The people may have left for now, but the peacocks stayed.

in #animals6 years ago

Yet, another post on animals!

Anyone who has followed me for more than a few posts... knows that besides blogging about tech tips on how to be a better blogger, I'm a sucker for all sorts of furry and feathered critters.

As I was driving a few weeks ago, I saw a beautiful peacock and forwarded a picture of him to my dear friend @fukako via Discord.

IMG_20180516_190419 (1).jpg

And, it just occurred to me that I had a bloggable moment, so here goes...

Peacocks live wild in certain pockets of town. Not too long ago, my husband and I were driving down a heavily traveled street and had to hit the brakes to allow one of these beautiful birds to pass. So, when I saw another one, I drove to take a closer look, and it struck me how resilient wildlife can be.

This particular neighborhood was flooded during Hurricane Harvey with 5 feet of water inside of the homes for 14 days. The flooding happened in August 2017... 9 months ago! Many of the homes are still uninhabitable... still under renovation and repair.

The people may have moved out, the yards are overgrown, yet the majestic birds thrive. Yes, the people will return and at that time, the birds will once again happily cohabitate with people again, but for now, the birds have the run of this particular neighborhood.

peacocks 2.jpg

They're everywhere

In the video, you'll see how in just this one street, I saw two peacocks. I sped up the video for all you impatient folks! 🤣

More photos

To see more photos, click here.

Final Thoughts

I hope you enjoyed my post! I really appreciate all my friends and friends to be who take their precious time to read and even comment on my posts.

Much luv,
@karencarrens

karencarrens fukako Steemit footer.gif
(drawing by @fukako)

Sort:  

How pretty! They own the city just on the other side of the Canadian border, too.

We had two males and one female on our horse ranch growing up. The boys were better watchdogs than my Grandma's Doberman Pincher!

That's so cool! They are bold. No fear. And fun to look at. I remember having to sit in my car outside of our home a few times years ago because a particularly mean one was hanging around. hehe

This post reminds me of the cats left behind in the aftermath of Katrina. I visited New Orleans in the aftermath of the hurricane there and saw hundreds of cats which had been left behind or orphaned by the flooding.

It's easier to see these beautiful birds, I believe somehow that the birds don't know that their humans have gone the way that the cats did.

Thanks for this post!

@tawasi, omg, that would break my heart to see so many kitty cats without homes. Cats, unlike peacocks, need people. I actually adopted a Katrina kitty that was cruelly abandoned by their owners in Houston. She's the sweetest cat. Used to come out of the tree to follow me when I walked my dog. I started letting her live in a closet in my front patio but she was inviting other cats to share her bed and food so I eventually let her in. That was years ago. She's an old lady now. hehe. Thank you for your comment. It brought me down memory lane.

And, you're right, the peacocks are wild. They probably are glad they don't need to worry about people and cars invading their space. 🤣

Let’s hope the peacocks will stay on Steem as well :)

They will. I wonder with your neighborhood critters would mesh with our birds. Hmm.

I love those images, great work @karencarrens

Thank you @samest! It's great to see you!

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors. We are a community of new and veteran Steemians and we are always on the look out for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as here on Steemit)



Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by karencarrens from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @karencarrens! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @karencarrens! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68156.06
ETH 3517.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81