Rimworld: First Impressions

in #archdruid6 years ago (edited)


I love games that offer a challenge, and the idea of running a colony on a distant world was just the setting that would catch my eye! Dwarf Fortress was always a game that was of interest to me, but whilst the complexity and the emergent gameplay was just the right thing for me, let's say that the UI was best described as an acquired taste.

So, I've had my eye on Rimworld for quite some time now. A smaller number of people and a much better interface and graphical overlay meant that it was likely to be the Dwarf Fortress for me! Since the Steam Early Access, I've been watching and waiting, however I tend not to buy into the Early Access due to the risk of the projects going under (I do back a few games on Kickstarter), but more often because I don't want to play a partly finished game, I want the full experience the first time I play!

World Generation and Setup


The world is randomly generated and this is a game with no hand holding. You can choose to start in a nasty place and it is definitely a game that benefits from the Ironman (permadeath) setting. Basically the setting is that your three colonists are dumped unceremoniously onto a planet that is partly inhabited (there seem to be humans, alien life and some sort of ancient secret...) that is made up of many different biomes.

Depending on the setting that you choose, you can be dumped with either more people or more equipment. However, the base game that I began the game with is the standard three person and standard equipment and materials.


Speaking of people, your colonists are also randomly generated with a wide variety of skills, preferences, jobs, traits and existing conditions. You definitely DON'T have the cream of the crop here!

Current Situation


This game is a game full of steep learning curves and unexpected difficulties. After all, you are dropped onto an alien planet with minimal resources so you shouldn't expect a cakewalk here.

So far, I've built up my little colony to have a little potato farm, enough sleeping quarters to house my colonists and a small wood fired power generator. Simple but on the verge of self sustaining. I hope to have a wind power generator up soon!

I have fought off a couple of simple raids, and also managed to pick up a defector from one of the neighbouring tribes. I also managed to capture a prisoner from one of the raids, who I'm trying to persuade to join my newly founded kingdom....

I am afraid that I've lost my trusty Labrador to a wandering Lynx. Actually, I would say that I lost her to a stupid mistake on my part, as the dog and lynx got in a fight and both got severely injured and blacked out. So, I had one of my colonists heal the both of them (thinking that the lynx would be grateful), after which the lynx finished off the dog...


I also have managed to tame two Llama sort of beasts, who will provide wool, and two cow-like animals who you can milk for a gasoline-like substance to power generators. Sadly, I found out the hard way that you can't harvest them for meat, as they explode... putting one of my colonists out of action for a while with serious burns.

First Impressions

So, I am struggling to grow my colony and to prepare for the winter. I've had a number of setbacks, some self-inflicted, but I've survived and learnt....

... and I have to say that I LOVE this game. It is a slow burn game with steep learning curves and viscous survival mechanic. You will lose, your colonists will die, and perhaps your colony won't make it. It will be a struggle, but wow WHAT a GREAT GAME!

I will be definitely playing a good deal more of this in the coming months and weeks. The bonus is that it is pretty easy on the hardware as well, so my laptop can run it pretty decently. This is the ideal travelling game!

Review Specs

DELL XPS 15 (9560)

CPU: i7-7700HQ
RAM: 16 GB
Storage: SSD
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050



Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones





The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

SB_new.png



steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.gamerjokerbreadder.com/2018/10/19/rimworld-first-impressions/

Sort:  

At UltimaCorp we like to find and support worthy contributions to the community. Please accept the upvote we have given you!

We represent STEEMPUNK-NET, the first massively multiplayer online role-playing game on STEEMIT. We hope to meet you on our server!

STEEMPUNKNET Discord

If you dare, step into the Clockwork Arena and test your skills against other Steemians.

Do you want profit and still be helpful?
Delegate some SteemPower to @steempunknet :
[50] [100] [200] [500] [1000]

Thank you for the support!

Congratulations! Your post was selected by the @dropahead Curation Team (dCT)


I want a team with those specifications :(

From what I read the game seems interesting, graphically it seems quite simple, but behind it there is a game that can catch you.

The game is free, or did you have to buy it?


@dropahead - Supporting your STEEM adventure

Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 87%.

Well said Gabriel García Marquez: "One learns to write by writing" Keep trying, you will soon achieve excellence!

(1) @dropahead's quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Order and coherence
- Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
- Images source and their usage license

Thank you for the support and curation!

The game was bought, and it was one of the very few games in recent history that I've bought at full price (and on the first day out of Early Access even!). The graphics are very simple, but the mechanics of the game are deep and unforgiving. It really harks back to the good old days of gaming, when things could and did get out of control and that your experience would be formed by dealing with difficult situations!

Ahh perfect! I have been staring at this game on my Steam wishlist for quite some time now, waiting for a sale to pull the trigger. I really enjoyed Prison Architect but just kind of lost interest once I had built all there was to build and my prison was running on autopilot. This seems like just the right kind of revamp to really suck me in.

Sadly, I found out the hard way that you can't harvest them for meat, as they explode...

I love that natural discovery of game mechanics... especially when they make sense. One of the reasons I can't get into those deep and heavy strategy games (Europa Universalis and the like) is because I can't intuit anything. Seeing an animal blow up and making that instant connection to the mechanics... that is my kind of learning curve.

It only just popped out of Early Access, and I snapped it up straight away. These days, I never buy anything at full price unless it is pretty exceptional. The last time was for Frostpunk. I would say that this is going to be worth it at full price, but the sale price is an insta-buy... Sell a kidney or a kid... It's worth it! (but that is only my opinion!).

It's leap frogged the 1000 other games in my Steam backlog of shame!

PS, in hindsight the boomalope blowing up was blindingly obvious... You milk it for frigging PETROL!

This seems like something I would enjoy!!! Very interesting! :-D

It's a great game... In depth with emergent game play and stories!

Nice thanks for the overview of rimworld :) it's one of those games that a few friends recommended but hadn't really picked up on my self.

Definitely worth it in my humble opinion! If you like these sort of management survival games.

You got me this time with this game. I love games especially like Factorio or Production Line and I am wishing to try Rimworld.
However, I don't have a lot of time so a lot of games have to compete for my time.
I have actually just written something about the game development (being a 'game' developer myself).

Factorio also caught my eye, I think it is in my library but I haven't played it yet...

So far (I'm on my second game, after my first crashed and literally burned....), Rimworld has been really everything that I had hoped for! It's managed to put XCom2 on hold for the moment!

Yeah just saw it pop up as out of early access, def gonna pick it up.

It's worth it! I would even say that it is a full price buy if you can manage it! This sort of developer is worth the support!

as a Rimworld veteran 241 houers on steem lol... a its one of my favorite game of all time. a have played it a sins the begin. its a few very good mods out there to. Increased Stack. is maby to one a will recommend the most. if you need any tips a now everything in this game :) and remember to roof over your sock pile..:)

My find colony is running a bit smoother than the first one... Although, I haven't figured out how to heal bleeding and injured people when they are hurt on quests (caravans)? I need a sleeping place, but it is too time consuming to build one. I guess I need to bring sleeping rolls?

take some Herbal medicine whit u and use the super simple sleeping spot u dont need to build noting. make it to a medical bed. (faster healing)
and heal them out there. u can stay a few days normally. its a good way of looting and area to special for components.

Ah, perfect! That will make a huge difference! Thanks heaps!

That is a game that also appeals to me oh for more time to play haha.

Yea, time to play is always tricky to find. Luckily this runs well on my laptop, and doesn't need the power of my gaming desktop!

I haven't made time for any kind of gaming for a long time. Kinda miss the respite...

Solid post.

Namaste, JaiChai

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61129.70
ETH 2660.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55