You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What IS Appalachia?

in #appalachia7 years ago

I was born in Pikeville, KY and thoroughly enjoyed this post! I think it really is hard to put into words the independence and free-mindedness of many Appalachians. Maybe it has come through generations of having to make do with what you do have and focusing on the family. If you travel into that area, you will be surprised at the generosity and genuine good intentions of the people that you meet. They are not simply pretending to care, or looking for an angle, they are just good people. When I go back to visit family now, it feels like a big hug from your "Papaw".....and warms your soul...and I don't want to leave.

Sort:  

Pikeville, you say?! instant follow! sorry to hear about those Nazis who came to darken your doorstep earlier this year. i was happy to see the number of young locals who turned out to let them know they weren't welcome!

unfortunately my family's more of the feuding type than the hugging type, lol, but i get the same hugged feelings just from being in the mountains! hard to imagine myself anywhere else

Yeah, that was short lived I think. I remember as a boy, driving back to Ohio and seeing the rings of fire burning up the mountainsides during the night. Haven't thought of that in years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65771.81
ETH 3174.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61