Hookah-smoking Caterpillar -sand sculpture

in #art7 years ago



This is my first solo sand sculpture, made all the way back in 1999 on Gran Canaria, the Canarie Islands. Up to then I had always worked as part of a team and although I did small elements by myself I could never call the sculpture mine.

It was the week before Christmas and I had the pleasure of being asked to participate in this International Competition along with some of the best sand sculptors in the world. I was very nervous that I would make a show of myself and create a sculpture which looked like crap compared to these other amazing artists, So I decided to be quite safe and making something illustrative. I had just finished the book 'Alice's Adventures in wonderland' by Lewis Carroll and was struck by all the visual imagery the text gave. Of course John Tenniel's illustration were also great. But I wanted to base this sculpture on my own vision of the text.



My design process for most sculptures happens as I work. Starting usually with a very basic concept, I begin carving from the top and the sculpture takes form and direction as I work. With sand you can never be sure if the sand will be strong enough to make certain forms so I think it's best to begin with a simple idea and let the sand tell you what it has in mind. I kind of like a conversation. I very rarely make sketches of what I will make because I don't find them useful when transferring them into the third dimension. Below is a very rough sketch that I found which I made for this piece because I was still so young and innocent. As you can see, not very useful. I think I can draw a bit better now but sculpting in sand is much easier for me to sketch out an idea.



The beach sand in the Canaries is one of the best you can work with. It is strong as beach sand goes and hasn't got any pebbles or shells to get in the way of details. It allowed me to carve each individual chain link running up to his monocle. Even though it took the best part of a morning to make this detail, it was satisfying to have the light come through. Maybe there was a bit of OCD coming through also.



I did kind of regret going so safe with my idea but I will always have fond memories of this piece. The project was great fun with some wonderful people and I was up every morning a 6am to have a swim in the ocean before work with a Canadian carver that I had meet for the first time. When we meet now we often reminisce about our great time there in that week before Christmas.



I made another sculpture years later based on 'Alice's Adventures in wonderland' Here is a post I made about it.




Alice in Wonderland - sand sculpture


clickablesm.gif


Ps

Thank you for joining me again my 440 followers and anyone else who is dropping by. Below are some of my latest posts




Catch The Wind- Sand sculpture




The Bold and the Beautiful - ice sculpture




Asterix- Sand sculpture

Talk to you soon again.
@ammonite

!steemitworldmap 28.131072 lat -15.429313 long Las Palmas sand sculpture exhibition description d3scr

Sort:  

wow

Very impressive, particularly considering it was your first solo effort. I love the eye-bag and the moles.
As for the later one from 2014; absolutely perfect. All superlatives apply.
I've really gotta see one of these yokes in the flesh.

Thank you. I love to play with the details. With good sand i can really spend hours on surface textures. Hope to see you at steemit-dublin meetup.

I'll be there! I promise not to bend your ear this time 'round.

That is a true work of art, amazing. I cannot believe what you can do with sand. I have to put it on my bucket list to go and see one of your pieces in the flesh now all I need is a bucket.

Thank you. Yes its a great material. It still surprises me what can be made with it. Hopefully i will make a sculpture here in dublin soon again. Hope to see you at steemit meetup.

One more fabulous work. Alice is a good subject and in particular this scene. Love the chain of the monocle with holes inside!! Idea of crossed arms is nice too...Pity that there is no smoke :-) I think you would have liked.

Its the same for me concerning the sketches. No need to do something complicated just the main lines the rest is done during the discussion with the material. We draw with it. Anyway a drawing can't represent a sculpture. and often i don't do any, it's in my brain exactly like you. Waiting for your next post :-)

I always enjoy your comments and support. I would have loved smoke.Great idea.
I always find 2D art more difficult because you are always trying to make the illusion of 3D. Whereas with sculpture you can make the real thing.
Thanks as always.

hii @ammonite, nice work much attractive, wonderful piece sculpture art,i impressed.
UPvOTED

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61143.97
ETH 3363.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51