Ahhhh... travelling by train! (Ulog #37)

in #alldutchenglish5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20181119_123358-01.jpeg

Just a quick post today, as it is a travel day followed by an afternoon and evening of rehearsals... so it will be more than likely that I will just be too pooped to write anything later in the evening after arriving at the hotel!

Anyway, just as a quick aside, it was a great little meet up of the Rotterdam/Den Haag chapters of the #alldutch group, with a nice chance for many of us to put faces to Steem and Discord handles! Hopefully it will be something that will be a more common event as it was a great workout for my fledgling Dutch language and if I can convince my wife to join Steem, then she will be more keen to come on inside!


Today, I'm waxing lyrical about travelling by train! Europe has a pretty decent train system, both high-speed and normal trains, something that is sorely lacking in Australia. Although, to be fair, there is a much greater density of population here that makes it a much more feasible investment for governments and companies. However, that said, there is a really strong case for linking some of the larger East Coast Australian capitals (and Canberra!) together with high speed rail.

Anyway, off topic. Travelling by train is one of the more relaxing ways to travel. Cheap, less security hassles, and the ability to just book a seat and sit in quiet comfort! The second class seats are great, but if you can make the stretch (and for the longer travels, it might be worth the little bit extra), the first class seats are an absolute luxury for not that much more (sometimes, only 10 or 20 euros!).

Today, my travels began with the Sprinter train (first train picture) to Rotterdam (where the meet up was last night, I should have just slept at the station...), where I joined up with the high speed Thalys train to the south.

IMG_20181119_115924-01.jpeg

Normally the Thalys is a phenomenal way to travel to Belgium and Paris from Amsterdam/Rotterdam. It is fast, quiet, there is power points at the seats and wifi, reserved seats and everything that would need for a 2-3 hour journey! Today, well, it was also good, but I was only just going over the border to Antwerp, and so I was only on the train for about 30 minutes or so... but still enjoyable!

Anyway, Antwerp station is the place that was pictured at the top of this post. A lovely station with many levels, it is a common change point for most of my travels to Belgium.

... and here I write about one the less fun sides of travelling by train. You might wonder why there isn't a photo of the last train... it's because I was running from the bottom of the station to the top! I had seven minutes to get to the platform.... that said, I had a buffer of two trains that I could miss, but it is nice to try and arrive at a destination before and not be aiming to be right on the dot!

So, if you are in Europe! I highly recommend the travel by trains if you have the desire! It is cheaper, and just as quick (if you factor in the problems of security and check-in at airports... and the travel to airports!). All in all, it is just a more relaxing travel, unless you need to run for different platforms! However, unless you booked the last train for the day, there will always be another one!



Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones





The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

SB_new.png



steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.gamerjokerbreadder.com/2018/11/19/ahhhh-travelling-by-train-ulog-37/

Sort:  

Train was my first solo trip when I was 15, I still hold it in happy memory and miss those good old days sometimes. It is nice to see that there are those like you who still enjoy that kind of trips 💚

Wow, you traveled long distance when you were 15? I don't know, it wouldn't be common to do that in Australia... on the other hand, the distances are a little longer...

Yeah I prefer trains I took a train to Switzerland I wish I booked first class because of my 1.91 doesn't fit in a 1.80 bed 😂😁 it fits but first class you have a special sleep room for yourself. I want that the next time although it was nice talking to a woman who lived in England and came from marroco by train.

I've never taken a sleeping car before! I'm always too scared when I'm travelling with my violins that it would be missing when I woke up... maybe one time, when I don't have to take my instruments with me!

Antwerp Station is very lovely - but I can imagine it's not good for a sprint!
Australian long-distance trains are great, even though they aren't fast. Travelled extensively on the network back in the late 80's. First class across the Nullarbor. Those were the days!

Oh wow, my parents in law did that recently, and they loved it! It really is a a civilised way to travel!

Yes, Antwerp is not great for a sprint... The photo doesn't even capture all the levels!

Congratulations @bengy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 55000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 60000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 318 (11/21/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65955.88
ETH 3055.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69