Folco's Birth - Page 01 and 02 - Musing with sketchy comic style

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello everybody :)

Since that little comic strip posted a few days ago, I've tried to keep up with this kind of approach.

I've never been inclined at working on complete comic book, and won't pretend to, but that sketchy raw black and white little story from last time has triggered in me some new interest that I want to explore a bit more.

So, I decided to test that black-and-white-sketchy-raw storyboard style on something a bit more complex than a quick funny strip.

My goal was to get something out of a combination of narrative graphical structure combined with my usual spontaneous abstract approach.

That last point is what made me stay away from illustration and comics : well defined items, environments and precise character designs will never be part of what makes me love drawing :)

Anyway, let's try to use that 'flaw' to produce... something.
Here are the first pages (and maybe last ?) of Folco di Coregliano's birth, main character from a written story I started (and yes : a story waiting for my skills to be able to finish it :P ) :


PAGE 01





PAGE 02





TO BE CONTINUED...

...Or not to be :D


This training made me suffer quite a bit, but was full of learning.

In these comic boxes layout, I had the surprise to recognize some of the triangular structures I often use in my surreal or abstract work.

I must say that I love when a link can be established between totally different styles and approaches : everything we do is tied to other knowledge we have, and opens to new possibilities.

I'll go further in this experiment, but that will probably be next week : some other (not so) funny tasks await to be done in parallel :p

Here we are, people !

Feel free to comment, criticize, or simply say "hello !" :)

Have fun, but don't follow Folco's path from too close :D

 

(c) Berien 2018

 

(Désolé pour la version française : j'ai accumulé un peu de retard sur les traductions ces derniers temps :( )


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://berien.com/comics/folcos-birth-01-02/

Sort:  

"hello" :)

And my 2 cents: I can easily fall for anything in b&w, but I like your style a lot. Harsh lines and rather abstract design, the anxiety of a stranger in a strange land is evident. I'd like to see more... don't wait for your writing skills to evolve, use your drawing skills and maybe you'll have more things to write about then.

Thanks @nyarlathotep ! :)

I'll go on with this, probably once a week. I don't know how many pages this short story will have... I was planning on only one, and obviously it will be at least three :p

We'll see :)

I can follow what's going on from the panels, so I believe the drawing is successful in telling the story that you want to tell. I feel the comic might be better if you don't write the text though, let the art speaks for itself :D.

Thanks @scrawly :)
The text is part of a character's monolog that ends in final pictures... Not done yet :)

I like it, Pascal <3 I think you have a very natural flow, and it carries over to comicking well. The movement from panel to panel is organically narrative <3 Very nice !

Thank you, Liske :)
Glad you like it :)
Now, let's see if it can be improved on next pages :)

Very gritty and awesome.

Thank you @trinumedia, much appreciated :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks ! :)

Hi, @berien!

You just got a 0.3% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63562.42
ETH 2649.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77