Aroma steem: laurus nobilis

in #aromatherapy7 years ago (edited)

Fast parts of South Europa were in ancient times covered with laurel tree woods, except for some islands and north african parts, these woods dissapeared during the last ice age.

laurier.jpg

But Laurel made a comeback; it conquered our kitchens.
In the French cuisine laurel leaves are supposed to be in the famous ‘bouquet garni’. This goes only for the laurus nobilis; many of the other species are toxic.

The laurel tree was sacred to the ancient Greek; this herb was symbol for victory and purification.
The Romans used it not only to spice their food; the laurel crown means victory for the one that wears it; laurel comes from latin ‘Laus’ which means ‘praise’.

laurier3.jpg

The brused leaves provided wound healing compresses; due to one of the compounds in laurel that has a astringent function.

Essential oil is derived from the fresh leaves, branches and sometimes the berries or the roots.
This oil contents a lot of oxides (50%); namely cineol (‘eucalyptus scent’), combined with monoterpenic alchols (20%) and monoterpenes (10-20%) and esters (10%).

Laurel essential oil is a strong and versatile oil, that has a good effect on our health when vaporised:, its keeps lungs healthy and clean from mucus, it builds our immuinty against virusses, it is fungicide (against candida!) ant-bacterial (specially against staphylococci, enterococci, pnemococci, E. coli etc) it relaxes muscular spasm, it clears obstructions in lymfatic tissue, its neurotonic, anti-rheumatic and it kan regulate disturbances between the para-and the symphatic nervesystem.

On an emotional level this oil, in smal doses, can give a mental push - it gives one the capacity to overcome ones problems, to deal with situations an to succeed.
I like to give massages with this oil on the day before exams or other events that call for a peronal victory.

laurier2.jpg

On a spiritual level there is another, deeper message in this oil.
Though it can bring you the victory you desire, there is a responsibility that comes with it; those that wear the crown have to deal with these responsibilities and a victory means often times hard work.

You need to be prepared to work for your reward. This is a serious oil – an oil that was associated with emperors and conquerors, way, way back into our human history.

This oils theme is to get the ‘whole you’ into your consiousness, not just the parts that ‘want’, ‘need’ or ‘like’, but it confronts you with your own responsibility as the designer from your own life.
People that got stuck in their victim-roles can benefit from this oil when they are therapeutically coached wit it.


More aromatherapy posts:

About yarrow:
https://steemit.com/aromatherapy/@dutchess/aroma-steem-yarrow-achillae-millefolium

About Daucus carotis
https://steemit.com/sundayscentexperience/@dutchess/aroma-steem-daucus-carotis-and-angelica-archanglica

About geranium:
https://steemit.com/aromatherapy/@dutchess/bourbon-geranium

About mountain lavender https://steemit.com/aromatherapy/@dutchess/mountain-lavender /center>

About jasmin:
https://steemit.com/photography/@dutchess/jasmin

About clove:
https://steemit.com/aromatherapy/@dutchess/aroma-steempower-clove-oil

About valerian:
https://steemit.com/aromatherapy/@dutchess/valeriana-officinalis


Today is Sunday - which means it's the day to share your #sundayscentexperience: Post a pic of something that has a special scent for you and explain us why.
Use the proper hashtag so you end up in the right feed, from where i can resteem the best entries.

Njoy your 'smelly sunday' peeps ! Steem on!

Sort:  

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Have you read the latest breaking news yet?

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @dutchess to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Laurel is a bay leaf?? Who knew? I always use it dried. I have never, in fact, even seen a bay leaf that was fresh.

I cook a lot with it, especially soups and stews and spaghetti sauce! I am excited to learn so much more about it as cooking with it was the extent of m knowledge!

Thank you once again for sharing your broad knowledge of herbs and oils with me. I am learning so much from you!

Upped and tip!

I think a bay leaf is a laurel too. Like daun salam is the indonesian bay leaf

And omg! I was so dead tired last night. Ithink that gave me dislection ha ha ha so many text mistakes! Hope i corrected them all now

I was shocked!!! :) I was going to tell you today, but, I could understand it, so what the heck! xoxox

What a wonderful post thanks very much. I love Using Bay laurel in cooking and medicine. One of my most used herbs.
Have a beautiful day
Namaste

Thank you Sally Beth!

Very interesting, Judith! I did not know that it was possible to make oil out of laurels and especially not to know about its unique properties. I can not even imagine its smell. a very useful post for me. Thank you!

Thank you for resteeming @tali72 😘

Ohhhhhhhhhhhh, I know this leaf very well, but under name Bay leaf. I had no idea until now that Laurel and Bay leaf is one and the same and I never seen it fresh, only dried. I use it a lot especially while cooking European soups or Indian Food. My grandmother always used it a lot in cooking and even when she was making pickles in combination with dill and peppercorns. Again, great info Dear @dutchess, I learned something new from you. Beautiful photos by the way, especially the first one ...........upv & rsd 🌸💖🌸

I am not sure its the same. Though close! I used to work with Bay oil too and i remem ber its a slightly different oil. But there are so many laurels! I love to cook with the asian laurel; daun salam

Have a sweet night my friend ! Thanks for this full scent post ^_^
bisous.png

My duo-penotty wonkie! I love this one. Merci chère Barbara! Comment alles-vous?

Not that bad my dear ! ^_^ except some awful headaches due to cervicals issues (long station in front of computer and the position when I'm drawing...) everything is doing wonderfuly.
Hope you are wealthy my lovely friend... ? 😘

I am doing fine. Slowly getting back to fulldays, though that makes me a couch potato in the evening....but i guess that in time will improve too. You need me for your back and neck massages! 😉
But since you have to do without me i will give you a good recepy for the cervical headache:

Sweet almond oil, 50 ml. Put in 45 drops of sweet marjoram oil with 5 drops of pepperminth - gently rubb on the neck - you need only very little of this blend. You can additionally rub in a drop on your face, just above the ears (os sphenoidale)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60968.19
ETH 2367.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56