My progress so far | Drawing with Colored Pencils

in #art7 years ago

In under two weeks, I managed to draw seven works using colored pencils. 

The first time I used colored pencils (not counting as a kid, OK? haha) was last February. I honestly didn't know what I was doing. It has been a long time since I last drew then, the last time was September 2016. The last time wasn't even a portrait.

That was before Steemit. A few weeks after being in Steemit, I decided to try my hand again with drawings. Using the colored pencils that one of my best friends sent me as a birthday gift from last year.

"A good calligrapher doesn't need to choose his pens."

I'd been using the Faber-Castell 24 classic colour pencils since Steemit. I was a bit apprehensive to use it at first, because I have zero knowledge with traditional coloring! I was so used with digital drawings that coloring with colored pencils (or any other traditional media) has become an overwhelming challenge.

What I noticed when I first used the colored pencils was how I couldn't seem to find my "own style." The drawings lacked vibrance. I thought I was doing it wrong, so I watched artists draw with colored pencils. They were so good! I felt like the speck I am in this ginormous universe.

But. I found out that they were using a different kind of colored pencils called Faber-Castell polychromos, which are oil-based. And they're expensive. Gasp! ...really expensive.

But I held my ground. Because, like one of my favorite anime characters said:

"A good calligrapher doesn't need to choose his pens."
- Fuji Syusuke, Prince of Tennis

I'll be a good artist - I promised this to myself many times. Regardless of media, I will always try.  

FC Polychromos
Source

The Progress

Below are my fanarts for TWICE Momo (the first one I drew with colored pencils) and BLACKPINK Lisa. My strokes then were very, very light. I wouldn't even bother with the white spaces, even when they indeed bother me. To my surprise, however, the BLACKPINK fanart earned itself a curie upvote! Yay!


TWICE Momo Fanart (18FEB2017) | BLACKPINK Lisa Fanart (13JUL2017)

Next up, my sister @arrliinn just basically challenged me to join the Learn to Draw with Friends contest by @tonyr. And challenged, I was. The theme then was animals, and I hated (strong word, but nothing could ever be truer in my case) drawing animals. Even Pokemon. And Digimon. And Hello Kitty. @arrliinn just literally commanded me to draw the lion. The lion! After drawing it, I named the drawing THE Lion. It will be the only lion I will ever draw in my entire life. 😂

Then I drew GOT7's Mark, because I was addicted to K-pop and to GOT7. It was the first time I learned to document my drawing process. 

But the problem was still there. My strokes were too light. They lack vibrance, they lack layers of colors. The strokes were too visible and messy - the drawings looked rough.


THE Lion (14JUL2017) | GOT7 Mark (15Jul2017)

Then came the new theme for the #ltdwf contest. It was Doctor Who. I love Doctor Who (or maybe it was just Matt Smith, but he will forever be my fav doctor). So I tried my hand again. I decided to add many layers of color. I filled in the white spaces to the best of my abilities. I used white colored pencil in the attempt for a better blending. I used grey to desaturate the colors. 

It looked better. I found my weakness, and I tried to fix them. Still not my best, but I want to think that I'm getting there.

I tried again. I tried the techniques I used on my very own self-portrait. It worked well, to my surprise. Especially around the skin and the eyes. Then I found another weakness - the hair. (Despite the hair-problem, I'm proud to say that this earned another curie upvote. Yay!)


Doctor Who (17JUL2017) | Self-Portrait (20JUL2017)

Cue more weakness. By continuing with the other categories in the #ltdwf contest, I found more weakness.

  1. I'm still crappy at technical drawing. When I was in high school, I had a drafting class. My classmates thought I would do well, but I didn't. 😂 I would never be a successful architect. LOL.
  2. Choosing the right colors is still challenging. And I don't think it will ever be easy.


The TARDIS (19JUL2017) | The Dalek (22JUL2017)

I learned...

...to sharpen my pencils. It's not bad to sharpen the pencils every once in a while. In fact, I found that sharpening them actually helps a big deal in making the colors more vibrant. It also helps fill in the smaller white spaces in the drawing for a smoother look.

...to color in small, uniform, and circular strokes. This is to avoid the stringy parts in coloring. This proves to be really difficult, however, when there is a large expanse of space to color.

...to desaturate. Especially when the colors come off too bright, it's OK to desaturate the colors by using neutral colors (I learned to use grey for this one). 

...that I still have long, long way to go.

Sort:  

Wow girl- you've got serious talent!! Great drawings here! I can't wait to see more :)

@jaymorebeet, @erangvee definitely got her talents from her elder sister. 😂😅😂😅 (ehem, ehem. Hahaha)

wait WHAT?! hahaha you guys are killing me!!! Worlds colliding!!

Haha. Steemit becoming a small world eh?!

All the walls are closing in on me!! Ahhhh!!!

Thank you, @jaymorebeet! 😊 I'll definitely do my best improving more. Thanks for dropping by. 😊💕

Congratulations @erangvee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You really did a good progress, if you keep working this way you'll do better and better!

Thank you for your kind words, @airmatti! 😊 That means a lot.

Yes, the more you draw the better you get, and the better you get, the more details you'll apply in your drawings, and the longer it takes. You came a long way @erangvee . I can see that through your art. You're getting better and better with each passing day. A sensational artist.

That is so true! This post just made me realize that yes, I did come a long way. Thank you! 😊

These are brilliant!! @erangvee :) Fantastic job <3

This is a really late reply @aishwarya, but just wanted to say thank you so much! 😊

Though I am more of the traditional pen drawing artist, I am intrigued with the pencil colour you just detailed here so perfectly.
Would probably try it later.

You could try chalk pastel though...

I look forward to seeing your color pencil work! 😊 Also, I might try chalk pastels again. I did try before, but I was too young to even properly use it. 😂 (My works with chalk pastels before were very smudgy that I quite LOL).

I think in the case of chalk pastel, you have to work with layers and you need to have a fixative for constant fixing.

OMG! Great job!
Keep working, You're amazing! :D

Thank you so much @fole! ❤️️ Will do my best. 😊

Definitely expensive... but hey! Let's trust Fuji-senpai... :)
And TBH, your coloring is really amazing. :)
I'm a fan! ^_^

I'm using Faber-Castell myself, but the Watercolour ones... since I love painting more than anything.. haha... <3

HAHAHAHA. I was floored to see the 120 costs around 12k. Besh, 100 per pencil? 😂😭 But yes, let's trust Fuji-senpai... another hubby. 😂

I did try painting... but I kinda always end up messing the work up hihi. And yes!! I think I saw one of your works with FC Watercolor. I really don't know how it works 😭

Grabe!! super expensive... xD
Anither same hubby.. lol... first anime character I fought for from my bestie... We usually have different hubbies... ww

It was actually a gift from one of my students who believed in my potential as an artist... char... xD anyway, it can be used as both, you just had to brush it up with water after you applied the color.. hihi~

Si Fuji talaga yung tipo na ipinaglalaban... HAHAHAHAHAHA. 😂 #malala LOL.

Yes, ma'am! Didn't know you teach! Awesommmme. 💕 I tried using watercolor pencil once... but the colors didn't spread when brushed huhu. Or ako lang yun.

hahaha... no kidding! kelangan hatiin si senpai, horizontally... jkjkjk~

Haha... 2nd profession.. Nurse ung first pero d q ngamit ung license q.. haha.. For now online ESL aq ngtteach... gusto q kasi ng flexible time.. :) Haha... akala q rn ganyan nung first, pero narealize q gumana pala.. xD

This is a wonderful post @erangvee! You are hyper-critical of your skills to say the least. I would be thrilled to be able to produce anything half as good as the work you have on display! :) You are a phenomenal artist my friend and I am so glad to have you enter the contest with your excellent work. Thank you so much and thanks for adding another great post to steemit! :)

Thank you so much @tonyr! 😊

Congratulations @erangvee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75