Capture the flag - sand sculpture

in #art7 years ago (edited)



I've made so many sand sculptures in the last 20 something years that you will forgive me if I don't remember the full story behind some of them. This is one where I can't remember the exact subject matter. I believe it had something to do with the history of Holland as it was made in Thorn, the Netherlands and this was a very popular theme in those days.



I do know that I was asked to make some sort of tower with two characters and so here you have it. The helmet may give some clues to what it was all about.



At the top I had a guys shouting in triumph as he waves a flag.



And at the bottom, on some rocky steps I made this Knight who seems quite dead, Probably due to the crossbow bolt in his neck. I also remember that I made the bolt/ arrow with a pencil and paper that I glued some sand onto.
Well there you have it.
Move along, nothing more to see here.


clickablesm.gif


Ps

Thanks for checking out this post. If you have any comments I always enjoy reading them. To see some of my other work click the images below to go straight to that post.




Yogi - sand sculpture




My introduction to snow sculpture - snow sculpture




Hookah-smoking Caterpillar- Sand sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon.
@ammonite

!steemitworldmap 51.160912 lat 5.847060 long Thorn sand sculpture festival 2003 d3scr

Sort:  

Those sculptures dont look like sand it's hard to believe that they are all sculpted from sand. Amazing work as always. It's a wonderful journey to bring all these sculptures back to life.

Thank you. It still even surprises me, what is possible with such a simple material. Ive tried so many times to document my work but always got bored doing so. Steemit is a brilliant platform because of the incentives to keep going in both the upvotes and interaction through comments. Thanks again for your support.

Exactly my thought.

I also remember that I made the bolt/ arrow with a pencil and paper that I glued some sand onto.

Is that not cheating? :-P

Not that I know what the rules are for sand sculpting competitions...

You're right, in a competition it would be looked on as cheating. This was just an exhibition and sometimes i like to add little details that aren't possible in sand. There are purists in the sand world who would be against it but for me if it helps get an idea accross i dont mind. Thanks

Awesome sculptures, you definetly have a talent my friend.

Thank you so much.

Congratulations, this article has been selected to be featured in week 3 of @corpsvalues Best of Steemit Weekly Bulletin. Keep up the great content production!
https://steemit.com/curation/@corpsvalues/week-3-corpsvalues-best-of-steemit-weekend-bulletin
6BEA011B-C5BB-4A47-9249-E0EACB977E70.jpeg

Thank you for featuring my work. It's an honor.

My pleasure, and wonderful creations!

the hell, there is even an arrow!!! what is that a wire or metal coated with wet sand!!! These is so amusing, like always ammonite!!!

Thank you @turtledance24 for your support. Yes the arrow was a pencil and cardboard that i glued sand onto. A bit of a cheat but i think i got away with it. Its little details like this that help sell a piece visually.

its crafty men, that is not cheat, that is technique!

you always have such amazing works. Beautiful sand sculpture!

Thank you. There are many more to come. Some will be better than others but i think on steemit its nice that i can document them all rather than have them just sitting on a hard drive.

That's a big "wow" from me as always. Even the texture on the chain-mail is realistic!

Thank you. I love playing with different textures in sand and dreaming up new tools to make them.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ammonite to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Another great work. This one looks like real stone on the photo more than the others. And the massive composition adds to this.

Thanks, this sand was really nice to work with. In Holland they actually get the sand specially mixed for making sand sculpture. I'm not too fond of the grayness of colour but for stonework it can be nice.

There must be big differences between all kinds of sand. And color should not be the most important...

As always, completely unbelievable. If one didn't know, one would swear its all solid stone! Nice list of posts to check out too!

Thank you. Still experimenting with my posting template. I love yours.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69590.59
ETH 3887.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73