Eating the Appalachian Trail, Edible wild plants

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Edible plants on the AT

Knowing a few plants that are edible along the AT is not only fun, but could be potentially life saving. I have listed not all, but a fair amount of semi easy to identify trees, plants, fruits and fungi that are classified as edible.

NOTE: To better learn and confirm each plant, I recommend prior to ingesting any, to please practice scouting these foods with a field guide. Never eat anything your not 100% sure is safe, and test for allergies if you feel necessary.

Cat Tails

Edible Parts: All raw or cooked young shoots, peeled stalks, Immature flower(hot dog looking thing) Spikes, sprouts. Cook flower and eaten like corn on cob....with butter.
Taste: kinda like corn
Season: Year round
Where: Throughout the entire AT, (near water)

Yes, Im playing around here....that's a pretty mature stalk. Not exactly good eattin...unless you want to make flour...

Dandelions

Edible Parts: Raw All or cooked, Leaves dried and made into tea is comparable to coffee.
Taste: bitter, but the flowers are semi sweet
Season: March-Sept.
Where: Throughout the entire AT

Little drawing I did of the Dandelion, I love their name...I bet people would buy them if they didn't grow everywhere.

Juneberry (AKA) Amelanchier

Edible Parts: Raw Fruit
Taste: Huckleberry like
Season: June-Sept
Where: Throughout the entire AT

Wintergreen (AKA) Gaultheria (AKA) Checkerberry

Edible Parts: Raw leaves and fruit, Dried white flowers make a great tea,
Taste: Smells like gum, doesn't quite taste like gum
Season: July-Aug Flowers Aug-June Fruit
Where: Throughout the entire AT

Chanterelle Mushrooms (AKA) Cacntharellus Cibarius

Edible Parts: The entire mushroom, cut bit above where the ground level is to assure new growth
Taste: Meaty
Season: Late spring early summer
Where: Throughout most the AT, (thick shady wooded areas)

My last batch of Chanterelle's I collected in WA frying up. Mmm, so good with garlic and butter!

Common Chickweed

Edible Parts: Raw young leaves and stem (cook mature hairy leaves)
Taste: Bitter lettuce
Season: Year round
Where: Throughout the entire AT

Cloudberry

Edible Parts: Raw Fruit
Taste: Like salmonberry but more tart
Season: July-Aug
Where: NH, Maine (had to add it because of my name, and I LOVE blackberries)

Wild Strawberries & Wood Strawberries

Edible Parts : Raw fruits. Leaves can be dried to make a delicious tea.
Taste: Taste better than store bought!
Season: Summer
Where: Canada down to TN

Wood Strawberries, seeds on outside.

Ramp (AKA) Allium Trucoccum (AKA) Wild Leek

Edible Parts: Raw or cooked leaves and bulb
Taste: Delicious
Season: Flowers June-July,
Where: Throughout the entire AT

Clovers

Edible Parts : Young leaves, flower heads (white, pink,purple, red,yellow) all rich in protein, seeds.
Taste: The flower heads are sweet
Season: April-Oct
Where:: Throughout the entire AT

Laetiporus (AKA) Sulphur Shelf (AKA) Chicken of the woods

Edible Parts : Cooked tender edges, tastes like chicken once cooked
Taste: Like chicken...no joke
Season: Late Summer-Fall
Where: Throughout the entire AT. (on dead or injured trees)

Passion-Flower (AKA) Maypop

Edible Parts : Center of fruit, Iooks like a large yellow egg
Taste: Citrus taste
Season:July -Oct
Where: Throughout most the AT

Below an unripe Passion fruit...the insides full of meat and seeds that will turn yellow when ripe.
you eat the contents but not the shell

Blackberries (AKA) Brambles

Edible Parts : Raw leaves, fruit., and young shoots
Taste: Sweet...my favorite
Season: Spring-Summer
Where: Throughout the entire AT

Purslane

Edible Parts : Raw stems, leaves, and seeds or cook. Rich in iron. (Ghandi's favorite)
Taste: Little lemony
Season: Summer
Where: Throughout the entire AT

Oyster Mushroom (AKA) Pleurotus Ostreatus

Edible Parts : All
Taste: mild...good with salt and pepper saute with some butter and garlic...killer!
Season: Year round
Where: Throughout the entire AT, (Grows on trees)

Scallions (AKA) Allium

Edible Parts: All, small like onions, hollow centered tubes that come to a point.
Taste: Like an onion
Season: Spring-Early Summer
Where: Throughout the entire AT, (fields and open areas mostly)

Ostrich Ferns (AKA) Pteretis pensylvani

Edible Parts : Raw or cooked Fiddlehead's (meaning young curled sprouts) under 6"
Taste: Earthy, a mix of like broccoli and spinach
Season: Early Spring
Where: Canada down to VA

Chicory (AKA) Cichorium

Edible Parts: Raw purple flowers, young leaves best, and boiled roots
Taste: Taste like the Dandelion
Season: Early spring- leaves May-Oct-Flowers Fall-Spring roots
Where: Throughout the entire AT

Wild Grapes (AKA) Vitus

Edible Parts : Raw fruit, cooked young leaves. Grapes are great for extra energy
Taste: I used to eat these out of my grandmas yard, the perfect amount of tart with sweet
Season: Fruit Aug-Oct
Where: Throughout most the AT

Huckleberry (AKA) Gaylussacia Baccata

Edible Parts: The Fruit
Taste: Tart, but not overly
Season: June-Sept
Where: Throughout the entire AT

Day Lily

Edible Parts: Flowers and leaves, raw or cooked.
Taste: Parts similar to mild onion
Season: June-Aug
Where: Throughout most the AT

Mulberry (AKA) Morus Nigra

Edible Parts: Young cooked shoots, and raw (Ripe berries only-dark purple) Berries
Taste: Like a dry fig
Season: Spring- Early summer
Where: Throughout the entire AT

American Basswood (AKA) Tilia (AKA) Linden

Edible Parts: leaves, younger the better..good in pesto, Sap can be made into syrup
Taste: Pleasing- sweet!
Season: Year round
Where: throughout most the AT
Also: Dried flowers act as antioxidants; boil them into a tea have great smell and believed to treat colds, cough, fever, infection. Fiber know for being the best natural cording.

Fiber known for as being one of the best natural cording.

Willow Tree

Edible Parts: Chew chew small green twigs-swallow juice natural aspirin. Leaves high in Vitamin C 7-10 times higher then Oranges.
Taste: Like aspirin
Season: Year round
Where: Throughout the entire AT
Also: Mash up leaves and bark to make a paste and place on stings, cuts, burns, or swelling.

There's a lot more out there!

The Appalachian trail spans through the wilderness of fourteen U.S. states. Covering roughly 2,180 miles. There is a lot more out there that is edible aside from what I've listed, so read up and be safe.
knowledge is power, but it's useless without common sense.

Some numbers of ground covered on the AT

  1. Georgia 76.4 miles
  2. North Carolina 95.5 miles
  • 200 miles along the Tennessee border.
  1. Tennessee 287.9 miles
  • 200 miles along or near the North Carolina border.
  1. Virginia 550.3 miles
  2. West Virginia 4 miles
  • 20 miles along the West Virginia border.
  1. Maryland 40.9 miles
  2. Pennsylvania 229.6 miles
  3. New Jersey 72.2 miles
  4. New York 88.4 miles
  5. Connecticut 51.6 miles
  6. Massachusetts 90.2 miles
  7. Vermont 149.8 miles
  8. New Hampshire 160.9 miles
  9. Maine 281.4 miles
Sort:  

haha my fridge is full of these babies - Chanterelle Mushrooms

Picked at least 20-25 kg this summer. I make them ready, and freeze. Then whne i need shrooms, just use it

I'm so jealous! Where I'm living now I have to do some decent traveling to find good areas for gathering.
Enjoy those bad boys!

This is such valuable information, I can't thank you enough for sharing this with us all! All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

@katecloud I've always wondered about maybe doing the Appalachian trail.

I had no idea (nor even knew of) some of the things were edible.

Immature flower(hot dog looking thing)

I don't know why but this literally made me chuckle out loud. What a funny description, but one that everyone instantly would know what you meant.

And what a perfect name for a cool berry! (cloudberry) I will have to try it someday if I am able to.

I'd like to do a piece about tattoos with you and a few other fellow steemians if you have the chance and a little bit of time. Feel free to DM me on steemit chat (bendjmiller222) or facebook / email ([email protected]).

Hope to hear from you and keep up the creative work! You always create interesting content for steemit!

Good Morning @bendjmiller222, I'm gad you got a kick out of my post ;) I've always taken in information better when its paired with fun.

Yes, the cloud berry is good one, actually I could nerd out for a minute... It makes a kick ass liqueur mostly found in Europe. (I'm a bartender so that's a fun fact) The species has both male and female plants. The female only produces "a" berry after pollination from the male...similar to crab apples another favorite of mine.

I will email you, I'm curious what you have in mind.

Awesome!

It makes a kick ass liqueur mostly found in Europe

You should make your own brand and come up with a kick-ass label and a cool name :) I know you'd have at least one customer who would be willing to try it.

did you really eat each one of those plants. my favourite is Mulberries they used to grow by this one river and we pick them and eat them. you can also freeze them and it tastes so nice :)

Not everything, for ex: the cattail horn etc. So minus some "parts" . Mullberries are great ! you just have to be careful they're ripe, eat them too early and they can cause hallucinations.

Wow, this makes me realise exactly how screwed i'd be in nature without a guide. Thanks for the detailed post and including things like 'taste' really interesting.

Well, not screwed anymore. Because you just learned a few. ;)

The nature is full of nice food for all of us )

Wow...they made me tempted...nice post...i enjoyed reading as well as attracted to the pictures

Thank you, it took a while to put together, I love the positive feed back!

Interesting post, have always considered walking the Appalachian Trial. Any suggestions on good books to read before hand?

I'm actually leaving in April!! All set and antsy to roll out! I'll be blogging throughout my entire trip.

I'm glad we can contribute to your journey! Think of it as a little pre-hike trail magic.

I will deffinatly follow your blog. I am travelling around Thailand on a motorcycle eating food and looking at sites for three months if you want to follow my blog, I leave in December.

Delicious @katecloud Great article. I will use this next time I go camping and hiking! Thanks!

Great info. I used to pick Chanterelles on the central coast of California. Love me some passion flowers, but they seldom fruit in Cali. Good thing I live I in Cambodia now, because they are plentiful at every market here, and cheap.
I've never walked that trail but hear it's majestic... Maybe someday...

Its been a while since I've had Chanterelles, so good! Easy to come by where I used to live in WA.

I would add maybe nettles and morels :-)

I actually thought about that, especially the Morels-so good! However decided against a few that had extremely dangerous look a-likes or that take a fair amount of prepping. Mainly because I've based this around hikers on the Appalachian trail miles from civilization.
BUT some I've listed do have scary look a-likes...like the Chanterelle's however I felt maybe they're well enough known. It was a toss up. * lol*

I also wanted to add my favorite wild carrot (AKA) Queen Anne's Lace, but just the tinniest bit of it's look a-like the Poison Hemlock can cause death. Queen Anne however has a single tiny purple flower in the its center and unlike its look a-like, has a tons of root looking hairs at the base of the blooms. They both smell like carrots however. Wouldn't want to mix those up while out in the middle of no-where. Below Queen Anne's Lace

All great additions though for sure, and anyone looking to learn more should most definitely look into them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55213.27
ETH 2919.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.95