(New Post) What I'm taking to survive a 6 month hiking trip

in #littlebitsandbigdeals8 years ago (edited)


Gearing up for the Appalachian Trail

When considering a hike that's going to take months on-end, one would assume it common sense to want to properly prepare. Ironically, I've read many horror stories of those who did not. Those stories however, did hold some interesting insight as to what the trail can dish out, though. That being said, I want to share what I have learned throughout months of my own research on what pieces of gear appear to be necessity, which are considered comfort, and others that are down right not needed. On top of my gear choices and why, I will also share other tid-bits of information I came across that I feel would be valuable to a first time thru-hiker like myself. For example...
TEST YOUR GEAR, KNOW HOW TO USE IT !!
NOTE: I am planning on future blogs in regards to my gear choices once on the trail and having put them to the truest test. Any further tips or advice out there is gladly welcomed in the comment section.

My Gear List

  • Backpack
  • Tent
  • Sleeping Bag & Pad
  • Water & Food
  • Cash & Identification
  • Footwear
  • First Aid & Bug Repentant
  • Trekking Poles
  • Clothes (hiking, camp, and rain gear)
  • Kitchen Cookware & Utensil's
  • Toiletries
  • Electronics & Luxury Items

Backpack

Your backpack is something you must put time and thought into. You wouldn't think picking one out would be a monumental task but there are sooo many bells and whistles out there it can be hard to know where to start. The most important thing to keep in mind is that this piece of gear is not only going to be housing your livelihood for the next oh, half a year...but it will also be attached to you 8+ hours of everyday so take the time to figure out whats "perfect" for you.

The main things to consider:

  1. Does it fit you properly (many serious backpackers will have their packs fitted to them)
  2. Its weight (don't add any extra stress to your body than it's already physically facing)
  3. Waterproofing (if it is only water resistant you'll need a rain cover)
  4. How much can it hold (you want it to fit all you'll need, but nothing you won't)

I chose the Hyperlite Mountain Gear Windrider 2400 and here is why:

  1. It comes in different sizes based on your torso length. Following their simple online instructions I was able to figure out which size was ideal for my build. I have a short torso, so I went with the small. Needless to say, it fits like a glove however, once I start practicing hiking around with it I may find I'll need additional tailoring (I'm missing my left clavicle bone after a serious car accident).
  2. It has a comfy padded hip belt with handy little utility pockets. Ideally, you want the majority of the packs weight to be rested on your hips so you will want a pack with a hip belt.
    SIDE NOTE: Yeah, I know its white, but the price on a black one was ridiculous, and besides in the sun who wants black? I say let it get dirty, it will add character.
  3. This bag is waterproof so I won't be needing a rain cover. Note: waterproof packs tend to be heavier than water-resistant packs, but I decided I'd rather not have to mess with the extra piece of gear when the rains hits. This pack also has one large front mesh pocket, and two smaller side mesh pockets. Each will be useful when wet articles, like socks, need to be dried or aired out while on the move.
  4. This pack is very simple and has only one inner pocket that follows down the metal back supports. I decided I don't want the weight of any extra zippers and material just for organization. I may have to dig for things more, and be strategic when I pack ...but hey, I'm not lazy. This pack also happens to fit exactly what I will be needing and seriously nothing more...so hopefully I won't regret these decisions. (lol)

Tent vs. Hammock

Originally, I was thinking hammock, I even had the Hennesy Ultralite Deep Jungle A-sym hammock picked out, but after further thought, I reconsidered and am now going with a tent. My initial thought was not sleeping on the hard ground or needing to tote a sleeping pad seemed simpler. However, I then realized changing in a hammock might be hell, and what if I'm ready to turn in and there are no trees? Plus, where would I keep my pack at night? (I've read of peoples packs being stolen) Also, I'm going to be doing a lot of drawing and I think it will be easier to be in a tent all day should I take a zero day (meaning no miles covered) due to bad weather or whatever, than try to draw hanging in a hammock.

The main things to consider:

  1. Tent or Hammock
  2. How much room do you need
  3. Rain Fly
  4. Weight
  5. Ground Tarp

I've chosen Big Agnes Fly Creek UL 1, 1 Person, 3 Season Tent

  1. It is one of the lightest free standing tents ever made. Using ultra-light material and poles. This is a one person tent.
  2. It is 22 sq ft and 5.5 sq ft vestibule all for under 2 lbs! Mesh body offers excellent ventilation, Single hub/pole design makes set up easy. It has a single door with mesh pocket included.
    SIDE NOTE: It has reflective corners for nighttime visibility.
    All seams are factory taped and waterproofed. It comes with 11 Superlight aluminum J stakes.
  3. The rain fly weighs in at only 1 lb 4 oz / 567 g.
  4. The whole set up rounds out at about 3lbs.
  5. As for the ground tarp, I have one but, I'm not sure yet I'll even be needing it with this tent.
    SIDE NOTE: I will be strapping this to the outside of my pack using extra straps I purchased for the under part of my pack.

Sleeping Bag & Sleep Related Items

When deciding upon a sleeping bag, one of the first things I learned was that there are bags once paired with the right stuff sac that can compress down to become smaller than a paper towel roll. AND these bags will keep you warm in below-freezing temperatures. This blew my mind after having grown up with the traditional zipper all the way around thick, heavy bags that are a nightmare to try to fit back into their original sack. lol Also, a lot of thru-hikers on the AT will send home their warmer bags for lighter ones or vice versa once the season changes.

The main things to consider:

  1. Synthetic or down
  2. What seasons is it designed for
  3. Sleeping bag liners
  4. Its weight and packing capabilities
  5. Sleeping pad

I chose the Sierra Mobile Mummy 600 2-season bag and here's why:

1)These bags come in your choice of either synthetic or down. I went with down. The pros and cons between the two include: With synthetic you can wash them and compress them easier without damaging them. However, they do tend to be a lot heavier and bulkier. With Down, its not recommended to use compression sacks, and washing them can be tricky, which is where the sleeping bag liners come in. BUT they are lighter, said to hold heat better and if you dare can smash down to be way smaller then synthetic. Also keep in mind with down that if it gets wet you're not going to stay warm in it.

  1. I chose the 2-season which means it will keep me alive down to temperatures as low as 22 degrees Fahrenheit. That doesn't mean I wouldn't be cold, but based on the times of year I plan on being on the trail I feel this bag should work fine.
  2. This bag does not come with a liner, which I do believe is useful in maintaining a level of cleanliness with a down bag. Liners will keep you and your dirty sweaty self separated from your bag which in the long run, could rack up some stank. Liners can be washed easily and dry quickly as they are generally super thin. Now, I wanted a liner for my bag so I had to be creative because of the arm and leg features I'd like to take advantage of. So, I've decided to try to give one of my other items a dual-purpose. I haven't covered clothes yet, but when I do I will explain that you will want a "designated sleep outfit." I have chosen to make my sleeping outfit an adult onesy. Enjoy those pictures below, (lol) which will double as my liner...I'll let you know how this goes...
  3. These bags are designed for saving space and for being lightweight, so much so, that you can choose between men's and women's. When every .oz counts, choosing a woman's bag that is traditionally not as long or wide, you can potentially shave off a bit more weight. My bag is a woman's and is made to fit a 5'8" woman which happens to be exactly how tall I am. Other cool features with this bag is how it was designed. This bag has arm holes and the ability to let your legs free to walk around while still mostly in it. Now, to someone like myself who is always cold and who may also be anemic, this means I can function around camp without loosing my body heat within the bag...say for a mid-night bathroom run. I think this is brilliant.
    SIDE NOTE: If you've chosen a down bag, one easy way to assure it stays as dry as possible is simply keep it wrapped inside a garbage bag; it is cheap and effective.
  4. For a sleeping pad I chose the Klymit Static V Lightweight pad...apparently you can blow it up in just 12 breaths. ...Sounds legit. Also, this pad came with a little repair kit and bag.
    SIDE NOTE: If you're hiking during the busy season, I've read it can get loud when you have to camp around others, taking some ear plugs has been suggested by more then a few to ensure you don't miss out on precious sleep.



Water & Food

The majority of water one drinks on the Appalachian Trail is from found natural sources which of course means it should always be filtered or boiled before consumption. In this day and age, it is amazing all that is available to purify water for drinking, it is just a matter of picking one.
As for food, I have read that on average you should keep about 5 days worth of food with you on this trail. Often times before that fifth day you will have access to little towns for resupplying along the way. The foods you choose should be high in carbs and calories based on your dietary needs to stay healthful.

The main things to consider:

  1. Water Purification
  2. Calorie intake
  3. Weight
  4. Re-supplying

My plan

  1. For water purification have have chosen to take the Sawyer mini filter. It comes with a bladder, straw, and flushing system for the filter. I have read that paired with a Smartwater bottle (instead of the bladder) makes for a easier set up, and that the flushing syringe is unnecessary. I will be testing this combo before committing to leaving the packaged set-up.
  2. I'm going to give myself a calorie intake of about 4,000/day. In everyday life, the average woman should take in around 1940 calories where as men need around 2550 calories. On the trail you will need to at the least double these numbers to properly replenish what you will be burning.
  3. Foods that are canned or packaged heavily will not be ideal. Any trash you pack in, you will also need to pack out. There are no trash cans along the trail and you're not a lazy ass that litters, so plan ahead. Most hikers stick to dried pastas like mac 'n cheese, or oatmeal, coffee, etc. Keep in mind how the foods you choose will keep in your pack in extreme heat. Don't bring things that will spoil easily; food poisoning in the middle of nowhere would be no fun. One thing I found clever that someone did which I also plan on doing is fill an empty Tic-Tac container with a salt and pepper blend to add to bland foods. I will post more about my exact food choices in a future post, but your taste will play a big role in the majority of what you decide to bring.
  4. I have heard mixed things about the little towns along the trail being both cheap, and then by others ridiculously expensive. So, this is something I will not be able to confirm, nor deny until I have experienced them myself. But, shopping in these towns will not be your only means of resupplying. Many hikers before they set out put together care packages for themselves to be delivered as "general delivery" at different post offices in towns along their trip. Obviously, you will need someone at home to mail these out for you when the time comes. Once a package has arrived at its appointed post office, it waits for you to come claim it. The way a label for this would look is as follows:
    -Your name
    -General Delivery
    -City, and State
    -Post Office Zip Code followed by 9999(which means general delivery)

Cash & Identification

Keeping cash with you on the trail will make life a little easier. If you need a zero day in town, say, to wash clothes, maybe you'll want to stay somewhere with an actual bed for a night, or even get yourself a much-craved burger, fries, and beer somewhere. It is said doing so can keep the sanity for some hikers. The average hiker will spend about $1,000 per month during these little town visits (give or take) on an individuals expectations, needs, or wants. Keeping cash on-hand, I feel is also very important in the instance a piece of gear goes faulty, or missing. It will provide you the means to replace it without having to cut your trip short.

Footwear

Your feet are your vehicle. If you don't maintain them, they won't take you very far. One of the main reasons I've read people quit on the trail is due to feet issues. Taking proper care of your feet is emphasized more than anything else in the majority of all I've read. When you stop for a break, air them out. When you're done hiking for the day, wash them, if possible. Keep clippers with you for grooming and elevate them on your pack if possible when you sleep at night.
Another thing I've read over and over, is that many hikers who start out with "hiking boots" end up ditching them for lighter, more airy sneaker-type shoes. The most popular brand name in these circles seems to be Salomon's.

The main things to consider:

  1. Comfort
  2. Do they allow your foot to breath
  3. Having hiking shoes & also camp shoes

I chose Salomon's for hiking and a pair of lightweight rubber Sketchers called H2go's

  1. Although I haven't hiked much in my Salomon's, I find them to be very comfy and lightweight (with my second choice being Reebok Pumps) My Sketchers are smaller and easier to pack than the Crocs you'll see a lot of other hikers using as camp shoes; I already owned them from a trip I took to Hawaii, so I saved on purchasing something new.
  2. One reason having a pair of lightweight, flip-flops or holy rubber camping shoes is to give your feet a chance to breath once done hiking.
  3. Having extra footwear will also be handy when your hiking shoes are wet and need to dry out, if say you've been hiking in the rain. It will also give your foot a different feel from what it's been treading in all day (which I'm sure will be heaven sent).

First Aid & BUGS !

There are so many things that could go wrong, and ways one could get hurt on the trail, that one could easily turn into a hypochondriac trying to prepare. When putting together a First-Aid kit, the best advice I can give is to cover the basics at least, and then add in the things of absolute necessities like medication, or an Epipen if you're allergic to bees, etc.

The main things to consider:

  1. The most common dangers on the trail: rolling an ankle, diarrhea, itchy-rash inducing plants, snakes, bee stings, bug bites...bear bites.
  2. Your must haves (Epipen, medications, etc.)
  3. Ways to repel and prevent

I chose Adventure Medical's, Kit.5 added in a few things and Permethrin Spray

  1. I kept my kit simple, I included some extra pain medicine with anti-inflammatories, extra mole skin, and liquid band aid, and a few other things like some Vitamin E capsules in case I get sunburned or dry skin.
    SIDE NOTE: A lot of hikers swear that you'll regret not having some kind of Gold Bond powder with you. I am taking baby powder instead because I can use it in my hair without that medicated smell when it gets gross.
  2. I happen to be allergic to bees and bears so I also added in an Epipen and some bear mace.
  3. A tick once said Location, Location, Location lol...no but really, ticks are no joke and can make you seriously ill, along with mosquitos, spiders, and other creepy crawlies. So, let me tell you about this great invention called PERMETHRIN. It is an odorless spray that repels and kills ticks, chiggers, mosquitoes, and more. This spray is NOT for your skin, but for your clothing and gear. The coolest thing about this stuff is that once an article is treated it can be washed up to 6 times before you'll need to reapply. If this stuff had a nuclear glow about it, I'm more than confident you'd see me coming from miles away -I've put this stuff on EVERYTHING material-based I'm taking.

Trekking Poles

These are an item I feel go hand-in-hand with preventative first aid. I grew up in the Cascade Mountains and have always been an avid hiker. One thing I can tell you for sure, through experience on shorter hikes is no matter how young or fit you are when hiking DOWN hill your knees will take a beating. Trekking poles help to distribute your weight and take stress off of your lower joints. They are also extremely helpful for balance when packing a lot of gear over say rocky terrain, etc. and can also serve as a helpful tool to pitch a rain fly or temporary shelter. I highly recommend any thru-hiker of the AT to invest in a set. One of the most popular brands out there is Leki, but there are many to choose from in all different price ranges.

The main things to consider:

  1. Carbon-fiber or Aluminum
  2. Do your poles fit your height
  3. Shocks...yes shocks
  4. The Grips: cork, rubber, or foam
  5. Storage

I chose a brand called Kabuda...which were kind of cheap, I may regret them.

  1. These poles are Aluminum which means they won't snap like carbon-fiber can, but they could potentially bend. They are also heavier. Overall in my understanding, aluminum is the more durable choice.
  2. You can easily adjust the height of these poles
  3. They have spring shocks
  4. The grips on these are a hard rubber with a lower foam grip. They also have nylon wrist straps should I lose my handle on one, it wont go tumbling down a cliff. Cork grips are popular because over time, they can form to your hand. Foam handles are said to be ideal for absorbing sweat....I'll let you know if these do the job, or if I decide to invest in a set that cost more than $25 lol
  5. They can compact from three sections into one and be stowed on the side of my pack for easy storage.

Clothes

This is a tricky topic because depending on how much an individual cares about stinking along side the rest of the dirty hikers, you can bring a lot or a little clothing. It appears the most common trend is to have your "hiking clothes" and your "camping clothes."

The main things to consider:

  1. Socks
  2. What you want to hike in
  3. What you want to sleep/camping clothes
  4. Coat & Gloves
  5. Underwear
  6. Rain Gear

What I've chosen to bring

  1. When it comes to your feet I must reiterate: DO NOT CUT CORNERS. Having at least 3 pairs of socks with 3 thin booty socks to wear inside your normal ones will help reduce your chances of getting blisters and allow you to wash and air dry a pair that may need cleaning. I've decided to bring 4 pairs of socks in different brands. 2 pairs of Darn Tough, 1 pair of Wicwam, 1 pair of Redhead, and 3 thin booty liners. I'll review how each of these work out for me.
    SIDE NOTE: I have heard that many people suffer from chaffing on the trail ....my legs don't really rub together when I walk but I have read many people deal with it on the trail so I figured I'd add in this friendly tip I came across. Apparently, the most soothing relief is... (brace yourself) Vagisil..yes apparently the cream can do wonders between your chaffing thighs.
  2. To hike in, I have decided to wear loose nylon running shorts and a loose non-cotton tank. I have read of such a thing as a hiking dress for ladies...I might possibly swap out the shorts and tank for one of these, but will also have a thin long sleeve Under Armour shirt and yoga pants.
  3. I mentioned earlier that I decided on a footless onesy to double as my sleeping bag liner/sleeping outfit/camping outfit...sound cozy enough right? ...yeah we'll see, this might earn me my trail name lol
  4. I also want to bring a thin, down puff coat which I will double as a pillow. I tend to get cold anything below 70 degrees, so I know I'll use it to death, but I haven't yet picked one out. I don't think it will be too hard to pick out. As for gloves, I'm gonna bag the idea of them. I figure if my hands get that cold I can use a spare pair of my socks.
  5. Underwear...some people bring them some people don't. I personally am to going to bring 2 pair, to help me stay clean during my special lady week.
  6. For rain gear I'm going with the most popular choice on the trail which is Frogg Toggs, a top and bottom set will run you only about $20 and they're super light.

My Kitchen

Here again you'll find tons of options on different stoves, cookware, and utensils you can buy. Keeping weight low but your equipment efficient, like a stove that has a wind block may save you some sanity when you're wet, cold, and starving after hiking all day in the rain.

The main things to consider:

  1. Weight
  2. How you'll be cooking your food
  3. Utensils & Fire
  4. Cleaning your cooker
  5. Bear bagging

My choices included:

  1. An Alocs Stove that can block wind and Outereq cookware (it was an 8pc set but I'm only bringing 4 of the pieces. 1 of the two pots and a lid, a light bamboo stirring spoon, and a tiny scrubber for cleaning.
  2. A collapsible coffee cup by Sea to Summit, a titanium spork by Light my Fire, and a thin folding knife by SOG, and 2 lighters.
  3. Boiling hot water and my scrubber
  4. At night it is important to hang your food and yummy food smelling thing high in the air where bears won't be as tempted. For this you will need a bear bag. The bag I have chosen to use is a black 10 liter, waterproof *smell proof Safebet Dry bag...don't forget some cord to hang it.


Toiletries

So let me begin with one thing you won't be needing: deodorant. Yeah, apparently everyone stinks and its a waste of space and weight. Now, let me tell you somethings you most definitely will be needing... Toilet paper... "dry toilet paper" ,fingernail clippers, toothbrush and tweezers. Now that we got that out of the way, lets get into the washing of the body. Some hikers say you won't need soap and just a small thing of hand sanitizer will do, yeah...can't see myself embracing that. lol Some hikers like that camping soap in the little green bottle, its super concentrated and environmentally friendly. While other hikers say baby wipes are the way to go. Then, if you're a female you have your monthly cycle to plan for.

The main things to consider:

  1. Potty time, TP and shovels (Your required to bury, but that EXCLUDES FEMININE PRODUCTS)
  2. How clean do you want to stay (Be mindful that a lot of fragrances attract bears)
  3. If you're a lady, how are you going to manage your cycle.

These are the ways I've decided to go about my toiletries

  1. No shovel. God made sticks. They work fine and I don't want the extra weight. TP: I rolled a few bundles minus the cardboard center and am keeping it all in a small Coghlan waterproof bag to make sure it stays dry.
    SIDE NOTE: Zip-Lock baggies are extremely useful and helpful for organizing items and storing trash. Keep a few extra with you.
  2. I'd decided to go with all 3 choices for keeping clean. I picked out a brand of body wipes by Hyper Go, they're made for men after workouts. They're larger than I need, so I'm going to cut them in half and repackage them. I also found the tiniest thing of hand sanitizer that hangs off the front of my bag for after potty breaks and before eating. And I'm also including a small container of Artnaturals 100% natural Tea tree anti-fungal body and foot wash. I also purchased a full-sized tooth brush and a travel tube of tooth paste. I cut the tooth brush in half after deciding the bristles on travel brushes are just too soft and probably won't hold up.
    SIDE NOTE: If you have a lot of hair like me, don't forget a comb or compact brush of some sort and a few rubber bands.
  3. For my cycle (sorry guys) I'm bring options...I don't want to ruin my sleeping bag or only hiking outfit by skimping on these items. FYI ladies you CANNOT leave or bury these things, wild animals will dig them up and that's the last thing any of us want to come across on the trail or around a shelter. So, bring a extra little Zip-Lock baggie ...I know that's crude but, it is what it is.




Electronics & Luxury Items

I don't plan on getting into this topic too much because these items all really boil down to personal choice and are all considered luxury items. Now, because I'm going to be blogging daily or at least trying to and also doing art daily my luxury Items will be catering to those activities. I will be using Goal Zero products for power. I will also keep a phone with me and GoPro for video/photo recording. I will have my Fitbit to help me record and keep track of the ground I cover, and a few other useful items that will help me stay connected and blogging. I will be using a Petzl headlamp with white and red light options.

PLEASE, STAY TUNED FOR MY GEAR REVIEWS

I HAVE INCLUDED A LINK BELOW THROUGH WHICH YOU CAN SHARE YOUR SUPPORT OF MY UPCOMING ADVENTURE. ANY AND ALL IS GREATLY APPRECIATED! XO

https://gofundme.com/2eh3xyc

MY WEBSITE

www.LittleBitsAndBigDeals.com

Sort:  

Upvote! Back to the top with you. Let hackers realize it doesn't pay to hack steemit! :)

Aww, thank you for your support... I put a lot of time into this blog.

welcome back, in the community steemit @katecloud

Happy Steeming!!!

Yay! Damn hackers.

Glad you re-posted. I essentially live at the foot of Afton Mountain in a town that claims itself to be an AT community. It is very common to see and smell the AT trekkers in local diners and laundromats. I have had many conversations with hikers about their travels and I absolutely love hearing about their experiences. @xeldal and I have done parts of the AT but we have only done a max of 3 days. Nothing compared to your plan. I wish you happy and safe travels. I am so looking forward to your future posts!

I'm SO excited about my trip, I will definitely be posting regularly reguarding of all the fun...or possibly not fun lol

Wow. This is actually really helpful, because I feel like I would forget at least one or two important items if I did this. Good luck on your trip! :D

I have the same water filtration system. Got one as a wedding shower gift.

Thanks for the great write up! Hey, how do you enjoy this STATIC V mattress? I have been using Thermarest for so many years and still do with great comfort and sleeps and I wondering about this new style of mattress? Safe travels and namaste :)

Where you off to next? Comprehensive trip kit, loved it @katecloud maybe mt Kilimanjaro in Africa ? This is going to be the next BIG post - goodluck

I'm thinking after the Appalachian Trail I'm going to hit the Pacific Crest Trail. It travels from Mexico to Canada

thats awesome @katecloud - I cant wait to keep following your adventures- keep them coming - will check out your blog site- thanks for the reply -enjoy your trip - regards Gio

glad to see you got your account all settled! these Steemit guys are top notch!

There's definitely stuff here that I wouldn't have thought I'd need. I'm probably more the type of person who'd just bowl on out there and then realise that I'm massively underprovisioned.
I've always wanted to hike in the Lake District UK, that's where my family came from centuries ago and it's stunning.
Thanks for this post! Keep it up!

You should totally hike it! Think of the experiences that will leave you with! And the images and stories. I say start planning...give yourself a deadline and take little steps towards organizing the trip!

OMG that's a call to action! Haha... I love it. Issue is that I live in Australia now, so perhaps we'll have to start with a decent hike in the Victoria mountains in spring... I've heard they are also amazing. Have you been to Australia? Parts of it are so beautiful.

Let's try this again...

What an incredible post! I hope your trek is everything you want it to be. You mentioned the practice of having care packages delivered to post offices at various points along the trail. Have you made any arrangements for that? (I apologize if you mentioned it and I missed it. I skimmed parts.)

Hi Kate, can you confirm which steps were taken to recover your account?

Yes, I had to reset my password in account recovery. My original password was all words "oops" Talk about lesson learned...

i can confirm she got her account back! Just had another video verification call with her! Now let's get her rewards back to be able to the planned trip!! :P Happy steeming -

see also here

I'm not really 100% on how the back side of things worked out, but I was contacted and walked through what I should do, Including the photo of my self on this re-posting of the one that was hack. My advice is to just make sure your passwords are mainly gibberish, long, with caps, lowers and Symbols

Will you be editing the previous posts? It's confusing for us who want to vote up the right thing. It would be great if you could just edit the content of the other posts to this link: https://steemit.com/littlebitsandbigdeals/@katecloud/4g1n5s-what-i-m-taking-to-survive-a-6-month-hiking-trip
And the title to something like "Content Moved"
Either way, loved your post. :)

yep pls do

Glad I did exactly what you mention when I subscribed! I learned the hard way in the past. It's great that you got back your account!

Ok great!

Need a Job and I ask please that you see my post https://steemit.com/crowdfunding/@webocel/58kd3g-my-dream-needs-your-vote-crowdfunding with your vote I can put my business and thus have a job and be able to feed my children. With just a few clicks you can change my life.
(voting this comment you are also helping)
sorry for the spam but I'm desperate for funds to be self employed
Thanks in advance. Nicolas

I am so glad you are back, keep steem on!

I wish I didn't have to spam on an unrelated topic for your attention. But if you have time, I have some concerns as to the overall outlook of the site once mainstream media establishes a presence here. As the co-founder of the site, I am very interested in your opinion towards the role they will play. https://steemit.com/money/@mrzazaful/mainstream-media-influence-in-steemit

Whew. I learned a lot through this whole process. Special thanks to @ned and @cass for truly caring about this community in a way I can't fully express. The moral to this story is to create a very complex and long non dictionary based password. I strongly disagree with anyone who trash talks those who care so deeply about the integrity and users. Humbled and proud to be in your company.

STEEM On!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85