Question for Steemit’s WitnessessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #apps5 years ago (edited)

Question for Steemit’s Witnesses


"Field of Flowers" by George Hitchcock (1850-1913)

By Lannie Brockstein

December 13th 2018

After the Steemit Ramble meeting yesterday, I reflected upon what was said and wrote the following questions:

  • Is there an app for Steem called Steemail? I hope to be able to send e-mails to my family and friends—that when they have read them and if they have upvoted them, I will have earned Steem from their having done so. I hope to send steemails to my family and friends.

  • Is there an app for Steem called Steemessages? I hope to be able to send text-messages to my family and friends via the Steem blockchain—that when they have read them and if they have upvoted them, I will have earned Steem from their having done so. I hope to send steemessages to my family and friends.

  • Is there an app for Steem called Steemusic? I hope to be able to send mp3s or another sound file version of my songs to my family and friends via the Steem blockchain—that when they have listened to them and if they have upvoted them, I will have earned Steem from their having done so. I hope to send steemusic to my family and friends.

  • Is there an app being developed for Steem called Steemephone? I hope to be able to phone my family and friends via the Steem blockchain—that after having spoken to them and if they have upvoted that call, I will have earned Steem from their having done so. I hope to send steemephone calls to my family and friends.

  • Is there an app for Steem called Steemages? I hope to be able to send my selfies and other photographs, and other image files of mine to my family and friends via the Steem blockchain—that when they have looked at them and if they have upvoted them, I will have earned Steem from their having done so. I hope to send steemages to my family and friends.

  • Is there an app for Steem called Steemagazines? I hope to be able to send my magazine articles to my family and friends via the Steem blockchain—that when they have read them and if they have upvoted them, I will have earned Steem from their having done so. I hope to send steemagazines to my family and friends.

  • Is there an app for Steem called Steemovies? I hope to be able to send my videos to my family and friends via the Steem blockchain—that when they have watched at them and if they have upvoted them, I will have earned Steem from their having done so. I hope to send steemovies to my family and friends.

  • Is there an app for Steem called Steememos? I hope to be able to send memos/tweets to my family and friends via the Steem blockchain—that after having read them and if they have upvoted those memos, I will have earned Steem from their having done so. I hope to send steememos to my family and friends.

Steemail * Steemessages * Steemusic * Steemephone
Steemages * Steemagazines * Steemovies * Steememos

If these apps have not yet been developed for Steem, then I hope for the Steem blockchain to someday feature them!

From Lannie.

Sort:  

Hi @lanniebrockstein

Really enjoyed the post, here.
for the Welcome Wagon @welcomewagon

Small Welcome Wagon.png

Thank you for having invited me to The Welcome Wagon. I visited Cape Cod with my family when I was a teenager—what lovely beaches.

This post has been included in today's SOS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



Merry Christmas, Lannie @lanniebrockstein! ☻♥
I'm coming back after Christmas. Thanks!

Merry Christmas to you, too, Marlyn Cabrera! *smiles.

You're welcome! 'Tis important what you and everybody else at canna-curate does do.

I love that you are asking what all of us what to know!
Ren

Thank you! I admire that you and your husband are cross-country travelers, *Smiles. 'Tis something which I hope to do, too.

haha. I do hope you get to someday too.
Ren

I am not sure from the article, but if you are talking about wanting to send private messages, private calls, private mail, etcetera, and then have family/friends upvote them, there are some concerns. The problem is that once things are private there's no way to prevent abuse anymore. At least when things happen out in the open we can flag them and 'correct' the 'undeserved' rewards. What if two powerful Steemians start 'messaging' each other and upvote each message in tens or hundreds of STEEM, taking that from the 'public' reward pool.

If you are not talking about private, but 'open'/public functionalities on the blockchain, then:

  • messaging is already/becomes available in the Partiko app that runs on Steem
  • music is done on Steem through @dsound
  • images through @steepshot, @appics
  • movies can in theory (now it's mostly vlogs) be done through @dtube
  • articles through @dlike
  • memos/tweets can quickly be send through Partiko, eSteem, etc.

To name a few options. Enjoy :-)

Hey @soyrosa, *smiles,

Please don’t mind the shadow who did try to darken the brightness that is radiating from the adult discussion of ideas in this post.

Speaking of abuse, it seems to me that Steem’s new RC system which (since HF20?) allows for new accounts to be made by regular users, is being abused by bid-bot owners whom are using their RC to make (without any cost to themselves) hundreds of new accounts for themselves everyday, and that they are then delegating the SP of those new accounts to themselves or to their bid-bots. Is that what it also seems like, to you?

As for an app called “Steemail” being abused, what is your opinion regarding the following ideas? I thought of them after having continued to reflect upon your previous reply.

  • For e-mails being sent via a “Steemail” app each to require a minimum of 500 words (and not gibberish) per “steemail” sent.

  • For a limit of one steemail being able to be sent per day.

  • For no-mass steemails being able to be sent.

  • For such an app to feature a plagiarism-checker that scans steemails before they are sent in order make sure that the same steemails are not repeatedly sent or copied from the internet (including from the Steem blockchain)—and that if they are not original, for those steemails (if upvoted by their recipient) to be ineligible to mine Steem from the reward pool.

Do you suppose these ideas can prevent an app called “Steemail” from being abused in the way that you described?

From Lannie.

Hey @soyrosa, *smiles.

Well, aren’t most people’s e-mails already being read by Google and Microsoft? Seriously, though, thank you for having mentioned the problem of spam.

I agree that it is important for any Steem-based dApp not to be vulnerable to being abused. Perhaps that is where Steem's reputation system can be used.

Is there a bot that can show if spam is generally only posted by those whose reputation number is below a certain number (due to their posts and comments being repeatedly flagged by many different users)?

If so, then perhaps only those whose reputation number is very high can be eligible to use "Steemail", for example, because their reputation number shows they are trustworthy enough not to abuse it.

Yes, part of the appeal of using a blockchain as a ledger is that it takes trust out of the equation. But isn't the reputation number system supposed to partially indicate the trustworthiness of the user? Even if only those whose reputation number is 75 can use "Steemail", for example, then at least some of us would be able to do so, and the rest of us might someday be able to do so.

Thank you for having mentioned the many dApps that you did. Do you happen to know if songs posted on DSound are therefore posted on the blockchain? Or is it like the way that images posted on Steemit are not actually posted on the decentralized Steem blockchain, but on Steemit's centralized servers, instead?

Also, are images posted on appics and steepshot actually posted on the Steem blockchain?

It was only recently when I learned that videos posted to DTube are not posted on the Steem blockchain.

Perhaps it is specifically text that is able to be posted on the Steem blockchain.

From Lannie.

it seems that whatever triggered this comment has nothing to do with this post. @lanniebrockstein has been attending PYPT and is a valued contributor to the programs he's participated in. Your comment seriously lacks context in reference to his post. You're better than that @globocop

Acts 9:4 “And he fell to the earth, and heard a voice saying unto him, Saul, Saul, why persecutest thou me?”

2 Peter 2:1-3 (KJV)

1 But there were false prophets also among the people, even as there shall be false teachers among you, who privily shall bring in damnable heresies, even denying the Lord that bought them, and bring upon themselves swift destruction.

2 And many shall follow their pernicious ways; by reason of whom the way of truth shall be evil spoken of.

3 And through covetousness shall they with feigned words make merchandise of you: whose judgment now of a long time lingereth not, and their damnation slumbereth not.


Hosea 4:6 (KJV)

“My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge: because thou hast rejected knowledge, I will also reject thee, that thou shalt be no priest to me: seeing thou hast forgotten the law of thy God, I will also forget thy children.”

The majority of what your asking is already widely available through the Steem blockchain. Personally if you want to send a message, memo, photo to friends or family the simplest way right now is to @partiko mobile app and use the inbuilt messaging - if you want friends and family to upvote what you send them just create a post - and include some guidance on how to create an account on the Steem blockchain like @steempassport so if they need an account it’s obvious how to create it.

I doubt people will create a unique Steem blockchain based e-mail service because plenty already exist that are easy to use like gmail, and likewise text messaging is universally available via the likes of WhatsApp. @dsound will let you send voice messages or music, and @dtube you can share videos or home movies.

Personally the big take away from this post is, if everyone active on the Steem Blockchain made their own Christmas Card post to send to friends and family - including details at the bottom how they can easily make a Steem account to upvote it - potentially we could draw in more active users, that might well invest in Steem if they like what they see.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Hey @c0ff33a,

Yeah, loving-kindness is usually what attracts.

Christmas cards, Thanksgiving Day cards, Hallowe'en cards, April Fool's Day cards, birthday cards, etc.

Is there an app called "Steem Cards"?

From Lannie.

Thank you so much for mentioning us!

Posted using Partiko Android

You spawn some interesting questions and ideas there Lannie.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, @enginewitty, *Smiles. The idea of monetizing everything that people do when online is a noble one, as it has the potential to help transform society from being debt-based to being credit-based.

Some of the items on your wish-list are already in existence:

  • Texts /Tweets can, indeed, be posted to Twitter and cross-posted to the Steem blockchain via https://www.share2steem.com/
  • Images can also be posted to Instagram and cross-posted to the Steem blockchain via https://www.share2steem.com/
  • Images can be posted to SteepShot.io (which is an Instagram-like interface on the Steem blockchain) and they will appear in your Steemit Feed. SteepShot may be used on a web-browser or with their mobile-app from your app-store.
  • Music (or spoken-word recordings) can be posted to Dsound (which is a Soundcloud-like interface for the Steem blockchain) and will appear in your Steemit feed.
  • Videos can be posted to Dtube (which is a YouTube-like interface for the Steem blockchain) and videos posted there will appear in your Steemit feed. I think Dtube may also have a mobile-app, but I'm not sure.
  • Hey @thekittygirl,

    Thank you for having mentioned those dApps, *Smiles.

    How do you feel about the idea of weekly contests whereby Steem users post their reviews of all the different Steem-based dApps (with each week a different dApp being reviewed), along with a live broadcast awards show at the next SteemFest that reveals the best dApps which use the Steem blockchain, as voted by Steemians? Do you happen to know of anybody who might like to run with that idea?

    From Lannie.

    I think that sounds like a fabulous idea! Great thinking! 😃

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.34
    TRX 0.11
    JST 0.034
    BTC 66344.62
    ETH 3214.81
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 4.37