SWAMP PLANET - CONCEPT ART ILLUSTRATION

in #art6 years ago (edited)

greensteroid-01.png

Hello guys. Its been a while since my last Illustration. I was so preoccupied throughout the week. but I squeezed out some time to make some illustration and will continue to upload more regularly in the future.

I continued my alien landscape theme in this illustration, I love my journey and experiments with illustrator so far. I switched from painting on photoshop to illustrator and I have learned a lot from practicing with adobe illustrator.

I started by learning flat design

Flat design is a style of interface design emphasizing minimum use of stylistic elements that give the illusion of three dimensions (such as the use of drop shadows, gradients or textures)[2] and is focused on a minimalist use of simple elements, typography and flat colors source

Then I moved to Low poly art

Flat design mainly uses Geometric shapes, It was kinda restricted, so I began to use Low poly method to define textures and shapes. Low poly art is mainly used in 3D modeling but the same process can be applied to Flat design.

The irregular polygon shapes are just created manually with different colors. gradients, transparency and layered on top of each other

Lately I began to practice with concept art

Concept art usually refers to world-building artwork used to inspire the development of media products, it's a form of illustration used to convey an idea source

About this illustration, I wanted to illustrate a swampy alien scenery. I also tried my best to illustrated a somewhat dark gloomy environment. I was able to learn more about setting the atmosphere in Illustration.

SOFTWARE : Abobe illustrator CC 2015

PROCESS

The sky was created using the mesh tool, I created several nodes and apply colors to them

1.jpg

The water surface was detailed with irregular polygons(different color, temperatures and transparency) created with the pen tool.

2.jpg

The back mountains are drawn with the pen tool and faded to give the illusion of depth
3.jpg

The Closest grass hills are detailed using poly art, I used irregular polygon shapes with different color shades and gradients. Layered on top of each other
4.jpg
6.jpg
765.jpg

The alien object is illustrated by using irregular polygons and flat design methods
8.jpg
al.jpg

The two planetary bodies were added with two transparent geomentric circles
89.jpg

In future episodes, I will be featuring indepth tutorials on how to illustrate shades, shadow and textures with Illustrator. thanks for visiting my blog :-)

Previous illustrations

ALIEN COLONY + Flat design Tutorial(How to draw clouds in Illustrator)

THE CAVE + POLY ART STONE WALL TUTORIAL

ALIEN LANDSCAPE + TUTORIAL ON HOW TO DRAW PLANETARY BODIES

dvote.jpeg

The Alliance footer Michael David.png

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

This is really good, I'm good at writing, but for design I'm bad; but that does not stop me from knowing when something is really good, congratulations.

Thanks for the support. :-). am glad you enjoy my content

Love how you gave us a detailed explanation of the process and introducing us to different software and methods on how to do this! keep it up!

By the way, you have been scouted by @promo-mentors. We are always on the look-out for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group where we are a community that fosters camaraderie and help authors improve their blogging skills where we have mentors that conduct post feedback sessions and other things.

If you have time, do check us out!

https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as the one here)




Thanks for Inviting me to the community. I'm glad you enjoy my content

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by abmakko from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Really nice

thanks :-)

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Thanks for the support @artzone

Nice one.
Kindly follow back and upvote

Great work!

This post proves to be a worthy post for the #dynamicsteemians initiative, bringing knowledge, people, and resources together to succeed on the steemit blockchain. Support @dynamicrypto and @dynamicgreentk, the visionaries behind this cause and whom summoned me to upvote your post.

Currently there is a tier system in place that determine your upvote amount from @thundercurator, they are:

  • use the tag dynamicsteemians and receive a $0.05
  • use the tag and mention thundercurator in your post and receive a $0.10
  • use the tag and mention thundercurator and dynamicgreentk in your post and receive a $0.15 upvote from thundercurator

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Thanks for the support and the info about your curation.

Oh wow! How interesting to see the process laid out like that! I haven't tried much of illustrating digitally. It fascinates me and I want to try it, but I'm so intimidated by it. This makes me want to mayyyybe give it a try. Great post!

Thanks for enjoying my content. I also transitioned to digital art last year. I love that it is very flexible to other forms of multimedia, you should give it try, I was also intimidated at first. :-)

Thank you for posting your inspiring journey of how you made your work through Steemit

Thanks for liking my work bro :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44