My Singularity piece for Art Explosion Week 42: No Theme.

in #art6 years ago

My piece: "The Match" is both in my Singularity series and made with the intent of sharing it in @juliakponsford wonderful #artexplosion contest.

july6art.jpg

The linework sketch layout before adding colour and detail:
robotheadbutterflysketch1.jpg

At this final sketch stage I was considering having the subject's gaze at the viewer. I thought it pulled one in. I also toyed with it looking up to the butterfly bot. I finally decided to make it as shown in the final piece, with the human eye looking in wonder whilst the android eye penetrates the viewer.

I came to this by accident, as when painting out the robot eye, it simply became more colourful and by thus the iris sat a bit lower in the white of the eye, giving it this gaze out of the painting. It wasn't until I really stood back and saw it the next day that I realized what I had done.

It gave me a bit of a chill and I thought, "Yes, happy accident! It's staying!"

I also liked the ambiguity that might occur in the story of this piece. One might consider the character is simply discovering the little butterfly bot because of the light. Whilst one could also easily argue the light is the creation of the butterfly bot by the figure.

Who can say? Well YOU can say, as the viewer.

That's what I love about Story and Art: You make a scenario, it might change whilst you yourself create it and then other's will see their own in viewing it.

I might include this character in a larger more involved Singularity piece, but chose a close up more consice subject specifically so I could work on it over the 2 weeks alloted for @juliakponsford contest.

The truth is I'm not entering to win, but in a way as an homage to the wonderful work that @juliakponsford does do for the artist community here on steemit.

Her #artexplosion contest as well as her wonderful curated posts sharing the amazing work of other artist/musicians/writers on here is exemplary.

I only really began my Steemit journey January of this year, though I joined the previous Summer. It wasn't until my New Year's resolution to join as many art contests as I could each week that I really considered what Steemit really was. It was by joining these types of contests and challenges that not only had me interacting with other artists, but began to show me what this platform was really capable of: A sort of salon of online creatives sharing their passion and then actually interacting about it. It's why I'm still here today.

In fact, it was such contests as #artexplosion that led me to my own renewed love of my own artwork.

My passion for the figure has been rekindled, as I find new ways to express my own joy in painting and creating the figure and animals and a new found surreal world. Seeing so many amazing artists and other artistic talents in writing, music, and so on really spurs on one's imagination.

Being an introvert by nature and by choice, isolation can stagnate one a bit.

Steemit has opened up more views into other's studios to me within the joy of my own seclusion and even has me itching to get out and find meetups myself.

And that's why I really wanted to make a work for this weeks (well 2 week) #artexplosion challenge. And as the theme was open I was able to still work on my own current body of work in my series and also feel I am also paying homage to a great steemit challenge and a wonderfully talented fellow steemian in our #steemitvillage: @juliakponsford.

It is too late to join this contest this week, but check out @juliakponsford on the daily and you'll see the next contest as well as her own amazing creation.

I hope you have a creative day and if you find the time enter at least one contest or challenge on Steemit; be it for photography, music, art, craft, food, you name it there are challenges and contests. You won't regret it as it will open you up to so many other's who share your passion and meet some great people along the way.


If you like my posts please upvote, resteem, and by all means comment, I love comments!


Check out my other posts:


Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

I like this contradiction of her "innocent" human face and "fierce" robot! Brilliant picture! :D

Thank you, I love when things like this happen as I am creating. I mean much of my 'story' can unfold whilst painting and creating a thing. I'm glad you like it.

  1. What you plan to make, 2) what you actually make, 3) how you interpret it and 4) what other see and 5) how they interpret it. There's so many layers in art! I love it <3 Thanks for sharing this, it really shows an interesting part of the proces that happens in creating...

That's why I love art both making and experiencing it. The subtleties and intricacies of story-line and interpretation and just plain old enjoyment or even unsettling. A feeling is derived in some sense and that is such a visceral thing and why I think Art really is important to all. It really has no boundaries either, any language, culture, etc can feel a thing in their gut and viscera.

Nicely done, always enjoy the work of a fellow introvert.

It's great we introverts can chat so much more now, thank you computers and internet :)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Hi donnadavisart,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so kindly, I am really honoured. It's nice to get such a vote when one has put so much work into the piece and I love that @curie is human reviewed. I know I love to read and self curate as well, it's such an important part of our wonderful Steemit platform. Thank you again.

Those eyes did/do amaze me. The first look, was a true 'yowza', as they are splitting in different diretions. Great 'find' in the world of artistic creation and procedure. Love when that happens, the joyous mistake. "I MEANT to do that". -Peewee Herman
It is amazing how spending time only with oneself can lead to what I call 'the muddy puddle', and we sometimes need outside influx to get things on a normal keel once more. I go back and forth, between introvert and extrovert. And have had times in life that were spent alone a lot. You get a lot done, but it can be hard at times to come up with new ideas sometimes. At least when stuck in THIS head over this way.

Enjoyed this piece very much. And thanks for the shout-out about @juliakponsford, I'm checking out her site. Always like to find new folks. I never seem to branch out enough. Too busy with life, writing, creating and voting and commenting. Where DOES the day go. Away, DD, away. -dda
Well, hope your rest of Sunday is a nice one. Cheerio(s)

I love it, a peewee herman quote. In many ways I feel like some of my days are taking place in Pee Wee's playhouse :)

It's true, you can be very productive, but it's good to break the concentration and solitary existence with other views and concepts and ideas. I think the growth of internet living has, actually, made me a bit more of a 'physical space' hermit whilst increasing my interactions with others more in the 'digital space'. There might be a post in there, and probably an accompanying illustration.

Yes, I like to give shout outs to others I follow and I probably don't do it enough. We can get focused on our own stuff often here on Steemit, but we are a community a #steemitvillage. I made that tag but have not made any specific posts using it yet. I think I'm still ruminating on what it should be.

I hope your Sunday was fine as well. I had meant to post yesterday, even laid out the photos for my garden post, but I had to do my cottage and I have more guests tomorrow so was busy preparing for them here and of course drawing time, there has to always be drawing time :) Cheery pip.

If I might say, this may become my favorite off all by now @donnadavis. That happy accident is amazing, but nor sure if it was accident, more to think it's your amazing imagination and knowledge came out in this one. Also your Singularity story is growing and becoming real mature work.

Thank you @jungwatercolor. It is definitely a growing saga in my daily thoughts. I am finding it an intriguing view in which to make art, that is for sure.

Man, i still can't believe you made this. Wow you're amazing @donnadavisart

You're so kind, thank you.

you have talent. I liked your art

This is amazing... Loved it.. Loved the colors in your sketches.. <3 @donnadavisart

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. I forgot to share my watercolour study of it, but I've been loving moodier colours lately to balance just some bolts of bright flashes of colour.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75