Nina's University Sketchbook, Vol 1

in #art6 years ago (edited)

2005 was the year that I graduated high school, and made the move to a university in a whole new city and country - Toronto, Canada! But before we travel up there to see my newfound obsession in drawing celebrities doing silly things, I have one more drawing from high school which I'd like to share which will clarify all my comments about how my senior year of high school was so complicated. Actually I've put that drawing second, because I want to have a different thumbnail (sorry it's out of order).

Byrne Brain

Byrne Brain
Photoshop
In university I drew CONSTANTLY! My last two years of high school was a helluva lot of drawing, too, but it was focussed on animation and movies rather than singular pieces of art. But when I got to university I only brought my laptop and my tablet, my prismacolour pencil set and a sketchbook. Once I settled in, I got a large format vellum paper book and a whole whack of pens and pencils to add to my art supplies.

My subjects? Well, mostly celebrities that I liked. David Byrne was one of the "regulars" in my artwork for a while, so here's one portrait of him that I did and I really like.

Nowhere To Go

Nowhere To Go
Ink, Watercolour
Quick travel back to high school for this one. Earlier in the school year, one of my best friends, who was LGBTQ and made it obvious from the way she presented herself, started getting some particularly vitriolic hate vandalism on her locker. Our circle of friends did our best to be supportive - we were all so confused as to where it came from because it was pretty out of character for our school, not to mention the SF Bay area in general which was one of the most progressive areas in North America (if not the planet!) - the mayor of San Francisco had just briefly made same-sex marriage legal in the city in 2004, thwarting the federal government and even California's backwards laws, even.

Anyway, the hate vandalization escalated. It would show up scratched into her car, on her lockers - her house got egged, and it just got worse and worse. The police were heavily involved. Eventually the events got onto news- we organized an anti-hate vigil and got the whole school involved, and there was a lot of love, support, time, and attention thrown at her for months. Our lives, mine in particular as she frequently needed a place to stay because she was afraid to go home sometimes, revolved around her for our entire senior year.

One day, near the end of the school year, I got a voicemail from her: "so.. I guess you saw the paper. And I want to say I'm sorry. If you want to talk, give me a call." Freaked out, I ran to get a copy of the local paper - which reported in a front page story that the victim of a long series of hate crimes at the high school turned herself over to police, admitting it was all self-inflicted.

Naturally our friend circle was in complete shock. We felt so betrayed. We hated what she did to us, to the school and other LGBTQ people around the school, and we really hated how far back it pushed the cause for all her selfishness.

So this drawing tries to convey how I felt during that period. I couldn't wait for high school to end, which was shitty (pardon my french) because I loved every minute of my high school experience. She nearly ruined all of it for me. We were such close friends and it's still hard to think back to the good times because she was always there.

Before The Show

Before The Show
Ink
Fast forward back to a mostly happier time, my new life in Toronto. I was listening to a lot of the Cure, among other things... really I listen to so much music I could probably say that about a lot of bands than seems realistic, lol! Anyway, here's Robert Smith getting ready for a show in a unique bathroom.

Ornithorhynchus anatinus

Ornithorhynchus anatinus
Graphite pencil
This is a large piece - and it's hard to see on this not-so-great photo, but Hugh Laurie God here is deciding where to place one of the universe's strangest creations: a platypus. Hmm.. He thinks it appropriate to put one more weird animal to add to the weird animal collection down in Australia.

There's an odd collection there for you! I sincerely hope you enjoy them and check back next Sunday for more archival drawings from Nina's collection!

DEROSNEC

WebsiteYoutubeFacebookTwitterInstagramSpotifySoundcloudBandcampMusicoinSociety6Threadless

Art, Music, Movies, Media
Join the Uncensored

Sort:  

Your drawings are so neat! I loved them all. I am drawing as well as a hobby, but I am not that good as you. Not even by far! lol

Thanks for stopping by! I'm glad you enjoy them :D

don't forget that "good" is all relative - it all comes down to the story you're telling in the drawing. I'd say, even if the drawing isn't good from a technical perspective, but the story and emotion is powerful, then it's still a great piece of art. The technical stuff can all be improved with lots of practice :)

Thanks! That's a really good piece of advice.

Nina, you are the super Saiyan of the artists :D im your fan :3

firma 6.jpg

haha thank you so much @basileonardo!! That means a lot coming from another talented artist like you!! :D

Even so long ago and at a young age your talent is amazing. I can't draw more than stick figures myself, but my daughter (just 7) seems to have gotten artistic talent from somewhere. I can only hope that she develops it to this degree and beyond.

Thanks for stopping by and the nice comments :D

Well, if you want to encourage her to practice without being too crazy/pressured about it, then my best suggestion is to get her a small sketchbook and a pen pack (like a bag in which she can easily carry around a few pens and pencils, eraser, etc.) and bring it with you guys everywhere! Having a sketchbook handy with me - especially when I was forced to go somewhere with my parents where I had to sit and be quiet - was a godsend - and I blame my talent for drawing because of that first sketchbook. I was about your daughters age, too!

Long time skulker :)

We have the sketchbook and little pack of pens, but I never thought to bring them along on trips. Brilliant! I knew asking an artist was the right thing to do :)

My wife is planning on doing some scanning of her work - if you don't mind I could send them your way for opinions? I don't know what I would do with said opinions - not wanting to pressure my daughter and all - but it would help me knowing it isn't just parental pride that makes up think her artwork is good for her age.

hahaha for sure, I'd love to see them :D I'm easy to find on discord, or of course any of the usual social media channels listed in my post signature.

But yeah, back in the days before phones, I had to keep myself occupied and quiet quite a bit growing up. But even when it's not those situations, it's nice to have a sketchbook handy to scribble - for example, instead of taking pictures of something cute/funny/cool, encourage her to do a quick drawing of it instead. It doesn't even have to be finished or beautiful, but the exercise of moving the hands in relation to something physically in front of you is one of the best there is.

Definitely Discord as I rarely bother with any of the other social media channels these days.

Thankfully she doesn't have a smartphone yet, and hasn't shown interest in taking pictures, so it'll be easier to encourage more drawing :)

good on you!! my husband gave our 4 year old an old smartphone to destroy (much to my chagrin) but thankfully she doesn't use it a whole lot (yet). You just know that when that day comes, I'll be there with a sketchbook and pencil to be like "nope you're drawing now.." lol!

The story of that girl, that's really insane! I loved Before the show, it feels very Cure-esque hahaha.

haha well good, cuz that's what I was going for :D Thanks for stopping by as always @siucatti!

Man, I was not expecting that plot twist about your friend in high school. I wonder what had made her feel as though she needed to do that when she had such a supportive friend group around her.

I'm really liking your sketches, the bathroom drawing is seriously good. The detail you've managed to get on it is very impressive.

Thank you for the nice comment @calumam! Glad you like my art!

Over the years I've reflected on that whole experience, and while I'll never truly understand how her need for attention got to such extreme levels, I do feel like she wasn't intending to ever be malicious. I've ultimately forgiven her though some of our other mutual friends who were also close to her I know will likely never forgive her. It's a head scratcher.

Sometimes it gets very confusing and complex inside your own mind and you are led to decisions based on your own delusions, sometimes it just gets out of hand.

We are all human I guess, some situations have a bigger impact on us than others. The same applies to your friend, nobody really knows what situations she went through that led her mind on its path, sometimes not even the person themselves. Everyone makes mistakes!

Exactly! And there are so many variables from individual to individual that sometimes it's just the right mixture to become destructive, even unintended. It is what it is.

You have an extremely artistic mind. Hearing stories and seeing your artwork gives us a glimpse into your psyche. Thank you for being a part of Steemit. @ironshield

Thanks for stopping by, @ironshield! :D

Great paintings, I like how you channel yourself through your ... well is it work? It should be :) Anyway, back to what I wanted to say - I like your work, but what I really like is when I get enough time to read some of your stories. They make me think and they make me understand your paintings from another perspective. I guess, what I trying to say is - it is very nice expirience to travel through your toughts and your life from time after time :)

Thanks so much for the thoughtful comment @dejan.vuckovic! haha Yes it is definitely work, but it's pretty fun work at least ;)

I personally believe that art is story - even abstract paintings have emotions and thought processes behind them, though obviously they aren't as straightforward. For me as a storyteller, illustration is just one piece of the story puzzle!

Yeah, I know exactly what you mean. A few months ago, my friend invited me to follow her to an art exhibit, quite modern and completely incomprehensible to me. But she is modern musician and dancer and she is very informed about trends, so she was determined to explain to me some of the pieces, back stories and roots... and I realized that I actually really enjoy them and that I was just lacking the knowledge :)

knowledge is power! ;)

I see you are a great painter :)
excellent illustrations and sincere expression.
Congratulations, my dear friend.

Thanks very much for stopping by and the nice comments! :D

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 60 (3/1/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Congratulations @derosnec! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57742.49
ETH 3102.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39