You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nina's University Sketchbook, Vol 1

in #art6 years ago

Even so long ago and at a young age your talent is amazing. I can't draw more than stick figures myself, but my daughter (just 7) seems to have gotten artistic talent from somewhere. I can only hope that she develops it to this degree and beyond.

Sort:  

Thanks for stopping by and the nice comments :D

Well, if you want to encourage her to practice without being too crazy/pressured about it, then my best suggestion is to get her a small sketchbook and a pen pack (like a bag in which she can easily carry around a few pens and pencils, eraser, etc.) and bring it with you guys everywhere! Having a sketchbook handy with me - especially when I was forced to go somewhere with my parents where I had to sit and be quiet - was a godsend - and I blame my talent for drawing because of that first sketchbook. I was about your daughters age, too!

Long time skulker :)

We have the sketchbook and little pack of pens, but I never thought to bring them along on trips. Brilliant! I knew asking an artist was the right thing to do :)

My wife is planning on doing some scanning of her work - if you don't mind I could send them your way for opinions? I don't know what I would do with said opinions - not wanting to pressure my daughter and all - but it would help me knowing it isn't just parental pride that makes up think her artwork is good for her age.

hahaha for sure, I'd love to see them :D I'm easy to find on discord, or of course any of the usual social media channels listed in my post signature.

But yeah, back in the days before phones, I had to keep myself occupied and quiet quite a bit growing up. But even when it's not those situations, it's nice to have a sketchbook handy to scribble - for example, instead of taking pictures of something cute/funny/cool, encourage her to do a quick drawing of it instead. It doesn't even have to be finished or beautiful, but the exercise of moving the hands in relation to something physically in front of you is one of the best there is.

Definitely Discord as I rarely bother with any of the other social media channels these days.

Thankfully she doesn't have a smartphone yet, and hasn't shown interest in taking pictures, so it'll be easier to encourage more drawing :)

good on you!! my husband gave our 4 year old an old smartphone to destroy (much to my chagrin) but thankfully she doesn't use it a whole lot (yet). You just know that when that day comes, I'll be there with a sketchbook and pencil to be like "nope you're drawing now.." lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58225.92
ETH 3120.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50