while because I worked on it off and on for a few months. I didn't wait for each layer to dry because with this kind of style I would just smear the paint on with a pallet knife, no blending at all .

You work magic with these colours!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45