You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What IS Appalachia?

in #appalachia7 years ago

Unfortunately, my experiences with Appalachia as a ten-year resident have been mostly negative. I love the land, love the mountains, love what these communities should have been. But the modern reality is depressing and even a bit frightening.

I'm excited to see someone else here blogging about the region, though, and hope we can use the #appalachia hashtag enough for it to start showing up in topics. I'm glad I'm no longer blogging alone about this part of the U.S.

Sort:  

that's great I'm newbie.

i'm sorry to hear your experiences have been negative! you're definitely not alone there-- i've had more than my own fair share. i've also had experiences i couldn't have anywhere else in the world, and that's why i wanted to write this post-- the reality seems so much bigger than our separate experiences or the stories we're fed, and what better way to figure out what all that means than by talking about it?

i'm glad to be blogging together, too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66425.17
ETH 3185.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63