Folco’s Birth – Page 07 and 08steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Really, Your Honor ? Did I say I planned to put more than two pages per post last time ?

With all the honest sincerity that genuinely perspire from all my skin pores, I truly can't remember !

Hello !

OK... Only two more pages.

That dialog I had to place in the following part was scaring me a bit...  So I'll use some caution and share my thought about the work.

I wasn't sure how to deal with text/images balance.. Which ideas to place, and to express them :  which of words or drawings to use ?

Writing a bunch of long sentences and swapping between both character's faces at each reply has been my first reflex... Of course, it's not a good one : I don't aim at building some closed-door story.

My goal is to build and present an imaginary universe, and I have several tools for this : texts, drawings, characters, and landscapes.

They have to be linked : even if playing with faces and expressions could be a great exercice for me, the interest for a reader wouldn't be so fantastic, so let's use part of the dialog to share a glance on the universe in which these dudes live.

Of course, any serious illustrator or comics maker would have prepared its concepts in advance... I won't pretend at becoming serious at this exercice, but I already know I've been taught a few interesting new things since I've started this sketchy comics experience :)

Enough blah blah ! Here we go :

Previously in Folco's Birth :

Page 01-02
Page 03-04
Page 05-06
 
PAGE 07



PAGE 08



That's all for now !


Will there be more than two pages next time ?

I sincerely promise that I truly don't know ! D

See you, and have fun  :)



    (c) Berien 2018



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://berien.com/blog/folcos-birth-page-07-and-08/
Sort:  

Girls are disappearing, AND THEIR OWNERS TOO??? Something's not right here... I wonder what is going on ! :D

A great 2 pager, Pascal !!!

I want more \o/

Thanks Liske ! :D

Next parts should follow this week. Waiting for the dialog to come naturally to my mind first, then I'll start drawing :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Once more : many thanks ;)

Even your texts are done artistically :D. I also like how scratchy this comic is, and the expressions of the characteres' faces.
                     
Well done =).

Thanks a lot you @scrawly :)

Just a quick note: at first I was charmed with the harsh black & white style you use, it's my favorite style. Now, some bits of larger plot begin to appear and it becomes rather intriguing... I'd like to see more & more of this -- BUT! No more than 2 pages per post, I think it'd be more thrilling for your readers to have some waiting to do for the next page!

Thanks for this, @nyarlathotep :)

As long as enough informations transits through these two pages, I think it will be ok.

I was suspecting some heavy dialog management problems last time and feared to place an interruption in the middle of an action that shouldn't be sliced :)

But now, I guess knowing when to stop is also part of the storytelling skills to acquire :D

Hi, @berien!

You just got a 0.26% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65037.75
ETH 2638.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81