YOU NEVER KNOW WHAT YOU ARE GOING TO FIND - BUT YOU FIND MORE WHEN YOU LOOK

in #animals8 years ago

As many of you know, I love being in the woods, swamps, and anywhere else outdoors. You may also have noticed that when I am out there, I'm usually interacting with a lot of the creatures that I find. Long ago, I made this quote:


YOU NEVER KNOW WHAT YOU ARE GOING TO FIND, BUT YOU FIND MORE WHEN YOU LOOK!


Often, I have used it as a response to those who have asked how I am able to find so many interesting creatures on such a consistent basis.

However, there are both pros and cons to poking around in the woods.

CONS

Two of the biggest enemies of @papa-pepper having a fun time in the woods are Poison Ivy and Yellow Jackets, AKA Ground Hornets. Both seem to be everywhere, and I've found my fair share of both of them. Personally, since I am not allergic to bee stings, the hornets are more of a nuisance. Poison Ivy, however, is one that I seem to battle every year out in the wild.


Yellow Jackets (Ground Hornets)

Looking under logs is one of the best places to find various reptiles and amphibians in the wild, but often ground hornets will make their nests their too! If you are cautious enough, you can make it out un-stung even when you disturb a nest.


Poison Ivy

There it is, in all its horrible fearsomeness. Year after year, it attacks me when I least suspect it, and has even gotten so bad sometimes that I have had to sleep in another bed, just to try to keep @mama-pepper from being exposed to it.

This photo may look bad, but I've had a lot worse!

PROS

Despite the few hazards that I shared above, and the many more I did not mention, I'm not about to stop getting out there and interacting with the wildlife! Below are just a few photos that would not have been possible, if @papa-pepper wasn't out there looking! I love not only finding these incredible creatures, but getting some great shots to remember them by as well! Some of these are really some great photos!


SMOOTH GREEN SNAKE (Opheodrys vernalis)


BULLFROG (Rana catesbeiana)


BABY SPINY SOFTSHELL TURTLE (Apalone spinifera)


NORTHERN WATER SNAKE (Nerodia sipedon)


FIVE-LINED SKINK (Plestiodon fasciatus)


COLLECTION OF SNAKES

SMOOTH GREEN SNAKE, BROWN SNAKE, GARTER SNAKE, RED-BELLIED SNAKE


SAMPLING OF WILD CREATURES

GRAY TREE FROG, GARTER SNAKE, PAINTED TURTLE


SPRING PEEPER (Pseudacris crucifer)

As always, I'm @papa-pepper, and here's the proof:


proof-we-looked-and-found (Eastern Fox Snake - Pantherophis gloydi)


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation)

Sort:  

@papa-pepper darn it you got poison Ivy?
hahahaha
ffff.. the rashes look nasty
we used to have evil Ivy in the garden at the back but we pulled it all off
very acidic
guess what I found out just now that i have unfollowed you
something is wrong I think
Im sure I did not unfollow anyone

The photo is from earlier, none at the moment!

Have you ever tried wiping down with ammonia after being exposed to poison ivy. It works well for me. You want something that will break down the oily urushiol. I mix it with water about half and half. But I don't think it has to be that strong.

I'd have to wipe off with ammonia about every day during the summer, but it sounds better than the alternative!

Thanks!

Yes, you do have wipe down every day -- and watch that you don't get it from your clothes afterwards, too. I wonder what people did back in the old days. You don't read much about the settlers being affected by poison ivy. Maybe their other problems were just bigger.

Right, Poison Ivy most likely seemed small compared to the other problems that they had.

Just look at my other problems... Hotel pool towels with one blue line on them! What is wrong with people these days?!?!?!?!?!

The struggle is real. Don't let it get you down. ; )

Thanks for your kind words in this time of struggle and torment for me.

I'm glad we don't have those ground hornets here in Iowa. But the poison ivy, wild parsnip, and ticks are bad. Here is a feisty little fella I caught lurking around my campsite:

I believe I identified it as a Corn Snake. An extremely vicious little example of Iowa wildlife.

I wish I could find more of these little fellas:

I hope you don't mind, but your post inspired me to write a post about all the little creatures I have come across in the wild. I will do that at a later time, though.

I love the photos!

When you make that post, please tell me of get me the link, I don't want to miss it!

Yes please, I love that kind of stuff!

I also love hiking in the woods. I have one advantage; I'm not alergic to poison ivy. I found this out one day after helping a friend clear his lot. He called me later that day and asked if I was experiencing any rash or itching. I didn't think any more of it until the next day when my wife had broken out in an itchy rash. :-D

Supposedly, about 10% of the population is not allergic to it.... and probably too many live in the cities anyway.. wish I could trade.

That would be the best birthday present ever!

Me too, simple and true!

Your children are going to grow up just like you, you all must have so much fun out there, your very lucky :)

We are truly blessed, and enjoy it a lot!

My girls would have enjoyed it to

Great post! I like that quote too, it is indeed very difficult to find things if your not looking! :P

Some things will still cross your path, but the stuff you find when you are looking is exponentially more, and I love every minute of it.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.55 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 08 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

You live in the beautiful place full of nature life and you have close connection with all of it!
great!

We really, really enjoy it all and are blessed by every minute of it!

Thanks @smailer!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 57297.27
ETH 3101.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41