Paper Mache - Trullas

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Have you ever made figures or figurines out of paper mache? I did and I watched the first ones I made crack in the long run. I used to make a lot of them back in the Philippines and they are either in the shape of cats, dogs or birds. I used old newspapers, glue and puny bleached seashells to make them look prettier. It works but it still doesn't look very appealing. That was back then, these days, making paper mache has taken itself to the next level.

On the way to the gate of Schloss Moyland on the same day of the Weihnachtmarkt there that day, I bumped into Trullas. These trullas are the works of art of another German artist Antje Bendfeldt. Her booth was crowded so I had to wait till it clears up. It was a long wait that I even got to take pics of other things around her booth. She was with her husband and just when it started drizzling, her booth finally cleared up.

I asked - are these made of paper? She replied;"Yes." I guessed she was the artist and she told me it's her and her hub, too. He helps. I put aside my cup of warm choco-milk carefully as I was worried not to spill them and asked if I could write about them here in Steemit. Nobody there seem to know Steemit. Anyway, they both said yes - so there.

So I checked out her trullas and found out they have names themselves. Like Mari Lin up there on the first pic. She's on the way to her hair dresser. She does need some hair care doesn't she? This is Olivia, she loves Italy! Those are the trullas I took the pictures of first because I relate to them. Not that I need hairdressing, my hair is fine. However, women on the bike looks so free and care free and though I never shall ride one again, I love those trullas on them.

When I saw the word "trullas" I was thinking - "True Las" well, Antje actually meant - "A trulla is a woman who loves life, confident in her style, generous, never quiet, funny and colorful, someone who wears leoprints and polkadots (sounds like my pajamas) - in other words someone FUN and never boring." Are you that? Then, you're a trulla!

Though her trullas are full bodied it doesn't mean you need to be that to be a trulla. Are you a fun woman? Then you are a trulla, find one which you can relate. Are you generous? Then you must be one of these angel trullas.

Are you a good friend or cook? Then these two trullas just chilling out loving life must represent you. What I like about these two (specially these two) are the details on them. Those red hair made of fiber - how did Antje pull that off? The nail polishes on their toes did you notice them? I prefer my nails naked as they are, I never used nail polish on them but hey, it doesn't mean I can't appreciate details such as this - about being a lad - translated to a paper mache you know?

Plus those made up faces and the high- noses. Did your eyes catch the frogs? Such teeny tiny details - must have taken days for me to finish such fine craftsmanship but for Antje - it must have been a piece of cake. The details on the dress of these two lasses - I love the pastel and the choice of light colors - it gives these trullas an endearing effect. These are Fräulein Klara and her friend.

There are so many trullas, one that loves gardening, swimming and sauna, cooking, cats, yoga, shopping - every kind of a fun woman you can think of, Antje has a version of a trulla for them. I guess, I was drawn to check her booth out since I like colors and like this fridge sticker I bought as a reminder - to always have fun.. I can relate to the text written on it.

They don't just have paper mache trullas. They've got them printed, too. I got me this card that says; "Cake is God's excuse for broccoli." cause though I love broccoli, I could send this to a friend in the Philippines who eats more meat than veggies. I chose this among the many other trullas on print cause this reminds me of our friendship. She is one of the very few of my best friends who is never boring and somehow the third one is one of those Korean moms we got so close to who despite the years that has gone after she has gone back to Korea - she has somehow, kept us close and in touched. She might get to read this and it would no longer be a surprise to her - since I've been inviting her to share her interesting stories here in Steemit but - at least she knows why I got it for her. The bearing of those trullas are very much like us. In a sense - except for the high noses. Anyway, she has to know the rest of the whys. One thing's sure, I miss her company specially on holidays like this.

I ran my fingers on them to really make sure that they are paper - they are but I can't tell, they are too smooth and glossy but then a spray paint must have done the job and a glossy craft paint. To make it this smooth without a crack and have an even finish, I'm guessing some high quality glue had been used or any wet adhesive must have been used to bathe each of them figures then let dry and polished with a sand paper. As for those faces, there are molds of faces you could just buy to make paper mache these days. Nevertheless, it takes talent and a great lot of patience to come up with such results. Lovely, women can relate to it and very, very endearing. The choice of colors for their outfits is what I like the most - light, very bright and positive. It exudes a certain aura of happiness, I couldn't help but gosh about them deep inside and smile at each of them. There's one thing that was missing for that trulla - a trullo. I wonder if she and her hub would ever come up with that.

Now, I wonder, are you a trulla? Which trulla are you?

I took the rest of the pics myself using my Samsung Galaxy A3 2016.



disclaimer: This post is intended to promote artists who have out of the box creations - plain as that.



Here you can find other articles I wrote about artworks, creativity, crafts and ingenuity.



I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME @

Sort:  

Wowsers, these are impressive. My paper mache was like yours I think. Glue and old bus of stuff which cracked and looked awful eventually!

@meesterboom and molds right? Later I used salt to the mixture but eventually even if I painted them back then - they darkened. Too humid in the Ph.

Same here only it's not so humid just damp!

Hi @englishtchrivy
Well, I can't be a Trulla, as I am a man, but I love them. The detail is amazing! The Vespa on which Olivia rides is even a bit rusted and dirty, like you said, there is an amazing amount of detail in these figures.

@rynow hahaha
then you are a trullo? :D
oh, I didn't know it's a Vespa thanks for that
yes, they gave that Vespa a vintage look indeed

These are absolutely incredible @englishtchrivy!!!
I love the 2 ladies holding frogs with their red painted toenails. Absolutely , hilarious because you just know that these 2 ladies exist in real life somewhere.
Thanks for posting this incredible paper mache art.

@rebeccaryan thanks
I took their pics cause they remind me of women just hanging out, chillin' somewhere :)

Yes, I can think of 1/2 a dozen women I know that these characters remind me of...in body shape and character. They are easy to relate to and that makes them super-fun.

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy. Just fabulous little dolls and on scooters as well. Too cute..... Appreciate all the photos and commentary. They are darling.

All the best to you and yours. Happy Christ-mas

Here's hoping you have snow.....

@bleujay thank you <3!
we're waiting :) it's cold but sunny these days, I guess we're too flat in NL the snow melts in the air before they fall
as for these trullas they're ...wunderschön ... zeer schön ^ ^ !

I remembered seeing something like that long time ago. Thought this could be long lost art.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50