Yogi - sand sculpture

in #art7 years ago



I have no deep or meaningful description of this sculpture, other than to say it seemed like a good idea at the time. Fergus Mulvany, my long time college friend and I were invited to go to the Galway and Mayo institute of technology (GMIT) and make a sculpture for their arts week. Were were given a nice location in the courtyard of the college to make our piece and all the freedom we wanted.

I can't really remember how exactly we came up with the idea. Maybe we were enlightened by some wacky tobacco or inspired by our inner yogis but this was the result .



As a project I remembered that it rained nearly contently for the five days we worked and had next to no interaction with the students. None of them would come over to see or talk to us about what we were doing and seemed to have no interest in any of the creative activities which were going on in the college that week. They even had to walk close by our sculpture while they were going from one building to another but would keep their eyes firmly ahead. Damn students! One of the lecturers did come out see the sculpture while we were not there and the first shot in this post is of that historic moment.



It was a fun sculpture to work on trying to make the figure as light as possible in contrast to his big hands and having the cut- throughs helped. The sand was quite strong even in the pissin's of rain.



We were glad to see the back of the sculpture and the college due to the horrible weather and anti social students. Years later Fergus and I met a past pupil from the college who remembered the sculpture well and said there were big protests from the students when it came to taking it down after it had lasted over a year. I said it before and I'll say it again. Damn students!!


clickablesm.gif


Ps

Thanks you for reading. Below are some of my recent post. If you have another minute




My introduction to snow sculpture - snow sculpture




Hookah-smoking Caterpillar- Sand sculpture




Catch The Wind- Sand sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon.
@ammonite

!steemitworldmap 53.849283 lat -9.305626 long GMIT sand sculpture 1998 description d3scr

Sort:  

You really rock that brooding look. I'd say the students were terrified rather than disinterested and were sneaking out for a peek every time you went for a break.

It is my 'Blue steel' look. ref 'zoolander'. You're probably right, me snarling at them probably didn't help either.

I never thought ammonite that someone could raise sand like that. Big hands is a nice idea it remember me a work of one of my friends sculptor, Louis Dollé with "The judge". He have the habit to do characters with big hands and/or big feets.

Very cool. Thanks for posting. I actually have a few sculptures with enlarged body parts. I like playing with perspective in some of my work. It seems to be a quiet time on Steemit at the moment so i will be posting my older works till things improve.I must also share some of my metal pieces for you to see. Will have to find the photos first. As a side note i also discovered that i get those kind votes in my comments because i use the esteem app on my phone. It is quite buggy at the moment do gives a nice interface for Steemit. Thanks again for the picture. I dont think it would be possible with sand but maybe ice.

Happy to see soon your metal work. I will buy some sand bags to show you my sand works :-) I use esteem too but it's slow and i just read on it. Do you mean these comments are bugs?

Would love to see you try some sand. It's a great material for sketching out ideas.
I believe the upvotes for comments made in esteem are a thank you for using the app.

Congratulations @ammonite! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68498.38
ETH 3905.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66