ALIEN COLONY - FLAT COLOR LANDSCAPE DESIGN(Episode 3)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

alien space-01.png

Hello guys. Its another day for some art Illustration. This week I continued my Flat Landscape design practice, I am starting to like this alien-space theme I've got going on.

I guess the reason I love alien themes is because of the ability to create new things that are not bounded by real-life models.

I wanted to illustrate an exploration in an alien deserted plane. When it comes to illustration, I believe flat design works hand in hand with poly art, If you want your work to pop out.

Poly art/graphics are mostly used in 3d modeling but the same principles can be applied to your flat designs, all you have to do is just manually add the polygon shapes with your pen tool.

The building and the sun were mostly done in flat design. while the mountain and the sand were done with low poly art.

In this illustration, I was able to learn about setting a scenery and atmosphere. I decided to go for a windy desert environment.

GIF VIDEO OF PROCESS

procsss.gif

Software used: Adobe illustrator CC 2015

In the coming episode, I will be featuring some tutorials on scenery in flat design. I will also be adding extra details to this. I think it could use more gradient in the sky and also some more rocks.

I will also try to explain how to draw rocky terrain in poly art. so stay tuned.

LESSONS FROM FLAT COLOR DESIGN

Most times, graphic designers get carried away with making their illustrations very crisp and clear, Its pretty normal to want your viewers to see all the details.

But with my progress in flat color design, I have figured that to add depth to your illustration, not everything has to be clear. It is helpful to saturate the object closer and fade out the distant objects.

This way you will add some depth so your flat design will not look so flat. even though the goal is to illustrate in a flat 2D plane. adding some depth will spice up your illustration.

Thanks for visiting my blog friends :-)

Previous illustrations

THE CAVE + POLY ART STONE WALL TUTORIAL

ALIEN LANSCAPE + TUTORIAL ON HOW TO DRAW PLANETARY BODIES

dvote.jpeg

The Alliance footer Michael David.png

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Hey! Great stuff man! Can you maybe work on some stuff for the dynamicsteemians discord?

Sure man :-). am always available, on steemit chat or discord @abmakko. I'll be waiting to hear from you

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Thanks for the support :-)

This is a really great landscape. I can image an alien mining colony just over the horizon and massive amounts of bartering and trading in a central space market place. Thanks for sharing!

Wow... you totally got it. even more than me. maybe I should expand on that idea. thanks for appreciating it. :-)

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Thanks for that guys, much love :-)

Awesome job dear

Thanks. am glad you liked it :)

thanks for taking me through your process. i dig the alien landscape. interested to see how your work progresses as you continue learning!

Thanks for the support @buttcoins :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50