Black Hole Sunflower - Steem-Art: Photo Editing Contest #1 submission

in #art7 years ago (edited)

This is my submission for the inaugural edition of the photo editing contest for the Steem-Art Discord server.


Black Hole Sunflower detail

Read my detailed Deep Style / Deep Dream Generator tutorial for more on the techniques I am using here. I started with the contest base image (see below) and ran it through the neural network trained with my Wirebot original art as the style image. I made versions with the style scale set larger (the majority of the final image) and also with the style scale set smaller (most of the sunflower in the final image). I combined the two images in PhotoShop and then painted digital colors on top. I am pretty sure I have taken this challenge in a very different direction than most will go - hope you enjoy it!

The contest challenge was to start with this base image and go to town on it:

Here is my original Wirebot art that I used as the style image to train the neural network:

Sort:  

I am really loving this Deep Dream Generator! And how much you went to town with the image. Entries like this one are exactly what I hoped for. And I also enjoyed your tutorial seeing as it's the first I've heard of the generator...haha.

Thanks glad you like it and the tutorial! This was a lot of fun, I did quite a bit of painting on top of the deep dream images I generated. Pretty much all the solid black lines were painted by me, although a lot of them are just accentuating / solidifying shapes that were suggested by the generator. I really like the way the twisted sunflower turned out. Cheers - Carl

good work editing

this is amazing,, really really amazing

That looks awesome! So much more engaging than the original! And the title - Black Hole Sunflower - is it yours? The song combined with the imagery of your artwork... well done, sir. :)

yeah, I am of the age that the Soundgarden song Black Hole Sun was a big song when I was in high school. Love that song and the imagery that drips from it. Seemed appropriate for the visual I was going for :) Thanks!

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.
Also - check out @reblogger, by reading this post.


Check out the other content resteemed by @resteembot.
Some of it is really cool!


This is very cool, thanks for positing.

@resteem.bot
Resteemed and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!
Read here how the new bot from Berlin works.
@resteem.bot

Nice edit, looks creepily awesome :)

I like it. Especially how you cropped the first one. Nice job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52