What IS Appalachia?

in #appalachia7 years ago (edited)

So we are "discovered" again. It’s happened every generation, sometimes more often, since the Civil War.
-Don West, Romantic Appalachia: Poverty Pays If You Ain't Poor, 1972

A Region? A Culture? A Place? What IS Appalachia?

If you live in the States or have been following our news, you may have heard about #Appalachia. From the "Trump Country" title we earned based on our votes in the Presidential election to the way national changes in health policy and economics are impacting our communities, we've been in the news a lot. But as Don West said in the quote above, this isn't the first time we've been "discovered."

Despite our newfound popularity, there's not much about us on Steemit yet. Here's a brief intro to resolve that!

owsley fork- @catdotexe on steemit.jpg

Owsley Fork in Berea, Kentucky, shows a slice of the region's beauty from the edge of Appalachia

Appalachia 101

Now, I'm an Appalachian, born and raised, but I'm by no means an ~objective authority~ on the subject. If you want some other sources, I'd suggest asking an Appalachian-- here's a round-up of the one's I've found on Steemit so far!

At its most basic, Appalachia is a geographic and cultural region that spreads out from the beautiful and ancient Appalachian Mountains, which run from Canada to Alabama. There's some debate about who and what belongs to Appalachia, but many agree that the Appalachian Regional Commission's definition is a good place to start. You've got Kentucky, Virginia, West Virginia, Tennessee, and North Carolina in Central Appalachia, and can add everything from southern New York state to northern Mississippi if you're feelin' frisky. Here's what the ARC says Appalachia looks like.

Beyond the Basics

Things get a little hairy from there. Lots of people like to focus on Appalachia's culture, from coal mining to old-time music to a strong agricultural tradition empowered by our legendary biodiversity. There are plenty of other stereotypes, but the region's so large and complex that they often contradict. For example, there are lingering myths about Appalachia's racism, which are based in fact-- the land was stolen from Native Americans, after all, and there was more than enough segregation, lynchings, and other atrocities throughout Appalachia and across the States.

Yet at the same time, the immaculate bell hooks, a groundbreaking black feminist theorist and proud Kentuckian, remembers her time in the mountains differently. In her essay Kentucky is my Fate, she writes:

Folks who lived in the hills were committed to living free. Hillbilly folk chose to live above the law, believing in the right of each individual to determine the manner in which they would live their lives. Living among Kentucky mountain folk was my first experience of a culture based on anarchy. Folks living in the hills believed that freedom meant self-determination.

This anarchic side of the region has always held a special place in my heart. From my days playing make-believe in the woods as a kid to my current efforts to change and develop the economy in my local community, the intersection of culture, politics, history, and economics is unlike any I've found elsewhere.

But, if you want to know more, you should come see for yourself, or ask an Appalachian about their experience!

A photo by Matt Robinson of Pittsburgh, the Paris of Appalachia

Why You Should Care

It's undeniable that the States and the world are in a time of great transition, and, as I mentioned in the opening, nowhere is this more evident than in the mountains of Appalachia. I've heard it claimed that we're at the frontline of a lot of structural shifts that will shape the next quarter of the 21st Century. It is my hope that the solutions we'll develop out of necessity to the international dynamics we face will be applicable to your community or your region. Or, if not, maybe we'll have to learn from you! Either way, we're connected, and in the words of WEB DuBois:

As The South Goes, So Goes The Nation.

What have you heard about Appalachia? What do you want to know about it? Let me know in the comments below!

Sort:  

Unfortunately, my experiences with Appalachia as a ten-year resident have been mostly negative. I love the land, love the mountains, love what these communities should have been. But the modern reality is depressing and even a bit frightening.

I'm excited to see someone else here blogging about the region, though, and hope we can use the #appalachia hashtag enough for it to start showing up in topics. I'm glad I'm no longer blogging alone about this part of the U.S.

that's great I'm newbie.

i'm sorry to hear your experiences have been negative! you're definitely not alone there-- i've had more than my own fair share. i've also had experiences i couldn't have anywhere else in the world, and that's why i wanted to write this post-- the reality seems so much bigger than our separate experiences or the stories we're fed, and what better way to figure out what all that means than by talking about it?

i'm glad to be blogging together, too!

I was born in Pikeville, KY and thoroughly enjoyed this post! I think it really is hard to put into words the independence and free-mindedness of many Appalachians. Maybe it has come through generations of having to make do with what you do have and focusing on the family. If you travel into that area, you will be surprised at the generosity and genuine good intentions of the people that you meet. They are not simply pretending to care, or looking for an angle, they are just good people. When I go back to visit family now, it feels like a big hug from your "Papaw".....and warms your soul...and I don't want to leave.

Pikeville, you say?! instant follow! sorry to hear about those Nazis who came to darken your doorstep earlier this year. i was happy to see the number of young locals who turned out to let them know they weren't welcome!

unfortunately my family's more of the feuding type than the hugging type, lol, but i get the same hugged feelings just from being in the mountains! hard to imagine myself anywhere else

Yeah, that was short lived I think. I remember as a boy, driving back to Ohio and seeing the rings of fire burning up the mountainsides during the night. Haven't thought of that in years.

I love the catskill mountain area,but I agree that the area is essentially a depressed economy ( at least in upstate Newyork).

yeah, definitely! but then again, isn't most of rural America, and much of the world beyond? that's one of the most fascinating parts of Appalachia for me-- how it's so American and so NOT American at the same time

@catdotexe have you heard about the @minnowsupport group? I'd love to see your posts getting some traction. Let me know if you want more info.

i have heard of that group, but i haven't taken the time to dive in yet. thanks for the nudge!

I'm happy to be your representative from The Free State of McDowell County, West Virginia. :) I live in Portugal now, though. Great post.

McDowell, you say?! instant follow! i look forward to hearing the story of how you ended up in Portugal, if you'd care to share!

Yep, McDowell County is where I was born. I plan on telling the story, at some point, but it's a long one! :)

I'm from Newfoundland, Canada originally and this reminds me a lot of home. Being remote, culturally distinct, and dependent on a narrow economy result in a place that, while a part of the country, is worlds apart from it. Great post!

definitely well-put, @spurious-claims. that tension's always been infinitely fascinating to me. it sounds like you don't live in newfoundland anymore? do you miss it?

Appalachia great informative post thanks for such post keep sharing.

I think America has as many layers as the largest onion. I love the region and have been through it many times. Never a bad experience!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57178.77
ETH 3095.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12