Rescue -sand sculpture

in #art7 years ago (edited)



I am always aware that most of my sand sculptures will be short lived and only continue on in the mind of the beholder (hopefully) and in photographs. So sometimes I like to make sculptures which have a sweet spot, where I decided on one viewing angle that the piece is meant to be seen and photographed from. In some ways it is like creating a drawing in relief. Converting 3D to 2D If you will. (You will?! .... Ah Thanks)

This piece was made over three days for the Duncannon sand sculpture festival in Wexford, Ireland. A beautiful part of the country where I have been going since 1999 to make a sculpture/exhibition. The exhibition this year was to honor the rescue services and the work they do, which is so important to this little fishing village.

The beach sand of Duncannon is very nice to work with due to river depositing fresh material as it enters the sea at this area. The time I have to make a piece usually means that the sand is just piled up in a hill and I work with it as is ie. no compaction. In the trade we call this Softpack sculpting and this sand suits this process.

I imagined I was on-board a sinking ship and looked up to see this sight.



When seen from any other direction the sculpture becomes a big abstract mess.

It is fun to experiment with the idea that I can make a sculpture of a certain lens focal length and put the viewer at any point in space. This approach, which I have been developing over the years really makes my brain hurt with the complex angles, scale and running back and forth to the viewing position to make sure everything lines up. It doesn't always work out but as they say 'God loves a trier'


clickablesm.gif


Ps

As always I really appreciate you taking the time to visit my post. All comment welcome and I usually give upvotes of appreciation. Work is going to be a bit crazy for the next while but it will hopefully inspire another post. Check out some of my recent posts below.




Capture the flag - sand sculpture




Yogi -sand sculpture




My introduction to snow sculpture - snow sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon.
@ammonite

!steemitworldmap 52.220702 lat -6.934395 long Duncannon sand sculpture festival 2013 d3scr

Sort:  

Wow! It's even hard to believe it's real! So beautiful!
Whale Upvote from @dunsky

Thank you @Dunsky. Now it's just as real as the photograph>:-)

An other technical chalenge, anamorphic sand!
Good piece

Thank Alain. It would be interesting to make a sculpture where you need a special lens or glasses to see it. Maybe an idea for the future.

Waw! the perspective in 2D/3D plain is very clever! what made you choose this subject? how long did you spend making this marvel? Love your other work too!

Thank you, I love to experiment with perspective in my work so many more to come. The subject was chosen based on the theme I was given by the organisers of the festival but the idea just popped into my head as a way to express the Coast Guards bravery and actions. In all the sculpture took me around 30 hours to make over three days. Thank you for dropping by. I love your artworks also. and following you now.

Outstanding work. I found you through Alain and browsed your posts before, but I'm definitely following you now. The detail and scale you achieve with a medium like sand is pretty impressive. Really cool dedicated perspective with this sculpture too. Thanks for sharing and I look forward to this upcoming post showing your next piece in process.

Thank you. Alain has been very supportive and is an amazing metal sculptor, I always enjoy his posts. I will post more perspective sculptures soon. Thanks for following me, I checked out some of your posts and we have similar interests and I enjoyed your writing style so now you have a new follower also.

Awesome. Thanks for the follow, I look forward to your comments. Yeah, when I saw Alain's 4 seasons I was hooked on his work.

WTF,,,, How do you make those small details, this is good, you made a sculpture in an attempt to portray a moving object. At this case it's an elesi. This is crazy, I never get tired of your work. My most favorite one so far is the comic piece on sand, the details are so small, it even has those texts on it.

Yes, That was a difficult part. I'd probably do it different now and not in the nearly graphic way I did it here. but time and sand strength makes me not always arrive at the best solution. Thanks you.

How much travel are you doing for this work, EU, worldwide?

I used to travel nearly 6 months of the year worldwide to make sculptures. Now with a wife and child i have become much more selective with my time and am trying to get more work here in Ireland.

That's excellent that you've reached that level of professional work. Yes, being on the road internationally would keep you away from your family.

I have always been amazed when I see a sand sculpture and now with your posts describing the process I love them even more...thank you so much for taking the time.

Thank you very much, I will go into the process in much more detail when i make my next sculpture and document step by step.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ammonite to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70137.39
ETH 3937.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71