FIVE LINED SKINK - LITTLE PEPPERS FIELD GUIDE TO WISCONSIN REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS

in #animals7 years ago

It took @papa-pepper about 25 years even see his first lizard in Wisconsin, but thankfully the @little-peppers didn’t have to wait so long.


When I first found a wild lizard in Wisconsin, I was at a campground along the Wisconsin River. At first, I thought it was some sort of Garter Snake, because I only saw its head. With a black body and yellow lines, it was not that hard of a mistake to make.

However, when I looked on the other side of the log, I saw that it had legs! Thus, my first wild, Wisconsin lizard. Unfortunately, it was way too fast for me to catch, but at least I saw one. The Five Lined Skink was the first of three species of Wisconsin Rivers that we have got to check out.

They are so beautiful, and the young ones and females even have a magnificent electric blue tail. The older males become much lighter in color, and get a rusty orange colored head.

It was always nice to be able to see some of these wonderful lizards out in the wild, and we found a few great spots to go looking for them in Wisconsin. Thankfully, we have also found them in Arkansas, so we don’t need to miss them, even though we moved.

Though these may be beautiful to look at, but they can be super hard to catch!


HERE IS THE PAGE FROM OUR FIELD GUIDE


Here are a few videos of some wild Skinks!

AN UPSIDE-DOWN FIVE LINED SKINK


FIVE LINED SKINK – UP CLOSE


TWO YOUND FIVE LINED SKINKS


UPVOTE-FOLLOW-RESTEEM


IN CASE YOU MISSED THE PREVIOUS POSTS IN THIS SERIES:


Stay tuned for the Spiny Softshell Turtle next!

Sort:  

Oustanding! I used to vacation a lot in Wisconsin. We found a lot of frogs and crayfish. ☆☆☆☆☆😎

I love eating crayfish!

Me too! ☆☆☆☆☆😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41