Learn Art with Me Series (A step by step guide) - Day #1 of "Inga" series

in #art6 years ago

Hello friends.

I figure if you're going to be on Steemit you need to be posting about and doing stuff that you enjoy doing. For me it is doing art, but I think even more than doing the art, I enjoy teaching art. Which leads to the series I am titling:

Learn Art with Me

Each series will show step by step pictures (and later video) of the processes that I take. This is definitely a work in progress. And I would love to get any feedback in the comments below; suggestions, ideas, etc.

I fully believe that anyone can learn to draw/paint, etc. It just takes some instruction and practice.

In the future I will post my contour drawing on here, which you can then download and transfer to your paper so you can follow on on the exact same drawing I am doing and use the exact same techniques that I am teaching. Unfortunately, I apparently failed to take a picture of the base drawing, and so I can't do that for this one (like I said, this series is a work in progress!).

First, I want to show where we will end today:

11r.jpg

Although I couldn't provide the base drawing this time, here is the reference photo:
12.png

We will be working on the right eye first.

Here are the materials that will be used:

~ .3mm Mechanical Pencil
~ Blending stump
~ Kneaded Eraser
~HB, 2B, 6B pencil

aa.jpg

The first thing is to create a clear contour drawing of whatever it is you want to draw. You can freehand it, use a grid, tracing paper, whatever you want to do and however you want to challenge yourself.

3r.jpg

First I am picking out the dark shadows and placing them in:
4r.jpg

Next I am placing in some of the midtones; notice that I haven't done any shading or blending upto this point:
5r.jpg

After doing some slight shading with the blending stump (sorry forgot the picture on that one) I take my kneaded eraser and pick up some highlights; I am really just dabbing the eraser, as opposed to "rubbing" it on the paper.
6r.jpg

I take the mechanical pencil and I dot the iris to create some texture:
7r.jpg

Closer look:
8r.jpg

I blend it in with the blending stump. I'm not terribly worried about the shadows and highlights at this point, right now I am working on building some layers.
9r.jpg
Now I go back and I pick some of the graphite up with the kneaded eraser again, notice that the highlights are back:
10r.jpg

I dot some more with the mechanical pencil (just creating another layer) and I go back in and I use the blending stump to blend the darker areas together and you can see that it instantly makes the highlights in the eye standout more because of the stronger contrast:
11r.jpg

This is where I am leaving off today, but we will work some more on the eye and I will go even more in depth on my process and procedures in future posts, consider this post somewhat of a "pilot".

I hope you enjoyed it and if you want to support this initiative of mine then please, upvote, follow, and resteem!

I appreciate every person who takes the time to look at my posts!!!

If you'd like to see more like this, please follow me @allstarrunner!


Please check out some of my other art:

@allstarrunner @allstarrunner @allstarrunner @allstarrunner
Sort:  

This post received a 5% upvote from @morwhale team thanks to @allstarrunner! For more information, click here! , TeamMorocco! .

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @allstarrunner to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

nice tutorial !
Thanks for sharing :)
I was wondering if you could check some of my work and let me know what you think in the comments?
Here is the link
https://steemit.com/art/@iamsilvia/my-art-series-sketchbook-tour

Have a great and productive, creativity filled day :)
Cheers from Croatia!!

Thanks! and yes I would love to! I'm on my way out the door right now, but I will for sure when I get back!

Very nice, I hope that this one gets noticed. 😎

thanks again! :)

Hey, thanks for the minnowbooster upvote! I have no idea what that thing is but I'm gonna have to read up on it. I really appreciate your support! :)

de nada, glad to do it! 👍

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 88.0% @dkid14 upgoat, thanks to @deaconlee
It consists of $0.56 vote and $0.19 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

i wanna to be artist also.. but still iam trying,, pls response me also bro

just gotta practice! But, you need some instruction too! If you're able to take part in this, feel free and I will give you advice or tips if you upload your progress.

What a great presentation! Already looking forward to day-2 ☺

thanks! Day 2 will be here soon....I hope...

Well, I'll definitely keep an eye out for your next installment, whenever it comes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88