My "TARDIS" Drawing Experience - Contest EntrysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

When @tonyr announced the week's theme for his Learn to Draw with Friends contest my heart dropped to my stomach.


Image Source

Announcing The Winners Of The 'Learn To Draw With Friends' Contest!! Plus Theme For Week Four!! 55 SBD IN PRIZES TO BE WON!! :0 by @tonyr

First, I saw that I could not possibly draw the picture on the "advanced" category (sigh).

Second and most important, I don't have a frikkin' idea who "Doctor Who" is!

Nonetheless, being a "fighter" that I am, I know that in one way or another I have to draw something from amongst the 3 contest categories.

I told myself, "that phone booth should be easy!".

What "phone booth"?!

Oh well, based on @tonyr's article, it is called a tardis . Ammmfff, what in the world is a "tardis" ?!

I just learned that tardis, errrr, TARDIS -
"Time And Relative Dimension In Space" is a fictional time machine and spacecraft that appears in the British science fiction television programme Doctor Who and its various spin-offs. (Credits: Wikipedia)

So for my sake, and those others who have no clue as to who "Doctor Who" is, Doctor Who is a British science-fiction television program. It is about the adventures of a Time Lord called "the Doctor", an extraterrestrial being from the planet Gallifrey. The Doctor explores the universe in a time-travelling space ship called the TARDIS. (Wikipedia)

DRAWING " THE TARDIS"

Almost on a daily basis, every afternoon at lunch break, I go out of the office to move my car from the building parking and go outside to kill time before going back inside the parking again.

Ok. Letting you into a secret - I would normally have to pay Dhs 15 ($4) a day to park my car outside for the whole day while at work. I used to. Not until my colleagues asked me why I do not use the "Mall Parking" so I could park for free.

Brilliant suggestion!

See that building?!

That is our office tower - World Trade Center, Abu Dhabi. It is adjacent to a mall. Those brown structures beneath, THAT is "The WTC Mall". Short for "The World Trade Center Mall". Smart name eh?!

So basically the mall provides for its visitors 3 hours of free parking within the mall hours (from 10am to 10pm). Before 10am, free parking is only for 2 hours.

Can you now imagine how I do it?

8am -10am: 2 hours. Go down for a stroll, move the car and now have 3 hours free parking until 1pm- lunch break.

So that I do not have to go down again at 4pm to go another round, I kill time at a neaby park at come back at 2pm. Another 3 hours free parking until 5.

You see, I have am saving myself $82 parking fee monthly. And I get extra 4000 steps on my pedometer! Cool!

The catch: be late for a second and you will have to pay for the full hour worth (Dhs 10 ~$2.71)

The drawing! The drawing!

Oh yeah, I almost forgot about the drawing!

This is my version of TARDIS. Drawn while eating inside my car.

Before dashing off for my lunch break, I printed the reference picture. Done in haste, I was not able to realize that the print was not the actual size but a full page pixelated printout and I could really not make out the details.

So insipired by @deveerei, I just also drew a mini-tardis. His is definitely an expert's work so I hope he does not take offense when my deveerei inspired Tardis came out like the above.

Check out his drawing here.

So there you have it, my beginner category entry -The TARDIS.

My sissy @erangvee also has an entry.

Check out her post here: Drawing the Twelfth Doctor | Doctor Who Fanart

Please do not forget to vote for her entry on @tonyr's contest page.

May the force of the STEEM be always in our favor!



by: @merej99

Sort:  

Wow this is great article @arrliinn

Awwww @aarlinn! This is great! I love your story and I feel for you!! What a crazy parking situation you have!! Also thanks for your explanation of the show, because I was clueless too!

Lol. Thanks @jaymorebeet! Yeah. Parking is nightmare. But at least here car is protected from 50°c summer heat and most especially, there is space. Before we moved to this tower, our office was in a very busy location that people literally fight for paid parking spaces.

I would like to join ahahaha...

Go check the link to the contest... it is fun. haha

nyahahaa, thank you @elizahfhaye...

Very nice post to compliment your entry @arrliinn! And lots of good information provided on The Tardsi and Doctor Who for anyone who isn't familiar with them. Great job my friend! :)

I was really oblivious about Doctor Who. I was telling my colleague about it earlier and he was like, "where have you been all your life?!"
lol

I'm going to whisper this because I don't want anyone else to hear me but I am not the biggest fan of Doctor Who although I am well aware of it growing up in the UK but it was a request from someone new to the contest and a marvelous one at that. :) It is one of the most famous and popular TV shows of all time though @arrliinn. :) Where have you been??? :)

Yeah, now I am really asking myself. Lol. It's practically been on there my whole life!!! I've really got a lot of catching up to do. :D

Congratulations @arrliinn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I was entertained by your story! Thats a lot of work just for parking. But good exercise if you want to save money but still thats ridiculous! How you find a way, maybe a carpool would work and share the parking fee

My manager just laughs at me everytime my phone alarm rings at 10- i set an alarm so I do not forget the time.. but as you said it is a good exercise. Besides, parking outdoors these days is literally putting your car on fire. UAE temperature hits 45°c these days so indoors is the best place to be. I cannot carpool as well 'cos I drop/pick up my kiddos to day care to and fro the office.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.89
ETH 3510.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54