God is our Refuge and Strength – Inspirational ORIGINAL ART #19 by @allforthegood

in #art6 years ago

God is our refuge_8x10_Psalm46_1_wbkgd.jpg

I believe some of the most earnest prayers God hears are those whispered in the neediest moments of our lives. It’s sad that at times we need desperate situations to draw us back to the Lord, but there is something about adversity that brings us back to some core truths. We suddenly become thankful for things that we otherwise took for granted. We realize we aren’t in complete control of our lives. We realize we can’t succeed in life on our own.

If you are a believer, you will come back to knowing this:

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.
-Psalm 46:1

I don’t know about you, but I love reading the Psalms for reassurance that I’m not the first to struggle inside. Others have been through worse and come back to trusting the Lord. And the Lord Himself encourages us through our trials.

Psalm 46 ends with this promise:

He says, “Be still, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth.”
The Lord Almighty is with us;
the God of Jacob is our fortress.

How I Came Up With the Design

I really enjoyed creating this design. It reminded me of a peaceful dreamtime poster I may want at the foot of my bed as a final reminder before I close my eyes. The starry night sky with wispy edging and floating feathers create the mood for the piece. Feathers are also alluding to another promise where it says:

He will cover you with His feathers; you will take refuge under His wings. His faithfulness will be a protective shield.
-Psalm 91:4

Recent Inspirational Art in my Series

When I Consider Your Heavens – Inspirational ORIGINAL ART #14
For to us a child is born– Inspirational ORIGINAL ART #15
This is my Commandment -Inspirational ORIGINAL ART #16
Children are a Heritage from the Lord – Inspirational ORIGINAL ART #17
The Old has Gone, the New has Come! – Inspirational ORIGINAL ART #18

Feedback

Do you like posting encouraging quotes and verses in your home? If you have a favorite quote or verse, I’d be happy to design it for you. Just post it in the replies below. To see more of my inspirational art, click here.

I hope this art provides some encouragement for you today. @allforthegood

AFTG-CLOSING.jpg

Sort:  

Yes, I love seeing your post this morning, I just finished my morning quiet time and reading some bible verses. Yes, i do like posting encouraging bible verses in my home. My bible verses I picked for this new year are Matthew 6:19-20. Have you designed anything with those verses?

Thank you. Matthew 6:19-20 is a great choice to meditate on. We definitely need conscious effort to put God's kingdom first, and trust He is working for our good. I'd be happy to design this for you. I normally choose the 8x10 size, but can adjust if you wish. Let me know what colors and style you like best and I'll do my best to work that in. :)

Well @allforthegood, yellow and light blue would be nice, if you want to include those colors. I’ll let you be creative with the design/style!

Okay, I'll get to work :)

Sorry it took so long! I didn't ask you for any feedback, but I can always customize colors from here if you need it. Here's the post about it: https://steemit.com/christianity/@allforthegood/store-up-treasures-in-heaven-inspirational-original-art-23-plus-free-wallpaper

Here's a link to your free printable 8x10:

great words caming from you dear friend

Thank you very much. I'm glad you took the time to read them!

OF COURES IT WORTHS

Where there is love there is life.

- Mahatma Gandhi

Thanks for sharing! The Psalms have become my food in times of external and even worse, internal struggle. You brought the words alive beautifully. Keep on posting!

Thanks for the encouragement. God certainly thought it worthwhile to include so many Psalms in the bible! I'm feeling the need to go back to them and include Psalms and Proverbs in my daily study.

Very nice! When I first viewed your image I thought it looked like the starry heavens; and the feathers which are more in an earthly realm - our own skies. God inhabits both!

That's true! Thanks for sharing that perspective.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.67$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61377.55
ETH 3432.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52